We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 75 Salt Lake City hotels

Royal Garden Inn

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   154 West 600 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Hotel amenities
Royal Garden Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Garden Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #61 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    30
    62
    44
    62
See reviews for
40
53
27
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (217)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (87)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is tucked discretely in between a couple of other hotels, but there was a lot of space. I'll be honest and admit to reading the other reviews and maybe becoming a bit worried about my stay. Boy, was I misled. I did not find any of the problems that others have stated. My room was clean, beds made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Green River, Wyoming
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room was dirty, old, smelled bad and the bed sheets HAD NOT been changed from the last guest. My son took the sheets off the bed and they did change the bedding then .The shower had no mat for the tub floor and was slick.. We were in SLC for medical reasons and was suppose to get $49 hospital... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington State
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Based on other reviews, I was anxious about how the experience would play out -- but was on a tight budget for this trip. The anxiety worsened when we drove-up and saw a sign on the marque that said something like, "Maids needed, apply within" -- having said that, the floor next to the desk was "take your breath away"... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here while in town for the Outdoor Retailer convention & would not choose to come back. The sign outside says newly renovated rooms but mine obviously hadn't been done yet. The room was poorly lit (only the lights at the bed worked), there were dubious stains in various places (bathroom ceiling, divan, several bits of wall), wallpaper was peeling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elanora, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Looks are deceiving. From the street it looks like a nice cheap value for money hotel. But upon entering your room you are greeted by the foul stench of stale tobacco. The carpet ceilings are filthy. Bathroom door covered in something. Mould and mildew everywear. 1 pillow per person. Old crap tv. Free wifi was rubbish as signal kept fading.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royal I, General Manager at Royal Garden Inn, responded to this review

Hello 'Worst'- Ouch! Thanks for your comments on our hotel. I am sorry the problems you encountered with your room. We are remodeling and working our way through all of the rooms. We also have a security guard every night who deals with these issues if they arise. I am glad my staff was able to assist you! More 

Glendale, AZ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

I feel for reviewers MHSR and jm, as clearly, their experience was far from positive. However, our experience was very similar to reviewer Terrysng. Hubby and I, along with 6 of our friends traveled to SLC for business. We all stayed at the Royal Garden Inn. Hubby and I had a father/daughter couple in our room. All 8 of us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Royal I, General Manager at Royal Garden Inn, responded to this review

Hi- Thank your for your detailed review. I really appreciate the detailed pros and cons and will use them to improve the hotel. We have a lot of remodel work scheduled and are working our way through as fast as we can around the numerous conventions scheduled. I am very glad the pros outway the cons and hope you will... More 

California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

I would have cx but there were no other hotels available. First, The staff was NOT friendly, no personalities with any of them. I asked for a newly renovated room, they said they gave me one. I don't think so the curtain was partly off. The shower dripped the faucet was old and leaked when turned on. The door jam... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Royal I, General Manager at Royal Garden Inn, responded to this review

Hello- I's am very sorry that you had such a poor experience at our hotel. We are in the process of remodeling our rooms and are about halfway through the hotel. Unfortunately the downtown area has a lot of bums wandering around bothering businesses. We have a security guard every night who is very effective at dealing with these unwanted... More 

Burley, Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

We stayed here because we were in salt lake for the gymnastics competition. The reviews on hotwire and priceline said it was a 3 star so I thought its close and cheap so we chose it. I was so wrong I understand they might be working on it maybe, but it was the worst room I have ever stayed at.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royal I, General Manager at Royal Garden Inn, responded to this review

Hi 'Tip": Thanks for the candid review of our hotel. We are indeed in the process of remodeling our rooms and making improvements. I wish we could complete the work faster. I apologize for the condition of your room and that we were unable to complete the remodel before your stay. More 

Indonesia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014 via mobile

We were much pleased with this no frills motel. We were also pleased that what we have paid for was truly what we had received. Royal garden inn is a simple motel located just 8 mins away from the Salt Lake City international airport by car. It is easy to get in and out. Located in the city, we find... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Royal I, General Manager at Royal Garden Inn, responded to this review

Hello 'Value'- Thanks for the review. I am very happy you found value at our hotel and hope to see you again! More 

Milford, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Drugs Domestic fighting hookers right out the door homeless sleeping in the parking lot very dark Parking lot smashed roaches on the ceiling Towels were almost see threw the noise outside from the room next door was all day and night

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royal I, General Manager at Royal Garden Inn, responded to this review

Hi "WOW"- Thanks for your review. I am very sorry for the problems you encountered during your stay. I wish we had an opportunity to address them during your stay. We have security every night provided by an internationally known company to deal with these types of issues if they arise. They do a very good job of keeping the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Royal Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Inn

Address: 154 West 600 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden Hotel Salt Lake City
Hotel Royal Garden
Royal Garden Inn Salt Lake City, Utah

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay