We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Franz Alpine Retreat

Certificate of Excellence
2 Donovan Drive | State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Franz Alpine Retreat
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    140
    57
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
77
87
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (218)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (39)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (80)
All months
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had the end chalet. I think this was a bonus because the view out the window was uninterrupted. It had two bedrooms with a large loungeroom, full kitchen, verandah out the front and very comfy bed. It was very clean, modern with everything you could want to spend a day or two in the area. We only had one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MelO776, General Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed the Room we choose for you. It does have a lovely view of the snow capped mountains and makes you feel very relaxed. We hope you enjoy the remainder of your holiday in NZ Kind Regards Mel & Nigel More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We expected very simple and was very surprised. The 2 bedroom chalet was perfect for what we wanted (a base) the owners were great. We were jumping late due to weather and this wasn't a problem. It is just out of town but they can sort a pick up for u to go to town at night and the bars... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelO776, General Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take the Electric Blankets off during summer to protect them but make sure they are on for the guests over Winter. Glad that you enjoyed your meals out and we look forward to accommodating you again in the future. Kind Regards Mel & Nigel More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were recommended this place by family who had stayed there before. Hosts very friendly and welcoming. Had a lovely two bedroom villa for two nights which was warm enough despite the cold temperatures outside. They had great recommendations for dinner and were able to give us a voucher for a discount on a helicopter trip up the glacier! unfortunately... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelO776, General Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is just as beautiful in the Winter as well as the Summer. Sorry you didnt get to enjoy the Helicopter, just means you will have to come back and see us again. Kind Regards Mel & Nigel More 

Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a great place- from the moment we arrived we knew we had found the perfect spot for what we were looking for.... Quiet, peacefull, clean, lovely chalets and all of this only 4 mins drive from town. The chalets were nice and warm on a cold wintery evening. We were also brought an amazing cooked breakfast the next morning-... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelO776, General Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We have just started offering Full Cooked Breakfast so glad that you liked them. We hope you enjoy your holiday and look forward to accommodating you in the future Kind Regards Mel & Nigel More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We found this place through a booking website and thought that we were getting a really good deal at the discounted price, to be fair it was what it was worth, certainly not full tariffs. The cottages are clean and well presented but pretty bland, just a little touch would make such a difference and being slightly out of town... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelO776, General Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are in the process of upgrading our rooms and find that the majority of our guests like being out of the township, and a 4 min drive is just still close enough to be able to enjoy the area without the noise and hussle of town. We hope you enjoy your remainder of time... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very well equiped cottages, real cozy with very good services. The owners are very nice persons and really caring. I recommend to stay here. We've enjoyed our stay here. The place is well maintained, seems relatively new. It is not far from franz josef city.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelO776, General Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a lovely spot to unwind and relax after travelling. Enjoy your remainder time in our beautiful country. Kind Regards Mel & Nigel More 

Copenhagen Region, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

Nice small house with two bedroom, good kitchen and bathroom. With a very good view of the mountain and the valley, a little away from Franz Josef, but absolute no problem Good service and advising of Franz Josef area and the small village

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelO776, General Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. It is very peaceful out here and in all seasons the views are wonderful and relaxing. Enjoy the remainder of your holiday. Kind Regards Mel & Nigel More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

2 bedrooms, a nice kitchen and living room, all you need. Beautiful surroundings. A small front deck where you can sit and enjoy a drink or two. But skip the offered breakfast and drive into the local supermarket and get what you need. A small drive into town but it's easy to get a taxi or use the shuttle service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelO776, General Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are currently in the process of updating the Breakfasts and offering Full cooked and Continental breakfasts now instead of just a light snack. Regards Mel & Nigel More 

berkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

Accommodation knows as JAGS...... Managers Mel and Nigel, whilst quite helpful on arrival with phone calls etc you could not help but notice the stale smell of cigarettes on Mel, which was not very pleasant. My husband also commented on an alcohol smell? Roomy, but Basic accommodation - Nowhere to hang clothes! Not even one coat hanger. No mirror or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelO776, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

We are most disturbed and utterly disappointed with your unfactual review. Firstly we did not smell of stale smoke. Nigel was doing a burn off prior to you checking in and for this we are sorry if this offended you. As Nigel has not drunk alcohol for over 10 years and Mel had just had a glass of wine with... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

I am writing this review after travelling as a family group of 3 adults on a package deal around the South Island. During 2 weeks we stayed in 7 hotels/resorts. Due to knowing only the total cost of the trip, I cannot comment on prices or value for money. This group of cottages is about 5-10 mins north of Franz... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MelO776, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and we are glad you enjoyed the peaceful of the countryside whilst only being 4 mins from town. Enjoy the remainder of your holiday. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.8 mi away
Aspen Court Motel Franz Josef
Aspen Court Motel Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
5.0 of 5 stars 428 reviews
2.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.0 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
2.0 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#5 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
#1 of 11 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay