We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown

176 West 600th South Street, I-15/80 at Exit 310, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown
Add Photo

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    9
    6
    19
    9
    21
See reviews for
8
19
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (64)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My teenage son and I stayed at this Motel 6 for almost the entire month of May, 2015 (a local church paid for us to stay there until we had an apartment). The room was bright and clean and the beds and pillows were comfy. We enjoyed the tv as we typically don't have cable at home. The awful part... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Sharon, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest, and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the noise concerns you describe. Safety and security are high priorities within Motel 6 standards for quality and we regret you felt differently during your visit. Motel 6 standards for quality... More 

Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

The room was very tired looking and had a strong smell of smoke. We opened the door for a couple of hours. Beds were okay but did give you a feeling of good hygiene. Reasonable price for major city Wifi extra but we were given a free pass |could not change room as hotel fully booked

Was this review helpful? Yes
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review

Stephen, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Our staff aims to provide the highest level of hospitality to our guests through our customer service, but with your experience we have fallen short and would like to apologize for the service concerns you described. We do accommodate our smoking guests with assigned smoking rooms and are sorry... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

The sheets are dirty, full of spots. The blankets are full of holes made by cigarettes. The floor is dirty. In the beds and shower we find hair of other people. There are many dirty spots on the walls. The atmosphere is unpleasant, it doesn't feel safe.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable visit and apologize for any failure in following through on that commitment during your recent stay. We strive to provide a clean, comfortable stay and are disappointed your visit was unsatisfactory due to the housekeeping concerns you describe. Safety and security are high priorities... More 

croydon, england
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015 via mobile

I am here as I write this. It's 5.39am and not slept yet due to the noise. Not only that the bed is uncomfortable as are the pillows. Bedding is like paper. As are the walls. You can hear EVERYTHING from the other rooms. Won't be using Mobil 6 again on this trip. Only $54 for the night for 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review

Kelly, Thank you for sharing your post. Motel 6 standards for quality rest on our promise to offer the lowest price of any national chain by delivering the essential elements of a comfortable room for a satisfying stay, for this reason we apologize for the disappointment you describe with the expectations of amenities. We strive to provide a comfortable night's... More 

Morris, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

Nice rooms. Left CA. and stopped for the night. Both hubby and myself had to show id when renting a room. Nice friendly staff and the rooms were clean and updated. Love the new updated rooms. When we got up in the morning there was 5 inches of snow on our car ( we are snowbirds from Illinois ) making... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winslow, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Non-smoking room smelled like a nasty smelling deodorizer trying to hide cigarette smell. The toilet was leaking and the sink took minutes, not seconds to drain. They said because we left our pet in the room it was against their policy (first I heard of it) so they refused to let us pay for additional nights. This place stinks for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review

Jo, Thank you for sharing your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. We do accommodate our smoking guests with assigned smoking rooms and are sorry you experienced dissatisfaction as a result of this policy. We strive to deliver a great guest experience,... More 

Rock Springs, Wyoming
Level Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

The good: It is in a great location downtown right off the highway close to restaurants Starbucks stores. And the price is certainly right compared to other SLC hotels. Free secure parking. The bad: But, still overall it was an unpleasant experience. Walls and windows are very thin so you hear EVERYTHING. I heard the guy coughing in the next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Perry, Utah
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

To keep it short. The staff was extremely rude and treated me like an idiot just because my European credit card did not work in their system. I had to go back in line and then pay cash. I was treated like I got no money. Room not the cleanest and the neighborhood felt unsafe.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

Another bad experience at motel 6 they room was filthy the pillows yellow the mattress stained and the price not good for what you get. Tom Bodtet should leave the lights out at this hotel then you would not see how nasty the bed you are sleeping in is. As far as being the lowest price hotel chain in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

When no other room is available the Motel 6 is always available. Limited services, but cheap. You get what you pay for and the hotel is centrally located and an easy walk to everything down town. Simple easy and low cost. Salt Lake City hotels fluctuate a lot Motel 6 is constant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay