We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 76 Salt Lake City hotels

University Guest House & Conference Center

110 South Fort Douglas Blvd, Salt Lake City, UT 84113-5036
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
University Guest House & Conference Center
Best prices from these 3 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added University Guest House & Conference Center to your Saves list
96%
Ranked #2 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012
2uktraveler09 Helena, MT
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    92
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
175
69
46
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (518)
  • Mar-May only
    (125)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (173)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (138)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (82)
All months
There are newer reviews for University Guest House & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Helena, MT
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The U of U Guest House is an absolute wonderful place to stay. It is exceptionally quiet, outstandingly clean and friendly. It overlooks the Salt Lake Valley just east of the campus and is within walking distance of the University Hospital and Clinics. The breakfast is great and varied and hot. Public transit is right outside the front door. This... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PerryHacker, Owner at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review

2uktraveler09, Thank you for your wonderful review. I am glad you had a great stay and we all agree that the west views are great. We feel that they are the best in the city. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Salt Lake City. Perry Hacker Director More

Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I was in Salt Lake City for a two week training class. University Guest House was the perfect location it was close to everything that I needed and only 15 minutes from dwntown. The hotel was very clean and the staff was friendly. There was some construction going on during my stay but it didn't cause any disruptions. The rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PerryHacker, Owner at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review

DOwens6426, Thank you for your great review. I feel our staff is among the best anywhere. We strive to provide the greatest experience at a good value. I'm glad you were able to take advantage of breakfast and our close proximity to downtown. If you are ever in SLC again, we hope to see you. Perry Hacker Director More

Victoria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We chose this hotel solely from its great rating and reviews on tripadvisor. Even better was the tripadvisor special rate for the King Deluxe room. We only stayed for one night and had our toddler with us. They rooms were clean and fresh, the staff friendly. They even offered by daughter a toy to keep. Breakfast was great and had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PerryHacker, Owner at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review

Ozcanbyrnes, Thank you for your wonderful review. We work very hard to find the best amenities for our guests and to provide excellent accommodations and service. It's great to hear from our guests that we are successful in our efforts. We hope to see you again soon. Perry Hacker Director More

Laramie, Wyoming, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the UGH and CC quite a few times. It is the BEST deal, BEST lodging, BEST location, and absolutely the BEST place to stay in SLC! Comfortable, clean, lovely, great staff, great breakfast-the only change I would make would be to have an olympic style pool and a hot tub. IF they had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PerryHacker, Owner at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review

Susan, Thank you for your great review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and the staff loved reading your comments about our facilities and service. While unfortunately we can not build a pool :( we now have complimentary passes to two facilities just minutes away. Each has an indoor and an outdoor pool, hot tubs, as well as... More

Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

University Guest House sounds something like a dorm for campus visitors, but it is a standard hotel. It is very clean and has good service. Our bathtub faucet handle broke and they came immediately and fixed it quickly. It has one of the more robust "continental" breakfasts I've had. The hotel sits up on a mountain bench and offers a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PerryHacker, Owner at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review

Glennjo67, Thank you for such a fantastic review. All of us here at the guest house our proud of the service we provide and the amazing location of our hotel. We think we have some of the best views in the city. I am personally glad you were able to take advantage of what we offer and hope your anniversary... More

Elk Grove, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Guest House is always clean and well-run. The friendly staff has yet to be unable to answer a question of mine. The hot breakfast is good and plentiful. I won't stay anywhere else in Salt Lake City.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PerryHacker, Owner at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. Our staff pride themselves on being friendly and knowledgeable. I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast. We are always looking for the best quality items to enhance this amenity. We hope to see you again soon. Perry Hacker More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

A very positive experience. The property was very well maintained and the staff were friendly and helpful. I did become slightly confused with why I could not get the lights to come on upon waking up in the am, but I eventually figured it out. I would recommend it to friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PerryHacker, Owner at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We do have energy saving switches in all the rooms and sometimes they get flipped off. This can be confusing in the morning. I am glad you were able to figure out how to get the lights back on. We hope to see you again soon. Perry More

Champaign, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We discovered the Guest House while our daughter was a student at the U, and have had nothing but good things to say about it! For so many review sites, the "star" system only tells you what amenities are offered, not how clean & well run a facility is. The Guest House doesn't have a pool, restaurant, or bar, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PerryHacker, Owner at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review

Kim P, Thank you for your great review and your comments about our facility. While building a pool is out of reach at this time, we now offer complimentary pool passes to two local recreation facilities with indoor and outdoor pools as well as one with an ice skating rink, just a few minutes by shuttle. Next time you are... More

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I have been to Salt Lake City twice in the past couple of months for meetings at the VA hospital. The first visit I stayed at the Marriott, what a disappointment. Many services not available, Staff not very helpful, seemed like they were planning changes that hadn't taken place yet so no concierge, no one could make follow-up registration and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PerryHacker, Owner at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review

PatriciaB, Thank you for your wonderful review. I am glad that you had a great stay. We work daily to ensure the Guest House provides the servcies and ambience for our guests to relax and not only enjoy interactions with our staff but to feel comfortable in our facilities. We strive to provide the best service and amenities anywhere at... More

Springdale, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The existence of the University Guest House was a well-kept secret, but we are very happy that we are now "in on it"! We have a daughter at Westminster College which is just down the road, as well as other family living in SLC. The U. Guest House is a wonderful location for our needs, and the price is right.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PerryHacker, Owner at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments. I a glad you enjoyed the Guest House and hope your daughters move in went off without a hitch. Fall college move in is always a great time for us and I'm glad we could be part of yours. Thanks for the feedback about the upgrade code. I'll check into the issue, however, I'm... More

Do you own or manage University Guest House & Conference Center?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to University Guest House & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Guest House & Conference Center

Address: 110 South Fort Douglas Blvd, Salt Lake City, UT 84113-5036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your University Guest House & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Guest House And Conference Center
University Guest House Hotel Salt Lake City
University Guest House & Conference Center Salt Lake City, Utah

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
3:31
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near University Guest House & Conference Center

Enlarge Map