We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lissenung Island Resort

2.0 of 5 P.O. Box 536, Kavieng 631, Papua New Guinea
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lissenung Island Resort
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Lissenung Island Resort
Lissenung Island Resort
Lissenung Island Resort
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    13
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
30
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (60)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Our small group of divers stayed for a week in January. Superlatives fail me. Every single aspect was outstanding. Left all the cares of the modern world behind and enjoyed the spectacular diving. The house reef is worth doing everyday and also as a night dive. Ange was very helpful and a great host, the dive staff were outstanding and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Lissenung Island Resort has been primarily a diving destination but in the past 3 or 4 years, it has partnered with the Surf Travel Company to offer a great 'Off-season' remote surf destination. I had a magic week in December last (2014) with good waves, a great guide (Simon), excellent accommodation and service, good food and beer and good times... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ange073, Owner at Lissenung Island Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your great comments, Ian! We loved having you here, and you were very lucky with the weather as it turned pretty horrible after New Years. Great waves again now, though. Simon still has your "Christmas present", the lovely wax ball. As you said, it's a long way from Perth, but hopefully, we'll see you up here again next... More 

Cairns, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Once again thanks for an awesome time. Rox and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and I'm pretty sure the rest of the club had a great time too. The diving was spectacular made all the more special by our dive guide Tame who was really in tune with what was happening and made excellent choice for our dives. The resort was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ange073, Owner at Lissenung Island Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your awesome comments, Bryan! We so loved having you guys all here, it was a great couple of weeks for us. We definitely miss the sundowner drinks on the beach with you!! Big hugs to you and Rox, and hopefully, we'll see you up here again some time. Take care, Ange More 

Cairns
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

If you are looking for a stunning remote Island with Top Diving and relaxation that would be you place. I was there for only 3 days, but from the second i stepped (barefoot) onto the soft sand i knew i will love this place. There are small details all around you that really add to the atmosphere. You will be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ange073, Owner at Lissenung Island Resort, responded to this review

HI Christian, Thanks so much for your lovely comments. We loved having you and Maren here, and I'm glad you got to experience the turtle egg relocation from Edmago. Keep an eye on Facebook, where I will update on the hatching of all of our nests. Hope to see you again soon! Cheers, Ange More 

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
64 hotel reviews
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

We were planning 3 weeks in New Guinea - 2 weeks in rabaul Kokapo area and wanted a nice place to go somewhere else for snorkelling and diving We chose lissenung over kimbe because of reviews and thought it would be not as busy as Kimbe The island is in a stunning area of natural beauty We were disappointed in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ange073, Owner at Lissenung Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Chris, I'm not really sure how to reply to this feedback. I would have thought that after 45 e-mails back and forth, as well as perusing our website, you would have had a good idea of what to expect at Lissenung. I'm sorry you were disappointed. Regards, Ange More 

Cairns, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

I stayed at Lissenung for 10 days with a group from our local dive club in Cairns. Everyone had a great time on this little island where each bungalow had its own water access. The rooms are neat and tidy with plenty of natural ventilation and a ceiling fan (no aircon). The windows are insect screened and there is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ange073, Owner at Lissenung Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Eden, Thanks so much for your lovely comments. We all loved having you guys here, and Malcolm is on his way back for the first 2 med students. Hopefully, we'll see you guys back up here one day! Cheers, Ange More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

I didn't actually stay at this resort, but I went on a 2-tank dive with them. I found the staff and owners to be extremely accommodating and friendly, and the diving was top-notch. The gear was in surprisingly good condition. The boats are definitely "island style" but c'mon, you're in PNG, what do you expect?? Although I didn't stay there,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ange073, Owner at Lissenung Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Jeremy, Thanks heaps for the great feedback. It was great to meet all of you guys, and I hope the rest of your sailing trip goes smoothly. You have to convince the boss to come back, and stay a bit longer!! Nozaki still wishes she could have stowed away on board.... Say Hi to everyone, Ange More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Absolutely stunning place run by incredibly friendly place - both Dietmar and Ange and all the staff. The bungalows were amazing, with little touches like fresh fangipani flowers on the bed, making the comfy beds, soft, fluffy towels, private outdoor deck and freshly baked cookies all the more special. Given it's a small island and the number of people allowed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lissenung010, Owner at Lissenung Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Jennifer, we're happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay here at Lissenung. It's a shame that you were stuck in Wewak and your stay was cut short. You just have to visit us again on your next trip to PNG! All the best, Dietmar More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Super resort on an idyllic tropical island. Palms, white sand beaches, dawns & sunsets. Very nice rooms well separated for privacy & well fitted out. Friendly staff and superb diving. Brilliant house reef for a complimentary afternoon dive. Boats, gear and guides very good indeed. I visited for a week and hope to return with the whole family one day!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lissenung010, Owner at Lissenung Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Jonathan, thanks for the nice review. Happy to see that you have enjoyed the diving, but we knew that already since we couldn't keep you away from our House Reef ;) We look forward having you and your family up here again sometimes soon. Cheers, Dietmar More 

Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Lissenung is a beautifully laid out resort, with warm and friendly staff. The bungalows are well designed with fans and mosquito nets. Each bungalow is set away from its neighbour affording it privacy and tranquility. The meals were good and well portioned - guests were always asked if they wanted more to ensure no one went hungry. Breakfast was large:... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lissenung010, Owner at Lissenung Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Sally, Glad to see that you have enjoyed your short break away from Port Moresby and we hope you can make it back here one day soon. All the best, Dietmar More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Lissenung Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lissenung Island Resort

Address: P.O. Box 536, Kavieng 631, Papua New Guinea
Location: Papua New Guinea > Islands Region > Kavieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lissenung Island Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Lissenung Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lissenung Island Hotel Kavieng
Lissenung Island Resort Papua New Guinea/Kavieng

130 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (114)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Near Lissenung Island Resort

Top-rated Attractions Nearby