We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Plaza Inn

2021 N Padre Island Drive, Corpus Christi, TX 78408 (Formerly Drury Inn)
Hotel amenities
Plaza Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #51 of 82 Hotels in Corpus Christi
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015
Temeaux London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    19
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
19
10
1
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (58)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

I had a reservation at the motel 6. I was a vendor at the local gun show, where I was advised by a fellow vendor to cancel my reservation of 1 room for $49.99+tax, and spend a little more money to try the Plaza Inn, where the gun show vendors get a special rate. "It's totally worth it!" He said.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
helen_futrell, Public Relations Manager at Plaza Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the property. I'm very sorry that you had a less than stellar experience with us. We are currently under renovation and you were clearly in a room that has yet to be updated. It is a process. While we always try to accommodate all requests, during the gun show we generally are... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

We booked this hotel off the internet, based on the reservation page. That said - the hotel looks NOTHING like that page. There are no sailboats, no harbor, no ocean view - a complete let down. The staff was nice, the area seems industrial, just off the interstate and the hotel was busy. Would I stay there again - nope.

Was this review helpful? Yes
helen_futrell, Public Relations Manager at Plaza Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel. I have reviewed our web site and it does clearly say in the opening paragraph that we are located in "central" Corpus. We do not claim to be on the waterfront and would not mislead our guests intentionally. We are only a short drive from the waterfront... More 

Austin, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Hotel is getting a renovation. New carpets, furniture flooring. Hotel has policy that rooms must be cancelled 24 hours before reservation or full night charge. The Plaza is one of my go to hotels in Corpus. Very very easy check in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
helen_futrell, Public Relations Manager at Plaza Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are working hard to upgrade our facility for our guests and are grateful you liked the changes! I hope we will have the opportunity to serve you on your next trip to Corpus, we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights over the Labor Day weekend. It's close to the airport so not a beach hotel but the room price was good and the place was clean and pretty quite. They had a good breakfast each morning and over all we where happy with the hotel. I read some reviews of this hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
helen_futrell, Public Relations Manager at Plaza Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so glad that you found us! Many people skip on by looking for a big box hotel and don't realize the small gems they miss. I am so happy you enjoyed your holiday weekend with us and our renovations didn't spoil your trip! I can't wait to show off our... More 

Houston, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Although the parking lot has what appears to be video surveillance when you pull in, there is no surveillance towards the back of the lot. There is, however, a complete portion of a wooden fence torn down. This is the exact area where my husband had parked. After coming back from dinner, my husband noticed something wasn't quite right with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
helen_futrell, Public Relations Manager at Plaza Inn, responded to this review

I wanted to thank you for taking your time to post your comments. I wanted to apologize that you had a break in during your stay. Any time that you travel you should always lock up all of your valuables. Even with cameras, we cannot guarantee the security of items left in vehicles. While this is not a high crime... More 

Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Please don't waste your time and money on this run down Plaza Inn! We made reservations for 4th of July (2014) weekend and regret ever minute of it. Upon checking in and entering the room, we see paint bubbling off the walls from old water stains, the furniture in the room was disgusting (forgot to take a picture of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Not sure what is going on, why people gave this hotel decent reviewss. Going by previous reviews I felt this was a pretty nice hotel. I have never stayed in such a hotel in dire need of cleaning. The room we stayed in was aweful, the carpet had stains, my foot (wore flip flops, wouldn't dare go barefoot) would get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
helen_futrell, Public Relations Manager at Plaza Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry we failed to meet your expectations. We are under major renovations and that does cause a mess. I would like to apologize that you came in the midst of that. I hope that you will give us a second chance when you return to the area. Our rooms will be finished in... More 

Harlingen, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I would highly reccommend Plaza Inn for several reasons to anyone visiting Corpus Christi. When we arrived I found that we were placed on the 4th floor(smoking)and I had inadvertantly neglected to specify non smoking when I placed the reservation. They readily offered to change our room location to another floor. Then, after saying she would place us on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
helen_futrell, Public Relations Manager at Plaza Inn, responded to this review

We wanted to thank you so much for the excellent review! I do apologize for the error we made on the booking placement! You were so sweet to us and I am glad we were all able to resolve that agreeably! I can't wait for you to come back and see the beautiful renovation work we are doing! It will... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My wife and I had a pleasant stay here at the Plaza Inn. Breakfast was great, rooms where nice and of course the staff polite and friendly, one individual was superb, very friendly , husky gentlemen w/ glasses didn't catch his name but good job. Great work Plaza Inn will be returning in the near future.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
helen_futrell, Public Relations Manager at Plaza Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. I am so happy you enjoyed your time with us and hope you will choose us when planning your next family vacation to Corpus Christi. We are currently under renovation and look forward to showing you all of your updates and "brand new" look! Hope to see you... More 

Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

The wifi only worked 10% of the time, and when we called to ask about when it would be fixed they never gave a straight answer. The rooms were never clean to begin with. The carpet made our feet dirty. They didn't clean our rooms. Out of date technology. The staff was unhelpful. Breakfast buffet wasn't even breakfast worthy. Unsafe... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question