We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glow Worm Cottages

27 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Glow Worm Cottages
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
remmiemartin83 Surfers Paradise, Australia
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    52
    37
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
58
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (151)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed here for around 2 months & had an awesome time! The management (Jo) & the staff (Primrose,Heidi,Patrick & Si) were all amazing! The hostel is a lovely cosy place with clean rooms & comfy beds. Theres also a free hot-tub, wifi, breakfast & soup. Thanks for making my stay in Franz an unforgettable one guys!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at glow worm cottages for two nights. We had a lovely querky room with own little bathroom and cooking facilities. Free breakfasts and dinners (soups) were delicious. The staff were super friendly and helpful and invited us to celebrate St patrick's day with them. We met awesome people from around the globe. Staying at Glow Worm was just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris P, Manager at Glow Worm Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Lily S, Thank you for taking the time to review Glow Worm, It is always a pleasure to read a review such as your where you have enjoyed your stay and the company of the staff. I wish you the best of luck for the rest of your travels. Thanks Chris Remember for the best deals always book direct. More 

london
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
83 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Glow Worm Cottages is a hostel. We had a double room in a single storey building which also had a dorm room with 3x bunk beds and another double room. There was one toilet and two separate showers for all to use. There were further rooms in another building. Our room was very basic but clean. No tea/ coffee facilities... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris P, Manager at Glow Worm Cottages, responded to this review

Hi L_K1509 thank you for taking the time to review Glow Worm. You are right we do currently have two non New Zealand staff who are working for us over the summer, I am glad that they made a good impression. I hope that you enjoyed your time in Franz Josef. Thanks Chris Remember for the best deals always book... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in a 5 bed room with friends. Staff were friendly and helpful when we arrived. The room was more like a motel room than hostel which was nice, had a little kitchen area with sink, kettle, fridge, microwave etc, plus an en suite toilet and shower. Handtowels provided, but bring your own shower towel. Just loved the whole... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris P, Manager at Glow Worm Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Lizzy G, Thank you for taking the time to review Glow Worm. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked your room and all the free extras that we provide. I hope you and your friends enjoy the rest of trip. Thanks Chris, Remember for the best deals always book direct. More 

Northwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Franz Joseph was packed and we hadn't booked ahead. We were very lucky to get a private room and it happened to be at the Glow Worm. The staff were very friendly. The room was very well equipped. You could have prepared meals and eaten in your room, but soup was provided from the communal kitchen in the evening and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris P, Manager at Glow Worm Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Funseekers1, Thank you for taking the time to review Glow Worm. I am pleased to hear that you enjoy with us and we able to take advantage of the free breakfast and soup that we offer. I hope that you enjoy the rest of your time in Aotearoa. Thanks Chris. Remember for the best deals always book direct. More 

Bendigo, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had read about this place on trip advisor and decided to give it a go. We had been booked into upmarket accommodation for most of our NZ trip but decided to give this backpacker/motel a try for an overnight experience and we weren't disappointed. There was free wifi in the communal areas, free soup at 6pm and free breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris P, Manager at Glow Worm Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Tim L, Thank you for taking the time o review Glow Worm, I pleased that your enjoy your stay and liked our quirky style and were also able to enjoy the breakfast, soup and the spa pool. I hope that you enjoy the rest of your travels. Thanks Chris Remember for the best deals always book direct. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in glow worm cottages for 1 night recently and wished we had stayed longer. The location is amazing, especially when waking up to views of the glacier and being in the heart of Franz Joseph town. The hostel itself was cute with a hot tub, large communal area and free breakfast. We stayed in a 4 person room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris P, Manager at Glow Worm Cottages, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review Glow Worm it is a pleasure to read a review such as yours. I am glad that you had such a wonderful stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. Thanks Chris Remember for the best deals always book direct. More 

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

The place is lovely, your own little cottage with everythiung you could possibly want an dmore in your room: kettle, fridge, toaster, TV, plates, cutlery, cups, etc. Beds are comfy the room is decorated with some reproduction of old photographs of people travelling to the glaciers many moons ago, also got some tools, sledge, etc above the bathroom cubicle whcih... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris P, Manager at Glow Worm Cottages, responded to this review

Hi didgit74, thank you for taking the time to review Glow Worm. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are aware of the problem that the hot tub causes the parking and will be moving the hot tub later this year to make the parking easier. I hope that you enjoy the rest of your travels.... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

We stayed here 1x night in a motel unit. The room was large and clean and came with basic kitchen essentials (hot plate, kettle, fridge) and a TV with 2x great movie channels (a great break from the road). Right next to the Kiwi sanctuary and parallel to the main road with restaurants and shops very close by. Staff were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris P, Manager at Glow Worm Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Adela G, thank you for taking the time to review Glow Worm I am happy to hear that your enjoyed your stay and liked your room. I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Thanks Chris Remember for the best deals always book direct More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Filthy, unless u really really really absolutely have to stay here - don't! Free soup etc - not worth the health risk. Shambles of an ensuite - water saturates the whole room. Putrid stench from the carpets. Disgustingly dirty.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris P, Manager at Glow Worm Cottages, responded to this review

Hi SJConway, Well this is a bit of an unfair and inaccurate review, as you can see from the other reviews we have received we are often praised on our cleanliness. I also wonder whether or not at any stage during your stay did you mention anything to a member of staff about your dissatisfaction or did you just wait... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question