We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA Franz Josef

2-4 Cron Street | PO Box 12, Franz Josef Glacier, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand (Formerly Franz Josef Glacier YHA)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
YHA Franz Josef
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    55
    95
    53
    18
    4
See reviews for
16
81
56
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (225)
  • Mar-May only
    (49)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (57)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (74)
All months
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

My wife and I have stayed at Hostels all around New Zealand and Europe, and this was the worst we have ever been in. It's not even close. We sprung for a private ensuite room. When we got in the room, we wanted to plop down on the bed to rest from our long bus trip. We flipped the covers,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHANZ, Manager at YHA Franz Josef, responded to this review

Dear Dylan I can’t express how disappointed and embarrassed we are that this has happened and I can assure you this is an absolute one off incident! Our standard procedure is to clean and wash our linen after every checkout. In response to your review I have modified our room inspection procedures to make sure our cleaning work is thorough... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

Above average as far as hostels go. The kitchen area was extremely well equipped, they have tons of everything in order to accommodate many at a time. We stayed in a private room and were pleasantly surprised by the size or the room and ensuite bathroom; both of which were clean. A much more relaxed atmosphere than most hostels as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

This hostel had such a chilled out and relaxed vibe. The staff were really cool with loads of local knowledge of where to go etc to make the most of your time. There was a fire in the living room and heaters in all the rooms for those winter nights as well as free veg soup at night and breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

I was really really happy with this hostel and a bit sad to leave! Me and friend stayed for quite a long time in a 4 bed room. The best things about the hostel were the free sauna, soup and breakfast :) The staff was friendly and helpful and made us enjoy our time there. The area is a good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

I stayed in one of the family rooms with my two friends. We only booked one night but we were enjoying Franz Josef so much that we wanted to stay another day and they were able to book us for another night. They have free wifi which works really well. We are all teachers and we were able to go... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

I stayed in a double room with ensuite for two nights and it was very comfortable. The room was warm during the cold winter nights. The only small problem was that the walls are too thin; could hear the guests from next door. The kitchen could be a bit cleaner but it wasn't the worst I've seen. The staff are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

Stayed here as a cheaper alternative to the accommodation provided by kiwi experience. This is a nice clean and quite hostel, which had free soup which is a bonus! Also we had 2 pillows each!! Only downside was that there was an issue with the hot water while we were there, but would still stay here again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015

I stayed here for three nights, the staff were friendly, the rooms were clean. The atmosphere was great. The hostel is very close to the shops and the visitor information center. The bus stops right in front of the hostel. Overall apart from the rain, I enjoyed my stay here and recommend staying here if looking for budget accommodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scottish Borders, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

As I am driving so much I need a good night's sleep and one way is to book a room for yourself. This hostel gave me a really nice double room with kettle, good coffee and cafetiere - a mini hotel :-) There is a musty smell, however, as if the room has not been aired. On the other hand,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
YHANZ, Manager at YHA Franz Josef, responded to this review

Hi Pippa, Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback. It’s good to hear you enjoyed your private room. And you’re right about our rainforest environment! When we’ve had a lot of rain the air can get a bit stale at times. That’s why we’re in the process of installing a ventilation system that will circulate fresh air... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

We've stayed in many YHAs and IHs around the world and this was one of the worst. The bedrooms were ok but the kitchen was very filthy and the bathrooms were filthy and constantly wet. The staff obviously didn't do any checks throughout the night or day as nothing changed over the two nights we were there. Definitely would not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
YHANZ, Manager at YHA Franz Josef, responded to this review

Hi Anne G, Thanks for your feedback. It’s feedback like yours that helps us improve! I’m sorry to hear you didn’t fully enjoy your stay. As you know, not all travellers clean up after themselves in the common areas. We can’t avoid that but, in response to your feedback, we have added more cleaning shifts in the kitchen and bathrooms... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franz Josef
0.4 mi away
Aspen Court Motel Franz Josef
Aspen Court Motel Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
5.0 of 5 stars 429 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#5 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sir Cedrics Chateau Franz Backpacker and Motel
0.3 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#5 of 7 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 stars 891 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sir Cedrics Glow Worm Flashpacker Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay