We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown

GreenLeadersBronze level
Hotel website
Hotel packages
161 West 600 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown
Add Photo Write a Review

493 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    82
    164
    110
    73
    64
See reviews for
76
123
44
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (493)
  • Mar-May only
    (100)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (154)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (136)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (103)
All months
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband has stayed here in the past and even he was shocked how much its gone downhill. During our 4 day stay and 2 rooms we experienced the following. Rude clerk upon check in, blood on shower curtain and back of door/door jam, broken/gross toilet lid, non working air for 2days of 100+, non working microwave, no hot water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

If you find the hotel rooms for a deal then its just awesome. I was in mid of my long journey and found this hotel comfy. Its so close to the downtown and Indian restaurant was nearby. Close to all nice landmarks in Saltlake City

Was this review helpful? Yes
RLHSaltLake S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown, responded to this review

Dear crdebata, Thank you for your comments! We think our hotel provides a great value to guests and I am glad to read that you agree! Thank you for your business! Paul More 

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked two nights in a tower room with a king bed. Upon arrival we were told all tower rooms as well as all king bed rooms were given away due to them being busy. In fact to even get our room, some lady would have to be kicked out of her reservation to get us our non-tower room with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RLHSaltLake S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown, responded to this review

Dear RachelSMsRC, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with the Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake City. While I am disappointed that we were unable to honor the room type reserved, I was quite pleased to see that the team did their utmost to make up for this inconvenience. Our housekeeping department has taken great strides in improving... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is sad, I sure hope the other guests that stayed here are not served this old lettuce in their lunch. It would be nice to be served fresh foods like other privileged persons get. I'm sure that the Royalty that is here right now is being served fresh salad.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RLHSaltLake S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown, responded to this review

Dear gigy931, I am appalled that you were served old lettuce! We pride ourselves on serving fresh, nutritious food to all guests! Please rest assured that your experience and comments will be shared with our culinary and serving team to ensure future patrons enjoy a fresh, delicious meal. Thank you for your feedback. Paul More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had the misfortune of checking in at the same time 25 women from the Miss Utah pageant were checking in. I arrive at 1:30 thinking I could get into my room early (check in time was 3pm) but it was actually 4:30 before I got into my room because the rooms were not clean. The front desk didn't offer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RLHSaltLake S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown, responded to this review

Dear mskenney, My apologies for the delay in getting you into a clean room upon check in. I appreciate your comment regarding the friendliness of the staff, but it sounds like we still have room for improvement. I agree that the bathrooms are dated and am excited that they will be completely renovated in the near future! Thank you for... More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for one night as part of a tour group. Our room was a good size , beds and pillows comfy. Bathroom was clean and everything worked. There was free Wi-Fi. There was a pool but we didn't see or use it. Location great for Red Rock Brewery.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RLHSaltLake S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown, responded to this review

Dear SUNTAN47, I am glad to see that we met your expectations during your recent stay by providing a clean and comfortable room. Thank you for your feedback! Paul More 

Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've stayed in lots of hotels recently and this had poorer room facilities than all the others. The toilet was dirty, there was no bin in the room, no easy chair and not much room to move around. The food in the restaurant was good but the staff didn't spek much English and had trouble understanding wat we ordered.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RLHSaltLake S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Sarah N, My sincere apologies for the lack of room cleanliness you experienced during your recent stay. And while some of our rooms are smaller than others, there is no excuse for inferior housekeeping service. We will share your comments with our entire housekeeping team to ensure future guests do not go through an experience similar to yours. Thank... More 

Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed in a double queen room with our two daughters. The AC didn't work when we came back from dinner so they upgraded us immediately without any qualms. I was actually surprised by the OUTSTANDING customer service. Can you believe that all I had to do was call the front desk, speak with a compassionate human... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RLHSaltLake S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Steven C, Thank you for your comments! We are in the business of service and it is gratifying to see the team work quickly to overcome problems. We will be ready and waiting for your return visit to Salt Lake! Thanks again for choosing Red Lion! Paul More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is a decent enough stay, but is definitely in need of an update. They have some renovated rooms, but more often than not I get a dated, dingy room. The carpet is stained, the linens are hit-or-miss on cleanliness, and the air conditioners may or may not work. It would be nice to see them update the rest... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RLHSaltLake S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown, responded to this review

Dear justinhi, As you noted, we have renovated nearly half of our guest rooms and I am excited to let you know that the other half will be renovated soon! Having said that, I am disappointed to hear that the cleanliness of your room has been hit or miss. We take great pride in our housekeeping team and your comments... More 

Elizabethville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife & I attended a military reunion and stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. The hotel was easy to find with easy access from any direction. There was ample free parking. We had easy access to the downtown whether driving, walking or riding the nearby Transit Train which was free from the hotel to the downtown. It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RLHSaltLake S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown, responded to this review

Dear VeteranMike, First, thank you for your service! I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your constructive comments on areas where we can improve our service. Thank you for choosing Red Lion! Paul More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay