We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown

Hotel website
Hotel deals
206 South West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101 (Formerly Shilo Inn Suites Hotel)
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    22
    21
    12
See reviews for
17
20
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (78)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have studied holiday Inn expresses & know so much about the express & what to expect staying here. for this hotel being new this year it definitely made me proud! staff was great! breakfast was great! I kept extending my stay because of how awesome it is here. not just saying it just because.. honestly it was a great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelingFamilyGal, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Utah801WVC, We are thrilled to read your recent review of Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown. Thank you for your kind remarks regarding our wonderful staff, great breakfast indoor 24 hour pool and clean rooms. I will be sure to pass your compliments along to our team members. Thank you so much for choosing to stay at our... More 

DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Breakfast included and newly renovated rooms. The staff are helpful and the wireless is free (a nice change from most downtown hotels). Don't forget about the shuttle too and from the airport. Definitely a good option for business trips.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelingFamilyGal, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review

Dear PumpkinCustard, Thank you for choosing to stay at our newly opened Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown. Many travelers like yourself are pleasantly surprised by our convenient location directly across the street from the Salt Palace Convention Center. We hope you had the chance to check out some of our local restaurants within walking distance as well. Next... More 

New Jersey
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
65 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Construction is nearly done at the hotel, i believe they were finishing up on the 2nd floor while we were here but it did not disturb us in the slightest. Breakfast area was HUGE - tons of seating, plugs for people that need to charge up, and double the amount of breakfast stations that most HIE have (2 pancake stations,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelingFamilyGal, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Lilemoevie Thank you so much for your recent review of our Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown on TripAdvisor. Our Management Team is truly excited to hear this was your best Holiday Inn Express stay yet. It's reassuring to know that the months and months of extensive renovations have paid off. We are just putting the finishing touches... More 

Calgary
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Looks like the hotel was recently purchased and really doesn't seem like a Holiday Inn Express yet. Breakfast and staff were great like all Holiday Inn Expresses, but the decore and everything about it doesn't seem like a Holiday Express. But good location, good breakfasts.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelingFamilyGal, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Calgary David, Thank you for choosing our new Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown. We hope you enjoyed your stay and we truly appreciate your feedback on TripAdvisor. It's true that our changed ownership a little more than a year ago. Since then we have been hard at work completing a full renovation and re-branding to the Holiday... More 

Logan, Utah
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

I booked my room early and paid a deposit. When I arrived that evening, they told me they gave my room to someone else and didn't have any rooms available and I'd have to go look for a hotel room somewhere else. Unbelievable! They didn't even call to warn me. The clerk then said they would refund my deposit right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TravelingFamilyGal, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Shaun, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We apologize that we were unsuccessful at providing the level of hospitality that we are committed to. Unfortunately we were oversold during your requested dates, due to construction delays relating to ongoing guest room renovations at our hotel. Unfortunately we had a large number of guest rooms that were scheduled to... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

This hotel experience was the best. The customer service could not be beat. Everything from the complementary airport shuttle to the helpful front desk and other staff were amazing. In the midst of some renovations, the hotel was still kept immaculate. It is the absolute best hotel choice location for business or pleasure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelingFamilyGal, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Carol! Thank you for your recent outstanding review of our Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown. We are happy to hear that your experience of our customer service, free airport shuttle and helpful staff exceeded your expectations. I am pleased to let you know that our renovations are now finished. We hope you will stay with us again,... More 

Weinheim, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Stayed in this HI Express for a conference. The hotel is just across the street from the Salt Palace Convention Center. Very convenient. They are still working on the final pieces of the renovation. But all rooms are finished. Rooms are brand new, clean, spacious and very nice. Huge TV, comfortable beds and clean bathroom. Fridge, microwave and coffee maker... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelingFamilyGal, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review

Dear AD0815, Thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown for your recent conference. We are glad that our convenient location next to the Salt Palace Convention Center met your needs. We are also happy to read your compliments on our guest rooms, complimentary full hot breakfast, free wifi and complimentary airport shuttle. We completely agree... More 

moscow pa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015 via mobile

We had to climb over unfinished sidewalks to check in. Only one working elevator for 11 floors, only one working ice machine. Construction everywhere!!! The sliding door between the bathroom and the bedroom would not close properly. The hotel has only been open for a few weeks but there was toothpaste smeared on the door jam in the bathroom (... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelingFamilyGal, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Miss Mary Z, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay last month. We are disappointed to hear that we full short of your expectations. Please know that we fell short of our own expectations as well. Unfortunately our renovations continued for several months after we originally had anticipated. I am following up to let you know that... More 

detroit
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

Chose this hotel because of the central downtown location. As we approached the hotel we noticed scaffolding and a large fenced off construction area. There was no meaningful signage indicating where to park, or even where to enter the hotel (multiple guests complained that the parking arrangements were terrible). Once we checked in I we discovered that the entire hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelingFamilyGal, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review

Dear MotorCityManDetroit, Thank you for your honest review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. I am following up to let you know that our extensive renovations have finally come to an end. We hope you will consider staying with us again, should you return to the Salt Lake City area in the near future. More 

Idaho
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

The hotel is currently under renovation, transitioning from a Shilo Inn to a Holiday Inn Express. What has been done is very nice. The rooms are modern and clean, though our room still had missing outlet face plates. The beds are very comfortable with both firm and soft pillows. The room had a fridge and a microwave and plenty of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelingFamilyGal, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review

Dear GirlyGirlInID, Thank you for your recent review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are disappointed to hear that your stay with us in February was underwhelming. I am following up to confirm that our renovations have come to and end and we are completed our transition to a Holiday Inn Express. We are happy to hear that you found... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question