We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Historic Calumet Inn

104 West Main, Pipestone, MN 56164
Hotel website
Special Offer
Package Deal
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Historic Calumet Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Historic Calumet Inn
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    24
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
25
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (80)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Historic Calumet Inn for two nights in snowy November. A long-time friend and I were looking for a half-way driving point to meet, sew together, and visit the Pipestone National Monument, the location where Native people of many tribes have quarried red pipestone from early times, and which is a sacred area. We were very fortunate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CalumetInn, Owner at Historic Calumet Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed the unique history, the friendly service, and the fantastic food. We enjoyed hosting you lovely ladies as well, and hope to host you again soon! More

Faribault, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a wonderful place that I plan to revisit. The history of it is too long to write but there is alot of it. Including ghost stories and hauntings of particular rooms. The down side is that it isnt very handicapped accessible.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CalumetInn, Owner at Historic Calumet Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you plan on re-visiting us. Hopefully we can host you in our Handicap-Accessible rooms during your next visit . At the moment, we only have two guest rooms with handicap-accessible bathrooms, although we hope to add more special amenities to all our rooms in the future. We also have a recently-updated... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I chose the Historic Calumet Inn because it is an old hotel that is coming back to life with a unique history. I have had an extended stay at this hotel in a newly renovated room and it has been nothing but pleasant. The owners and staff have been very friendly and are proud and knowlegegable about the hotels history.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CalumetInn, Owner at Historic Calumet Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you have greatly enjoyed your experience. The owners and staff are very proud of how far we have come in renovations. Thank you for choosing us for your extended lodging needs! More

Pipestone, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I have lived near Pipestone for nearly 40 years and we have watched the Calumet go through all sorts of phases. I have to say that I've not seen that place look, feel or smell as good as it does now under the family and staff who run it. Service is friendly and the food is absolutely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CalumetInn, Owner at Historic Calumet Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are very pleased that you enjoyed all the updates to the hotel along with the friendly service. The owners and staff have worked very hard in the past two years in fixing things up from the inside-out, top-to-bottom. We are far from perfection, but from what has already been accomplished in just 26 months,... More

Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a clean and quiet room. Loved the Names on the doors. The Food was fantastic as well, the staff was super attentive and respectful. The Owner was really dedicated to progress and made sure my stay was comfortable. Stayed for a week and enjoyed the quiet small town atmosphere of Pipestone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CalumetInn, Owner at Historic Calumet Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the cleanliness and friendly service of our hotel. We hope to have the honor of hosting you again someday! More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was so excited for this stay. Unfortunately the owners of this establishment really don't seem to know what they are doing. Honestly,I have never met someone who couldn't have seemed to care less. The rooms were sort of clean, but definitely not nice. It's a lot of money to spend on a room that had barely no lighting, no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CalumetInn, Owner at Historic Calumet Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your important feedback! We are thrilled that you enjoyed our restaurant so much, as this is something the owners and staff have worked tirelessly for two years to build up and perfect. Although we strive to put all guests in our newly-renovated rooms, we were unable to the weekend of your stay, as we were fully booked.... More

Greenfield, Iowa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were really excited to try this hotel out. I didn't even know it was on Hotel Hell until I called to book a room and the front desk clerk told me. We opted for one of the rooms that was renovated during the show. It was really beautiful but I was surprised how dirty and beat up it already... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CalumetInn, Owner at Historic Calumet Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed the Flat Iron Steak and MN Wild Rice Soup, and we are honored that you consider it one of the best meals you've ever had. We are also pleased that your bed and linens were fresh and clean, as is our standard. Although we strive to deliver 100% to... More

West Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When I saw the picture of this hotel I was so excited to stay here, I should have known looks can be deceiving. The architecture is gorgeous, the lobby was beautiful with its exposed stone wall, the room was a bit spooky (and not because of the resident ghost). I felt like I stepped back in time to my grandmother’s... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CalumetInn, Owner at Historic Calumet Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! Although we strive to make every guest experience an excellent one, we regret not succeeding 100% this time. We host such a mixed clientele at our hotel (ranging from romance-seeking tourists to minimalist construction workers), and our guest rooms reflect this diversity. We wish we could have hosted you in one of our charming Victorian-style... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was greeted by friendly smiles and offered several keys to different rooms. They've renovated several historic rooms beautifully, and some standard ones too. I ended up choosing a standard king room for their (very reasonable) business rate. Some of the furniture definitely needs updating, but this takes time, and it looks like they are well underway in many rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CalumetInn, Owner at Historic Calumet Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We strive to create a top-notch experience every time, and are delighted that our staff exceeded your expectations during your stay. We thank you for your patience and understanding and we gradually update the furniture and layout of all 36 guest rooms. We hope to host you again soon! More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When traveling we like to look for unique or local Hotels. Sometime you are not impressed.This one was a very good. We stayed in one of the antique rooms and it was cool. After we arrived we heard of all of the ghost stories. We will defiantly be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
CalumetInn, Owner at Historic Calumet Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are delighted that we exceeded your expectations during your stay, and that you enjoyed the unique ambiance of our antique rooms. We can't wait to host you again someday! More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Historic Calumet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Calumet Inn

Address: 104 West Main, Pipestone, MN 56164
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Pipestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and T4B so you can book your Historic Calumet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Calumet Hotel Pipestone

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (40)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay