We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crescent City Bay View Inn

Certificate of Excellence
310 Hwy 101 S., Crescent City, CA 95531
Crescent City Bay View Inn
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    37
    27
    14
    7
    9
See reviews for
32
34
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (94)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Rosamond, CA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed three nights in the Bayview Inn, which is a reasonably priced & relatively modern 3-story motel located on Highway 101 just at the south end of Crescent City. Check in was smooth & efficient, all the staff we had contact with during our stay were friendly and helpful. Rooms are good sized, clean & well equipped with fridge,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at Crescent City Bay View Inn, responded to this review

Greetings, Socal Flyer! Thanks for the add to your ever-growing cadre of TripAdvisor hotel reviews! Your comments are well-noted and taken to heart. As part of our standard cleaning procedure, and as in addition to our regular cleaning and maintenance program, whenever a guest stays in a room for longer than 2 days, we strip every item and steam-clean the... More 

Hillsboro, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First off, there are 4 cars in the lot that have been there so long that leaves and dirt have collected under the airless, flat tires. The rooms make you feel like you are renting a person's home. There is no chain lock on the door and while it has a basic lock, the door is loose and could be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at Crescent City Bay View Inn, responded to this review

Greetings, Lee. Thanks for letting us know your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us in Crescent City. Sorry that your experience didn't match that of so many other satisfied guests. We no longer have chains on the doors due to a new electronic deadbolt mechanism that has been proven to be many times more secure when engaged correctly. Guest... More 

Newberg, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Husband and son on a guy's "camping" road trip in our little truck. They got caught in pouring rain. Sleeping bags and clothes all wet. So Mom, back at home, finds Bay View on the Internet. Joanie was so nice and trusting. She held a room, without a credit card, until I called back with a plan. When the guys... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at Crescent City Bay View Inn, responded to this review

Howdy, KarefulShopper! What a great story and we appreciate you sharing it with the rest of the TripAdvisor community of travelers. Sometimes the "guys" can use a little Glamping now and then too; especially when Mother Nature pops up for a show! Blessings to you and your family on all your trips into the wild - even if the wild... More 

Level Contributor
63 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family and I all stayed here on the 3rd and the 4th in the dreaded room "252" and nobody got any bed bug bites or any other for that matter . I actually didn't even see that review until I came on to post mine lol only issues I had was the wifi seemed to be hit and miss... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at Crescent City Bay View Inn, responded to this review

Howdy 1Gemini_Chef. LOL, I loved your review about room 252, and glad you found, as we do, that the room is as spotless as can be had and comfortable to boot! Sorry about the WiFi issues, but we'll go to any measures at our disposal to rectify any issue. Our staff loves what they do and work together to provide... More 

gridley
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

we had a great time the staff was nice and rooms was clean we only got to stay one night but id stay again if i went back restraunt was good to wish i could of seen more while i was there loved the view it was great lots of room in the rooms very nice slept very good nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at Crescent City Bay View Inn, responded to this review

Good morning, 17sheilah. Glad to see our North Coast has claimed another family for good times! Thank you for taking a moment to share your stay with us on TripAdvisor. We certainly hope you do get that chance to stay with us again soon, and often! Blessings to you and your family wherever you may go! More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015 via mobile

I visit Crescent City and I ALWAYS stay at the Bay View Inn. The staff is so warm and welcoming and the rooms are immaculate and the view of the ocean is absolutely gorgeous! I'd without a doubt recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at Crescent City Bay View Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Julieanne S.! Thanks for letting your first TripAdvisor review! Even more than that, we appreciate being your go-to place for rest and relaxation when you travel our way. We hope all your travels are safe and eventful only in the way goodness follows you. Happy Trails, till we see you again! :-) More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay here as I always do. The employees are very nice and helpful. The rooms are spacious and very clean. Ocean World is close by and next door is the Apple Peddler. The location of this motel couldn't be better. Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at Crescent City Bay View Inn, responded to this review

Greetings, Bms0201! We see that we get to be your first TripAdvisor review! It makes us very happy to offer a guest experience that prompts individuals to take the time to write about us. Super glad to know you got to visit one of the North Coast's entertainment and educational jewels, Ocean World! We eat at the Apple Peddler too,... More 

Enumclaw, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015

Having trouble sleeping due to what I thought was a reaction to the hot tub, I got up at 1AM and applied cortisone cream. I took Advil to get to sleep and the Bedbugs ravaged me. I was bit on both feet, right hand and arm, and the left back by shoulder = total of 13 bites. I did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at Crescent City Bay View Inn, responded to this review

Greetings, Houdinismom. This is a serious allegation for anyone in the hospitality industry. It is unfortunate that we didn't hear of your complaint until 3 days after your visit. We have never had any issues with bedbugs or any kind of insect; however, because we take each comment very seriously, we did a thorough investigation of room 252, using an... More 

Eagle Point, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

the staff was very helpful and the room was clean and neat. We went for the kite fly held in Cresent City the first full week end of each month. They have been so good to us each time we go. We look forward to all our kite trips since we get such good service for good price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at Crescent City Bay View Inn, responded to this review

Howdy, Winifred M. The kites were beautiful to watch! We're stoked to know you had a great time here in Crescent City! We're proud of our part of the country and look forward to having guests travel in. Thank you for taking the tine to share your experience with the rest of the TripAdvisor community. Safe travels to you wherever... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

I don't think you will be able to find a better value budget hotel in Crescent City. We stayed in a king suite for $54 on Memorial day! The view of the ocean is a little obstructed by a shack business behind the hotel, but the room was incredibly clean and the hotel staff was friendly. Would highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at Crescent City Bay View Inn, responded to this review

HI, Matt M. Thank you for the great TripAdvisor review! We're glad you could enjoy your ocean view and interact with our team. Everyone is dedicated to your comfort and rest when you stay with us and we look forward to having you stay with us again whenever you travel to the beautiful North Coast of California. Happy trails until... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
0.6 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#7 of 19 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
#6 of 19 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 stars 557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#12 of 19 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Crescent City
Travelodge Crescent City
#13 of 19 in Crescent City
3.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
0.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#11 of 19 in Crescent City
3.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities