We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Crescent City hotels

Crescent Beach Motel

Save Saved
You added Crescent Beach Motel to your Saves list
1455 Redwood Hwy. S. (U.S. 101), Crescent City, CA
Hotel amenities
Crescent Beach Motel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    101
    28
    18
    17
See reviews for
71
106
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (244)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (117)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (63)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Fairview, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I selected the Crescent Beach Motel based on TripAdvisor reviews. I was enamored by the idea of staying right on the beach on our trip to the redwoods. When my husband called to book a room, the lady he spoke with recommended Room #8 as one with a good view. The motel was reminiscent of the motels of my childhood... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kade D, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this review

Hi Old-Fashioned! We're so glad that you were charmed by our little place on the beach. We do try to provide a safe and clean place for all of our guests to enjoy. Thank you again for your patronage and we hope that you and yours are safe and well! More

Bountiful, Utah
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

showed up in the afternoon with no reservations and the man at the front desk asked what kind of room we wanted. My son traveling with me had never experience the ocean or the beach so He gave a double queen room only 50 feet from the beach. My son spent the next 4 hours walking, taking pictures and enjoying... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kade D, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this review

Glad to hear that you enjoyed the room I gave you! We love to hear about when somebody shows up off the street and thoroughly enjoys their visit with us! Thanks for choosing us! More

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'd kind of forgotten about this place, as I had stayed here years ago, but couldn't remember the name of it to book it for this trip. However, in perusing the travel brochures we picked up along the way, I called and cancelled the fancier place we were to stay and booked this instead! You won't find a closer place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kade D, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review! I never really consider the stark contrast that the ocean view provides as opposed to living in a landlocked area, but it must be a neat experience. We really are in a safe area; being a mile or two south of town offers us a bit of seclusion. I have fallen asleep on the couch with... More

Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a great find. Spent 2 nights here and can't wait to get back. The rooms were really clean as was the bathroom. Get a ocean view room it is well worth the few bucks extra. Room 7 was perfect with a perfect view. The front office crew were warm,friendly and helpful. You can spend more down the road but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kade D, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this review

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We do feel that our housekeeping staff is top notch and our office crew is pretty awesome too! Thanks for the kind words and we hope to see you again! More

Eugene
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I wish I'd stayed at another place. The reason I like to stay on the beach is so I can hear the waves in my room. Between the hwy101 noise and the fan on the heater the waves were drowned out. The boardwalk outside the sliding door made me feel like I was sharing space with the whole motel. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kade D, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We are sorry you didn't find us to your liking, but do appreciate you reminding people of the communal feel on the back deck. It is a wide open area in the back and it is impossible not to have interaction with other guests (especially during the busier months). Many people do feed the gulls and... More

Klamath Falls, Oregon
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

I've read several of the other reviews on here and I'm surprised at some of them. I purposely booked Room 15, because of the partition (my MIL snores, loudly!), so that didn't bother me at all. The TV was on a moveable stand and the screen swivelled, so I was quite comfortable watching from either the bed or the chairs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kade D, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and also that your mother was able to make use of the shower chair. We are also happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the beach so much during your stay and that you found everything to be satisfactory for your needs. Thanks again! More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Undoubtedly the best thing about this motel is its location, with the beach literally ten steps out of the back door. The rooms are a little dated but ours was perfectly clean with a very comfortable bed, and while it was a little warm when we arrived we fixed that by opening the door for a while and sleeping only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kade D, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review! September is a bit of a "warmer" month here in Crescent City with temperatures often reaching 70 degrees or more. The big sliding glass doors and bay windows can make the rooms a little stuffy upon check-in. Now that it is October it is a bit cooler (around 55 is the high today) and people are... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

Our hotel was right on the beach as advertised. We were able to walk along the beach by just leaving the back door of the hotel. Very well kept, clean, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. This is a great place to stay and relax along the coast. The beach had a few folks on it and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kade D, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words! We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and hope your travels find you safe! More

castroville
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

No air-conditioning. The pictures on the internet do not do this little place justice. We were very disappointed. The rooms are set up very strangely. There are two sleeping alcoves and the tv is in between them with no where to sit. A rather lumpy bed and less than cooperative host. Would not recommend this place if you are looking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kade D, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. Only three of our rooms are set up the way you describe (Rooms 15, 16 and 17). The photos on our website do show that these rooms have a partition in the middles, so I don't believe that the pictures are inaccurate in any sense. I don't think any of the photos we've ever posted online... More

Carson City, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

we decided to get a room at the Crescent Beach Motel to have a relaxing time. The hotel clerk greeted us and was very helpful..The price was a little much for the ocean view room. We were not to impressed with the room. The bathroom was small, and not updated. None of the rooms i found out have microwaves or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kade D, Manager at Crescent Beach Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review! We are an older motel and our rooms are not especially spacious. I do not know what room you were in specifically, but the rooms on the southern end of the motel do tend to run a little larger. Our rates did go down on September 1st and we do think that most of our guests... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Crescent Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent Beach Motel

Address: 1455 Redwood Hwy. S. (U.S. 101), Crescent City, CA
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Crescent Beach Hotel Crescent City
Crescent City Beach Hotel

136 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (133)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay