We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA Franz Josef

2-4 Cron Street | PO Box 12, Franz Josef Glacier, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand (Formerly Franz Josef Glacier YHA)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
YHA Franz Josef
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
YHA Franz Josef
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    90
    51
    18
    3
See reviews for
16
77
52
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (213)
  • Mar-May only
    (49)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (45)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (74)
All months
UK
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
40 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As I am driving so much I need a good night's sleep and one way is to book a room for yourself. This hostel gave me a really nice double room with kettle, good coffee and cafetiere - a mini hotel :-) There is a musty smell, however, as if the room has not been aired. On the other hand,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHANZ, Manager at YHA Franz Josef, responded to this review

Hi Pippa, Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback. It’s good to hear you enjoyed your private room. And you’re right about our rainforest environment! When we’ve had a lot of rain the air can get a bit stale at times. That’s why we’re in the process of installing a ventilation system that will circulate fresh air... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

We've stayed in many YHAs and IHs around the world and this was one of the worst. The bedrooms were ok but the kitchen was very filthy and the bathrooms were filthy and constantly wet. The staff obviously didn't do any checks throughout the night or day as nothing changed over the two nights we were there. Definitely would not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHANZ, Manager at YHA Franz Josef, responded to this review

Hi Anne G, Thanks for your feedback. It’s feedback like yours that helps us improve! I’m sorry to hear you didn’t fully enjoy your stay. As you know, not all travellers clean up after themselves in the common areas. We can’t avoid that but, in response to your feedback, we have added more cleaning shifts in the kitchen and bathrooms... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

The girl at the front desk was really nice and would help us with bookings of activities, but the rest of the hostel was disappointing. Even after "cleaning" the tables in the dining room and the kitchen were still dirty and the bathrooms were not very clean as well....we have seen much better hostels in New Zealand!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

We stayed for one night and our private room was very basic and no frills. Upon arrival it looked like one of the guests was summoned to clean, the irony was that he ponged of BO so it did call to question me on whether he cleaned our room. If the policy is to use guests as cleaners then I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

Get a good nights sleep and a decent shower with a fluffy white towel instead of your microfibre one ($1nz for a towel upgrade well worth it), hair drier provided. Spacious dorm with good mattresses and clean sheets, good price. This hostel has a very relaxed vibe, perfect if you plan on getting some reading done and a good nights... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

The highlight is the kitchen, quite large and well stocked. The town is short on budget eating options so this is good. There is a small supermarket in the town to stock up. The rooms are fine, you get free wifi and you can drink you own alcohol. The town is so small any location is good, including this one.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

This place is too crowded for my liking. Basic facilities are given, but it dosen't really give a cosy and homely ambience.The pantry area is very crowded during peak periods. I pretty much like the view from our room though, seems like a garden view. The shower rooms are limited on each floor, may need to wait for some time.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Fantastic Hostel which offers dorms and private rooms. Staff where very helpful and assisted with moving rooms when we requested a quiter room away from bathrooms. Only down side would be large ratio of bathrooms to boarders. There are a large demographic of campers, families, older folk and young backpackers This facility hosts a large kitchen and facilities and is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Vile, is the word I would use to describe the room on check in. It was very clear from the toe nails, old contact lens and dead flies littering the floor that the room had not been properly cleaned in quite some time. The room was also rather damp, with the old dehumidifier doing little to better the problem. For... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

We stayed here with our grandson (12) in April 2014. Our room, all facilities and location were great. However it was during and after the severe storm related to the tropical cyclone Ita that the hostel proved to be the best possible choice because almost nowhere else had generators. The hostel did have Generators that kept the living areas comfortable,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay