We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lissenung Island Resort

Certificate of Excellence
P.O. Box 536, Kavieng 631, Papua New Guinea
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lissenung Island Resort
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Lissenung Island Resort
Lissenung Island Resort
Lissenung Island Resort
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    14
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
30
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (62)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Yes, the diving is tremendous. But remember, this is PNG. Getting there isn't easy - hardcore divers are accostumed to it. Plus, getting some modern conveniences often taken for granted, like wi-fi, drugstores, real cheeses (Kraft and Cheddar don't count) is not possible. But the staff will make the most to accommodate your preferences, and in fact they serve the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kincumber, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a place to go.the resort could Do ten times better with new owners.Ange the owner has totally no idea how to run a dive operation at all and should not be in business .this resort had the worst Condition compressor with bad air , engines that did not go half in the shed in pieces.just such a shame and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Our small group of divers stayed for a week in January. Superlatives fail me. Every single aspect was outstanding. Left all the cares of the modern world behind and enjoyed the spectacular diving. The house reef is worth doing everyday and also as a night dive. Ange was very helpful and a great host, the dive staff were outstanding and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Lissenung Island Resort has been primarily a diving destination but in the past 3 or 4 years, it has partnered with the Surf Travel Company to offer a great 'Off-season' remote surf destination. I had a magic week in December last (2014) with good waves, a great guide (Simon), excellent accommodation and service, good food and beer and good times... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ange073, Owner at Lissenung Island Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your great comments, Ian! We loved having you here, and you were very lucky with the weather as it turned pretty horrible after New Years. Great waves again now, though. Simon still has your "Christmas present", the lovely wax ball. As you said, it's a long way from Perth, but hopefully, we'll see you up here again next... More 

Cairns, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Once again thanks for an awesome time. Rox and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and I'm pretty sure the rest of the club had a great time too. The diving was spectacular made all the more special by our dive guide Tame who was really in tune with what was happening and made excellent choice for our dives. The resort was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ange073, Owner at Lissenung Island Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your awesome comments, Bryan! We so loved having you guys all here, it was a great couple of weeks for us. We definitely miss the sundowner drinks on the beach with you!! Big hugs to you and Rox, and hopefully, we'll see you up here again some time. Take care, Ange More 

Cairns
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

If you are looking for a stunning remote Island with Top Diving and relaxation that would be you place. I was there for only 3 days, but from the second i stepped (barefoot) onto the soft sand i knew i will love this place. There are small details all around you that really add to the atmosphere. You will be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ange073, Owner at Lissenung Island Resort, responded to this review

HI Christian, Thanks so much for your lovely comments. We loved having you and Maren here, and I'm glad you got to experience the turtle egg relocation from Edmago. Keep an eye on Facebook, where I will update on the hatching of all of our nests. Hope to see you again soon! Cheers, Ange More 

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
64 hotel reviews
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

We were planning 3 weeks in New Guinea - 2 weeks in rabaul Kokapo area and wanted a nice place to go somewhere else for snorkelling and diving We chose lissenung over kimbe because of reviews and thought it would be not as busy as Kimbe The island is in a stunning area of natural beauty We were disappointed in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Ange073, Owner at Lissenung Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Chris, I'm not really sure how to reply to this feedback. I would have thought that after 45 e-mails back and forth, as well as perusing our website, you would have had a good idea of what to expect at Lissenung. I'm sorry you were disappointed. Regards, Ange More 

Cairns, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

I stayed at Lissenung for 10 days with a group from our local dive club in Cairns. Everyone had a great time on this little island where each bungalow had its own water access. The rooms are neat and tidy with plenty of natural ventilation and a ceiling fan (no aircon). The windows are insect screened and there is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ange073, Owner at Lissenung Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Eden, Thanks so much for your lovely comments. We all loved having you guys here, and Malcolm is on his way back for the first 2 med students. Hopefully, we'll see you guys back up here one day! Cheers, Ange More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

I didn't actually stay at this resort, but I went on a 2-tank dive with them. I found the staff and owners to be extremely accommodating and friendly, and the diving was top-notch. The gear was in surprisingly good condition. The boats are definitely "island style" but c'mon, you're in PNG, what do you expect?? Although I didn't stay there,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ange073, Owner at Lissenung Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Jeremy, Thanks heaps for the great feedback. It was great to meet all of you guys, and I hope the rest of your sailing trip goes smoothly. You have to convince the boss to come back, and stay a bit longer!! Nozaki still wishes she could have stowed away on board.... Say Hi to everyone, Ange More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Absolutely stunning place run by incredibly friendly place - both Dietmar and Ange and all the staff. The bungalows were amazing, with little touches like fresh fangipani flowers on the bed, making the comfy beds, soft, fluffy towels, private outdoor deck and freshly baked cookies all the more special. Given it's a small island and the number of people allowed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lissenung010, Owner at Lissenung Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Jennifer, we're happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay here at Lissenung. It's a shame that you were stuck in Wewak and your stay was cut short. You just have to visit us again on your next trip to PNG! All the best, Dietmar More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

133 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (114)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Near Lissenung Island Resort

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities