We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Texas Inn

839 North Expressway, Brownsville, TX 78520 (Formerly Rose Garden Inn)
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Texas Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Texas Inn
Texas Inn
Texas Inn
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
2
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (16)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

i have stayed at several hotels and I do not expect much when I pay about $50 a night. WE booked two rooms and were told upon check in we could change the dates on the reservation. Checked in and the front desk clerk told us she didnt have permission to do so and we would have to wait until... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brownsville, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Great rate, great room, awasome staff, clean rooms a huge plus. Place is right on express way and it was EZ to get to. I'll definitely send my friends and family to this place ................................................................................

Was this review helpful? Yes
TEXAS INN T, Owner at Texas Inn, responded to this review

Mr David we would like to Thank You for taking you valuable time and giving us a review on your stay. On behalf of my staff and management we Thank you too and hope to see you soon on your next visit . More 

Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stay at the Rose Garden often and i find it excellent for the price.My a/c did not work on my last trip and i was upgraded to a room with a bigger bed.This people are new owners and i have witness them trying hard to improve the place.So to all the negative reviews "dont go looking for steak with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rose G, General Manager at Texas Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. See ya next time you in town. More 

Ontario
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Room was very musty, meaning a/c had to be turned on high to try to alleviate the smell; the phone did not work at all (no dial tone);we had to ask for toilet paper as there was NONE in the room and no kleenex. If it were not already late, we would definitely be going somewhere else. I guess you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rose G, General Manager at Texas Inn, responded to this review

I am really sorry for what you had to go through, but please give us another chance to prove you that we can do lot better and make your trip more enjoyable. Thank you More 

McAllen, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Be very careful with your credit cards you pay at Rose Garden Inn. They will continue charging your credit card after months of checking out. DO NOT STAY AT THIS INN!!!! BE AWARE! Take the next hotel and pay with check or cash....

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rose G, Manager at Texas Inn, responded to this review

I am really sorry to hear that, but there might be an misunderstanding. May I ask you did you try to contact us regarding why was the card charged or when? I would love to fix this problem for you please let me know Thank you More 

San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Rose Garden was very nice for not having any reservation. I found it to be clean and comfortable. It had everything I needed for the weekend...bed, lite breakfast, laundry room and near the places I needed to go. I, also, found it would be good for doing business in Brownsville with the Texas Workforce Commission, South Texas Behavioral Health... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rose G, Manager at Texas Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back and for letting us provide you with our hospitality. Hope to see you back. More 

Victoria, Texas, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I stayed this weekend and got 800.00 dollars stolen by the housekeeper lady will reveal her name later... She accepted she had my daughters Ipod, filed police report, another housekeeping ladey literally abused me verbally, will sue this place and will make them refund me what they stold....If I was you I would not stay there.....I have proof of eveything,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

... idk what room the people who rave about this place had... our bed was so saggy/creaky, our cable didnt work and they wouldnt fix it, so i had too, our room didnt get touched by hk the entire 5 days.. we had to ask for towels i asked at 9, it was 1130 still no towels.. the room smelled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sturgis, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

We booked our reservations online based on the pictures on the website. I by no means was expecting a 4 star hotel, but when we arrived and checked in the rooms were no where near what was depicted. Our room was unmade, with shopping bags stacked up in the room. I went back to the office, they switched our room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2009

I tried booking thru their website. But at the same time I was shopping other hotels in the area. When I went back to book the rate, it said my session had exceeded 30 mins and to start search over. I did. My browser was accepting cookies. But every time I did the room search over, it kept saying my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Texas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Texas Inn

Address: 839 North Expressway, Brownsville, TX 78520 (Formerly Rose Garden Inn)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Brownsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Texas Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Hotel Brownsville
Best Western Brownsville
Brownsville Best Western

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay