We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Comfort Inn Downtown

Hotel website
Hotel deals
171 W 500 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Comfort Inn Downtown
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ranked #42 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Reina G Westchester, New York
Share an Experience

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    39
    32
    8
    8
See reviews for
37
40
8
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (129)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Westchester, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was out on a business trip. My first time without the husband and 6 kids. Made a little small talk with the front desk lady as she was checking me in, and she upgraded my room for free. It made for a nice stay without the family. The room was nothing fancy, no fancy decor, but it was cozier... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Hello 'Great Service' Thanks for your review. Great service at check in makes all the difference. I will share your kind words with my staff. I an very glad to hear we offer just what you needed for a great stay! More 

Rock Hill, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is nice for the price. Beds were very comfortable with lots of pillows. I would have liked for the rooms to be a little cleaner-the carpet, in particular. However, it wasn't a deal breaker, and I would stay here again in the future if I needed a less expensive stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Hello 'Nice Beds" Thanks for the review. Glad our beds are a hit! More 

Payette, Idaho, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

This hotel was within walking distance to so many amenities that people seemed to be constantly coming through from their various tours and excursions. I think the free-tram route is only a block or so from the hotel. There are several convenience stores and a McDonalds near the hotel and a couple of other hotel restaurants if you don't mind... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Hi 'Almost' Thanks for your kind words. I will make sure to pass them on to Clyde. Hope we see you again real soon! More 

Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

I have stayed here twice in the last 4 months. The first time the lady assured me my room would be quiet as it backed up against the community food area (breakfast etc.) While I didn't hear much from folks eating it was the comings and going to the eating area. The room had a lot of foot traffic by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Hello 'Decent'- Thanks for your detailed review. We always try to answer the phone within three rings, but occasionally in the evening we have to step away toe assist other guests. In designing the hotel we made the best use of the available space while keeping fire code and liability issues in mind. I am surprised to hear that you... More 

Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

The service was a little bit strange. I think the bed and linen was a bit dirty, the room itself was fine. Pretty close, maybe a 5 or 10 minute walk to restaurants and food, pretty central to everything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Hello 'Comfortable'- Thanks for your time in reviewing our hotel. I would love to hear what was strange about our service and I apologize for the linens. I trust my staff took care of the problem. We hope you will choose us next time you are in town. More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

Maybe coming from some decidedly basic lodgings the night before made this place a little better but we found exactly what we were looking for in a nice, comfortable, modern room in a quiet downtown location. Front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating in getting us into the room before the scheduled check-in time and the room was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Hello 'Value" Thanks for your time in reviewing our property. Glad that we were an upgrade and that we had the right location for your! Hope to see you soon. More 

Milford, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

we think the manager was on crack the rooms were ok the bed was big there were people camping out on the stairs woke up at 8 am to rather loud music didnt sleep well because i was worried about my jeep parked outside my door so i was up looking out the window every few hrs good price but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Hello 'Did I"- Since you asked the question- You did not really stay at our hotel. We would love to have you stay with us to see the difference! More 

Cedar City, Utah, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

I will try to keep this short- issues with heating cooling system-wouldn't cool below 78 degrees! Son found a sock that wasn't ours! 2 large carpet stains. Carpet raveling by bathroom. Door had deep gouges by lock which was creepy. Found a newspaper sticking out between the mattress and the headboard that was from May-We stayed here at the end... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review

I am very sorry for the problems with your stay. We should have corrected the problems before you were checked in. We have given you a full refund through the partner you booked through. More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

The room was very nice, two queen beds. The hotel lobby and breakfast area upstairs were very nicely appointed, I was surprised and didn't expect it after staying at a Quality Inn the night before in CA. The breakfast was very good, standard fare. There was enough seating for everyone at breakfast, some hotels do not have enough seating. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mark R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review

HI! Thanks for the awesome review. Sorry we got the wrong room and woke you. Hope you will stay again! More 

Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Super comfy beds! Was very pleased with our stay. Breakfast was a nice touch. Didn't have any issues with check in or check out. Overall, it was a very good experience and I'd stay there again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Hi 'Great Stay'- Thanks for the awesome review. We hope to see you soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question