We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA Franz Josef

2-4 Cron Street | PO Box 12, Franz Josef Glacier, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand (Formerly Franz Josef Glacier YHA)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
YHA Franz Josef
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
YHA Franz Josef
Add Photo Write a Review

217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    52
    92
    52
    18
    3
See reviews for
16
78
54
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (217)
  • Mar-May only
    (49)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (74)
All months
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in a double room with ensuite for two nights and it was very comfortable. The room was warm during the cold winter nights. The only small problem was that the walls are too thin; could hear the guests from next door. The kitchen could be a bit cleaner but it wasn't the worst I've seen. The staff are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here as a cheaper alternative to the accommodation provided by kiwi experience. This is a nice clean and quite hostel, which had free soup which is a bonus! Also we had 2 pillows each!! Only downside was that there was an issue with the hot water while we were there, but would still stay here again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for three nights, the staff were friendly, the rooms were clean. The atmosphere was great. The hostel is very close to the shops and the visitor information center. The bus stops right in front of the hostel. Overall apart from the rain, I enjoyed my stay here and recommend staying here if looking for budget accommodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scottish Borders, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

As I am driving so much I need a good night's sleep and one way is to book a room for yourself. This hostel gave me a really nice double room with kettle, good coffee and cafetiere - a mini hotel :-) There is a musty smell, however, as if the room has not been aired. On the other hand,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
YHANZ, Manager at YHA Franz Josef, responded to this review

Hi Pippa, Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback. It’s good to hear you enjoyed your private room. And you’re right about our rainforest environment! When we’ve had a lot of rain the air can get a bit stale at times. That’s why we’re in the process of installing a ventilation system that will circulate fresh air... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

We've stayed in many YHAs and IHs around the world and this was one of the worst. The bedrooms were ok but the kitchen was very filthy and the bathrooms were filthy and constantly wet. The staff obviously didn't do any checks throughout the night or day as nothing changed over the two nights we were there. Definitely would not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
YHANZ, Manager at YHA Franz Josef, responded to this review

Hi Anne G, Thanks for your feedback. It’s feedback like yours that helps us improve! I’m sorry to hear you didn’t fully enjoy your stay. As you know, not all travellers clean up after themselves in the common areas. We can’t avoid that but, in response to your feedback, we have added more cleaning shifts in the kitchen and bathrooms... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

The girl at the front desk was really nice and would help us with bookings of activities, but the rest of the hostel was disappointing. Even after "cleaning" the tables in the dining room and the kitchen were still dirty and the bathrooms were not very clean as well....we have seen much better hostels in New Zealand!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

We stayed for one night and our private room was very basic and no frills. Upon arrival it looked like one of the guests was summoned to clean, the irony was that he ponged of BO so it did call to question me on whether he cleaned our room. If the policy is to use guests as cleaners then I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

Get a good nights sleep and a decent shower with a fluffy white towel instead of your microfibre one ($1nz for a towel upgrade well worth it), hair drier provided. Spacious dorm with good mattresses and clean sheets, good price. This hostel has a very relaxed vibe, perfect if you plan on getting some reading done and a good nights... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

The highlight is the kitchen, quite large and well stocked. The town is short on budget eating options so this is good. There is a small supermarket in the town to stock up. The rooms are fine, you get free wifi and you can drink you own alcohol. The town is so small any location is good, including this one.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

This place is too crowded for my liking. Basic facilities are given, but it dosen't really give a cosy and homely ambience.The pantry area is very crowded during peak periods. I pretty much like the view from our room though, seems like a garden view. The shower rooms are limited on each floor, may need to wait for some time.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay