We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 75 Salt Lake City hotels

Royal Garden Inn

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   154 West 600 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Hotel amenities
Royal Garden Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Garden Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #61 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    28
    62
    44
    61
See reviews for
39
53
25
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (214)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (87)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here while in town for the Outdoor Retailer convention & would not choose to come back. The sign outside says newly renovated rooms but mine obviously hadn't been done yet. The room was poorly lit (only the lights at the bed worked), there were dubious stains in various places (bathroom ceiling, divan, several bits of wall), wallpaper was peeling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elanora, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Looks are deceiving. From the street it looks like a nice cheap value for money hotel. But upon entering your room you are greeted by the foul stench of stale tobacco. The carpet ceilings are filthy. Bathroom door covered in something. Mould and mildew everywear. 1 pillow per person. Old crap tv. Free wifi was rubbish as signal kept fading.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royal I, General Manager at Royal Garden Inn, responded to this review

Hello 'Worst'- Ouch! Thanks for your comments on our hotel. I am sorry the problems you encountered with your room. We are remodeling and working our way through all of the rooms. We also have a security guard every night who deals with these issues if they arise. I am glad my staff was able to assist you! More 

Glendale, AZ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I feel for reviewers MHSR and jm, as clearly, their experience was far from positive. However, our experience was very similar to reviewer Terrysng. Hubby and I, along with 6 of our friends traveled to SLC for business. We all stayed at the Royal Garden Inn. Hubby and I had a father/daughter couple in our room. All 8 of us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Royal I, General Manager at Royal Garden Inn, responded to this review

Hi- Thank your for your detailed review. I really appreciate the detailed pros and cons and will use them to improve the hotel. We have a lot of remodel work scheduled and are working our way through as fast as we can around the numerous conventions scheduled. I am very glad the pros outway the cons and hope you will... More 

California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would have cx but there were no other hotels available. First, The staff was NOT friendly, no personalities with any of them. I asked for a newly renovated room, they said they gave me one. I don't think so the curtain was partly off. The shower dripped the faucet was old and leaked when turned on. The door jam... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Royal I, General Manager at Royal Garden Inn, responded to this review

Hello- I's am very sorry that you had such a poor experience at our hotel. We are in the process of remodeling our rooms and are about halfway through the hotel. Unfortunately the downtown area has a lot of bums wandering around bothering businesses. We have a security guard every night who is very effective at dealing with these unwanted... More 

Burley, Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here because we were in salt lake for the gymnastics competition. The reviews on hotwire and priceline said it was a 3 star so I thought its close and cheap so we chose it. I was so wrong I understand they might be working on it maybe, but it was the worst room I have ever stayed at.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royal I, General Manager at Royal Garden Inn, responded to this review

Hi 'Tip": Thanks for the candid review of our hotel. We are indeed in the process of remodeling our rooms and making improvements. I wish we could complete the work faster. I apologize for the condition of your room and that we were unable to complete the remodel before your stay. More 

Indonesia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014 via mobile

We were much pleased with this no frills motel. We were also pleased that what we have paid for was truly what we had received. Royal garden inn is a simple motel located just 8 mins away from the Salt Lake City international airport by car. It is easy to get in and out. Located in the city, we find... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Royal I, General Manager at Royal Garden Inn, responded to this review

Hello 'Value'- Thanks for the review. I am very happy you found value at our hotel and hope to see you again! More 

Milford, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Drugs Domestic fighting hookers right out the door homeless sleeping in the parking lot very dark Parking lot smashed roaches on the ceiling Towels were almost see threw the noise outside from the room next door was all day and night

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royal I, General Manager at Royal Garden Inn, responded to this review

Hi "WOW"- Thanks for your review. I am very sorry for the problems you encountered during your stay. I wish we had an opportunity to address them during your stay. We have security every night provided by an internationally known company to deal with these types of issues if they arise. They do a very good job of keeping the... More 

Winona, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Very dated. Did hear they were remodeling some rooms but not the ones we were in. Front desk folks were helpful Needs lots of TLC. Probably would not stay here again. Breakfast was okay but the room was not so inviting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royal I, General Manager at Royal Garden Inn, responded to this review

Hello "Maybe" Thank you for your comments. We are in the process of remodeling our rooms. Unfortunately, we can only work on a few at time. We should have the work complete by next summer and hope you will try us again! More 

Montville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
13 hotel reviews
315 helpful votes 315 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

I spent a Wednesday night at the Royal Garden Inn in September. There were no conventions to speak of that week. I spent $44.25 for the room which I booked in June through Booking.com. First the positives: I had an efficient Front Desk check-in even though I booked three months in advance. They got the paper work right. I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royal I, General Manager at Royal Garden Inn, responded to this review

Hi "Great Price"- Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We are in the process of remodeling our rooms and can't seem to get the work done fast enough. We're happy you chose to stay with us for your visit to SLC. More 

Brno
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
116 hotel reviews
414 helpful votes 414 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

When I saw the other reviews here before my stay I was afraid. After my stay I can say that they are so wrong. I dont understand how its possible that this hotel has so many bad reviews...I can recommed to all a night in 11th avenue hostel in Denver...than you would see what a real dump is. But back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Royal I, General Manager at Royal Garden Inn, responded to this review

Hello- Thanks for the great review! Glad you stayed with us while visiting our town. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Royal Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Inn

Address: 154 West 600 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden Hotel Salt Lake City
Hotel Royal Garden
Royal Garden Inn Salt Lake City, Utah

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay