We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Route 66 Hostel

1012 Central Avenue SW, Albuquerque, NM 87102
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Route 66 Hostel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    9
    22
    7
    8
    14
See reviews for
3
7
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (60)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is by far the worst place i have stayed. I have stayed in places in mexico the where dirty and uncleaned that i enjoyed better than here. The staff are rude and go out of there way to ignore and not be helpful. I asked one if he could show me where the cups are he said no. In... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Route S, General Manager at Route 66 Hostel, responded to this review

Sorry you had a bad experience with us. We don't generally like our guests verbally assaulting the staff. Safe travels. More 

Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was definitely one of the coolest atmospheres I've experienced in a hostel before. The staff is very welcoming and the sense of community with them and the other guests is exactly what you'd want from a hostel. I felt safe staying here. It was an awesome value for our money. But parking is very limited! Be prepared to park... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hostel is fine for staying at, gives a place to sleep and seemed safe enough for us when wandering around the place. Good location between old town and new town all in walking distance. Pthe hostel could do with a good bit of maintenance, however, was clean enough for showering eating etc. Just appears grubby looking. Would stay again if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

Pros Downtown on Route66 Friendly and knowledgeable staff Free breakfast Solid Wifi Amazing value for ABQ Cons It's outdated but work is ongoing and visible daily Bed was tiny in the private room and so was the room - avoid this so... be real, this is a budget hostel in a great city inbetween Old Town and downtown. it's not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Central Coast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

We really loved staying at the Route 66 Hostel. We stayed 2 different nights - one on our way to Texas and then again on the way back. I preferred the Euro Room upstairs - #7. I was treated to a beautiful sunrise and hot air balloons practicing for the Albuquerque Hot Air Balloon Festival. Great room! We stayed in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

A nice hostel in a great location for exploring Albuquerque, everything was close by. Atmosphere was pretty chilled, comfortable rooms, met a few characters and some of the locals with great stories to tell. Would recommend if visiting this part of the world!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Quorn
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Great little hostel, staff are super friendly and helpful with great local knowledge. The location is great for both downtown and old town. Free self help breakfast was a bonus. The single rooms vary in size but beds are comfortable. I will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Globe, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

A vintage building with characher and personality, not fancy but I prefer soul to sterile and posh. Old wood floors that creak just a little, bathroom fixtures not new, bunk beds in the dorm are basic but I slept well. The kitchen facilities are spread out in three rooms, refrigerator in dining room, coffee corner in living space and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

Recently I made the right choice and stayed three nights at the Route 66 Hostel in Albuquerque. What a welcoming staff! They were enthusiastic about their community sharing tips on sites and activities in the area. An interesting detail about the hostel is the wide variety of international people visiting, which makes for a most interesting experience. Breakfast, made by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

Good value for the money. Really nice staff, cozy house but a bit toooo cold in the room. It was freeezing outside and our room was also a bit to cold. The kitchen and the common areas are big. I'm really happy they had eggs for breakfast and not just pancake as every hostel I've been to in US.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Route S, Front Desk at Route 66 Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review and kind words, Jennie! Sorry about the heat. It's often a struggle with our historic building and even more historic central heating system to keep temperatures comfortable for all. We hope you'll come and visit again! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#2 of 148 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 1,181 reviews
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 148 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 973 reviews
Econo Lodge Old Town
#9 of 148 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hotel Blue
#68 of 148 in Albuquerque
3.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#14 of 148 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 stars 1,176 reviews
DoubleTree by Hilton Albuquerque
#37 of 148 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 stars 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay