We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown

176 West 600th South Street, I-15/80 at Exit 310, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    9
    6
    20
    11
    25
See reviews for
10
20
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (71)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I knew I was in trouble when the shuttle dropped me off and I could see homeless milling around outside the fence surrounding the hotel. I verified that my room was indeed non-smoking. But when I entered it, there was a stale but strong smell of cigarettes. There even was an ashtray in the room, although it had the "no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had not stayed at a Motel 6 or other budget motel for years, but reserved this for one night with my family en route back to California from Southwest road trip, in part to save money and in part because almost nothing else was available due to a massive conference in SLC. Pros: convenient location (long but pleasant walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the odor concern you describe. Please know that the conditions you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality and we apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Our standards for quality rest on the... More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here from Thursday to Sunday during Pioneer Days, as the saying goes you get what you pay for. The staff was very friendly, location is great, and well the price is right those are all the positive. We had a non smoking room but it smelled like smoke, the room was kind of clean, and the pillows were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We sincerely apologize for your unpleasant stay due to the inconveniences you experienced. We invite you to contact our Guest Relations department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future. More 

Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

My daughter and I made reservations for Friday - Monday. To make a long story short... Check in- We had a check in at 3pm. We arrived about an hour early. The front desk clerk was very rude, and the room was not ready. We finally were checked in approximately 4pm. The room- the room was dirty. In a non-smoking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. Please know that the conditions you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality, and we apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Motel 6... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

When I first checked in, I was glad to see it was a very clean Motel 6, sometimes is just a hit or miss with a 6. First night stay was comfortable, small but quiet. All of a sudden I was stardled with someone knocking really hard on the door saying I was late paying my next day stay.... ok... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your concerns. Please know the service issues you describe are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. Our staff aims to provide the highest level of hospitality to our guests through our customer service, but with your experience we have fallen short and would like to apologize for the service... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

I've stayed in this Motel 6 twice because it's inexpensive and in a very convenient location at the southern edge of downtown. Both times, the room was clean, although the outside areas could get more attention. For some reason, both times I've stayed here, it seemed like there were an inordinate number of smokers as guests...leaving their butts in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

My teenage son and I stayed at this Motel 6 for almost the entire month of May, 2015 (a local church paid for us to stay there until we had an apartment). The room was bright and clean and the beds and pillows were comfy. We enjoyed the tv as we typically don't have cable at home. The awful part... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Sharon, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest, and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the noise concerns you describe. Safety and security are high priorities within Motel 6 standards for quality and we regret you felt differently during your visit. Motel 6 standards for quality... More 

Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

The room was very tired looking and had a strong smell of smoke. We opened the door for a couple of hours. Beds were okay but did give you a feeling of good hygiene. Reasonable price for major city Wifi extra but we were given a free pass |could not change room as hotel fully booked

Was this review helpful? Yes
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review

Stephen, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Our staff aims to provide the highest level of hospitality to our guests through our customer service, but with your experience we have fallen short and would like to apologize for the service concerns you described. We do accommodate our smoking guests with assigned smoking rooms and are sorry... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

The sheets are dirty, full of spots. The blankets are full of holes made by cigarettes. The floor is dirty. In the beds and shower we find hair of other people. There are many dirty spots on the walls. The atmosphere is unpleasant, it doesn't feel safe.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable visit and apologize for any failure in following through on that commitment during your recent stay. We strive to provide a clean, comfortable stay and are disappointed your visit was unsatisfactory due to the housekeeping concerns you describe. Safety and security are high priorities... More 

croydon, england
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015 via mobile

I am here as I write this. It's 5.39am and not slept yet due to the noise. Not only that the bed is uncomfortable as are the pillows. Bedding is like paper. As are the walls. You can hear EVERYTHING from the other rooms. Won't be using Mobil 6 again on this trip. Only $54 for the night for 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review

Kelly, Thank you for sharing your post. Motel 6 standards for quality rest on our promise to offer the lowest price of any national chain by delivering the essential elements of a comfortable room for a satisfying stay, for this reason we apologize for the disappointment you describe with the expectations of amenities. We strive to provide a comfortable night's... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Metropolitan Inn
Metropolitan Inn
#47 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#44 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
1.1 mi away
North Temple Inn
North Temple Inn
#48 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Baymont Inn and Suites Murray/Salt Lake City
Baymont Inn and Suites Murray/Sa...
#56 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown
Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtow...
#51 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramada Limited Salt Lake City
Ramada Limited Salt Lake City
#49 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay