We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Motel 6 Albuquerque - I-40 - San Mateo

2424 San Mateo Blvd Northeast, Albuquerque, NM 87110-4053 (Formerly La Quinta Inn Albuquerque I-40 East / San Mateo)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Motel 6 Albuquerque - I-40 - San Mateo
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    31
    32
    30
    18
    29
See reviews for
43
32
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (140)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (63)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Albuquerque - I-40 - San Mateo
See the most recent reviews
Pueblo, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

This property is now a Motel 6. We needed a handicap accessible room and the one we stayed in fit our needs except it did not have a wheel in shower, instead it had a conventional tub and chair. The room was clean and the service staff was very helpful A Denny's restaurant shares the property and that was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, Manager at Motel 6 Albuquerque - I-40 - San Mateo, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about your stay. We are pleased to know that we provided you a clean comfortable room. We do have roll in showers available call ahead on your next visit and we will do our best to get you in one. I look forward to your return. More 

Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I had made a reservation and guaranteed it with my credit card for a downstairs suite for two adults and a dog. I was assured that the room would be downstairs and would have two rooms. When I got to the property, I was informed that my room had been given to someone else. I stated that I had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
General M, Manager at Motel 6 Albuquerque - I-40 - San Mateo, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback and are using your comments to guide us in correcting the issues at this property. We have a new management company and General Manager and have been diligently working to improve the exterior, guest rooms and service. We are hopeful that you will give us another chance to prove we are far better than you previously... More 

Travelers are raving about these Albuquerque hotels

Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I don't have high expectations. I just wanted a clean hotel to crash for the evening. I generally have no problem at all with Motel 6. You know you're getting a no frills hotel. But it's obvious that the owners have chosen not to keep up on the maintenance. There were many holes in the wall with spackle that needed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, Manager at Motel 6 Albuquerque - I-40 - San Mateo, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback and are using your comments to guide us in correcting the issues at this property. We have a new management company and General Manager and have been diligently working to improve the exterior, guest rooms and service. We are hopeful that you will give us another chance to prove we are far better than you previously... More 

Wetumpka, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Driving up to this Inn I was immediatelt disappointed. This hotel was next door to a Motel 6 and 5 other motels/hotels. It felt crowded. In addition, the street leading up to the entrance was packed with 18 wheelers and I felt closed in just getting there. Outside it was noisey, and I was very disappointed in the room. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, Manager at Motel 6 Albuquerque - I-40 - San Mateo, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback and are using your comments to guide us in correcting the issues at this property. We have a new management company and General Manager and have been diligently working to improve the exterior, guest rooms and service. We are hopeful that you will give us another chance to prove we are far better than you previously... More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We came in for two days - went on to AZ for a few days then finished out time at the same property. What a welcome place - wonderful employees - comfortable and friendly hotel. Don't let the fact that this is right next to the highway discourage you - you don't notice the traffic noise and it makes it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, Manager at Motel 6 Albuquerque - I-40 - San Mateo, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post comments about your stay. I am pleased to know you had a pleasant stay. I look forward to seeing you should you come back through Albuquerque. More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Booked room as La Quinta but arrived to discover now a Motel Six and not accommodating La Quinta reservations. Reservation not recognized. Actually had a room at cheaper rate. Quite nice but lousy tv reception. Told satellite was repaired but tv didn't work during entire five day stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, Manager at Motel 6 Albuquerque - I-40 - San Mateo, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. My apologies that the television reception was not working. These issues have since been resolved. We how you will give us another try if you are in the Albuquerque area. More 

Tecumseh, MO
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Returning from a trip to So. California we stopped for the night at this La Quinta. The room was nice, very clean with comfortable beds. In room coffee was good, and they had a great breakfast. Nearby area a host of good restaurants. Property is clean and well maintained.

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, Manager at Motel 6 Albuquerque - I-40 - San Mateo, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to know we provided you with a clean comfortable room. We look forward to your return. More 

Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
141 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed here for one night. Had a nice evening. Motel was comfortable and clean and reasonable. Due to the snow storm closing I 40 stayed here to plan another route home. Decided on LQ because of reputation I was familiar with. Never disappointing!

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, Manager at Motel 6 Albuquerque - I-40 - San Mateo, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to know we provided you with a clean comfortable room. We hope to see you again should you come through Albuquerque. More 

Fort Worth, Texas, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This place is horrible. First night the television didn't work. We waited a couple of hours to get it fixed. And it was obvious that the nonsmoking rooms had been smoked in. Second time was worse. TV didn't work so we were moved to a different room with dirty face towels, and NO BATH TOWELS. Cigarette holes on the comforter... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
La Quinta A, General Manager at Motel 6 Albuquerque - I-40 - San Mateo, responded to this review

We truly appreciate your feedback; it is our goal to provide you with a positive, memorable experience each and every time you stay with us. We apologize that your experience was not what you expected from La Quinta. As you see we have several great reviews. We do try to make everyone 100% satisfied, at times mother nature stops us... More 

Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
195 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The facility is of the older style with exterior corridors and parking surrounding the building. Most patrons would be able to park immediately adjacent to their room, so helpful if there are many bags to carry. Room appeared to have been recently renovated, with a large bath sink/counter area, the towels were a cut above what was expected. There was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
La Quinta A, General Manager at Motel 6 Albuquerque - I-40 - San Mateo, responded to this review

We truly appreciate your feedback; it is our goal to provide you with a positive, memorable experience each and every time you stay with us. We apologize that your experience was not what you expected from La Quinta. As you see we have several great reviews. We do try to make everyone 100% satisfied, at times we do not please... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Econo Lodge East
#38 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Uptown
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#2 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay