We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Franz Josef hotels

The Terrace Motel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Cowan Street, Box 44, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save Saved
You added The Terrace Motel to your Saves list
The Terrace Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Bidd0 Rocky
  • Overview
  • Reviews (100)
  • Photos (38)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (11)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 2 rainy nights in August. The room was nice and warm, with a heater in the bathroom as well. The room was a great size, clean and welll-serviced with a kitchenette. The staff were very friendly and helpful with some great advice. They even came around at the end of a rainy day offering us some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights in July. It was cold and rainy at Franz Josef but our studio room was warm, clean and comfortable. The room was equipped with electric blankets, heaters and towel heater, tea/coffee facilities etc. Staff were really friendly and gave us tips for local attractions and food recommendations. Walking distance to the shops. Recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
new zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I booked online last minute, through the Agoda website whilst my husband was in Franz Josef and needed to spend a night there. Although I did not stay here myself, my husband said staff were friendly, welcoming. The rooms were really nice, clean and comfortable and very well priced - he said that his stay was much better than some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am glad your husband had a good stay and I hope you will be able to visit us one day. As you say I feel we do have a very good location, ideal after a long drive when you don't want to drive anymore but still want a quiet... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights so that my husband could do the heli-hike on the glacier. We stayed in the studio room with a view and it was spacious,clean and very well-equiped. I do appreciate a motel that gives you a coffee plunger and real coffee. The bathroom was modern and spacious with plenty of hot water and fluffy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review

Hi Anne Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you enjoyed the helihike. I hope you are able to stay with us again. We really do try to help people enjoy the area and keep the rooms to a high standard and so it is great to get comments like yours. I hope... More

Bern, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I travel around NZ with my wife and my two children. We choose this motel for the room facilities and the price (3 nights). The room was very nice and spacious and had everything that a family can ask for. Everytime they did the service, they left cookies and candies for my kids everytime they did the service! The very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I stayed in The Terrace with a group of friends and the experience was amazing, the service was excellent, front desk staff was very helpful and they gave us very helpful advices about where to go and what to do during our stay. The rooms were clean, spacious and very well equipped. I would definitely recommend this motel to other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whangaroa, New Zealand
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed here, five of us for 2 nights, it rained solidly the entire time so we spent a lot of time in the unit! Was comfortable with tv. The toilet broke and was leaking water all over the floor, and although we told the staff nothing seemed to get done about it, they gave us some towels to soak... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your comments, next time you return I hope there will be less rain. I recall your visit and am sorry there was a small amount of water at the back of the toilet. We did offer to call a plumber while you were staying however you said you would prefer for us to get a plumber... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Thank you, very much for this experience. Apartment was really nice, modern and tidy. We have checked some other motels in Franz Josef but this one was simply the best. We were provided with great services by front desk and will definitely come to to Terrace motel again. I can highly recommend this place to all other travelers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review

Hi Robert Thanks for your nice comments, I hope you can come back this way and stay again. People are always welcome to come in and look at room options but if you want certainty as the town can get very full at certain times of the year, book direct on our website for the best prices and avoid paying... More

Wellington, New Zealand
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

After a long drive from Arrowtown, this Motel did not live up to our expectations, it surpassed them! After a warm and helpful welcome, we were shown to the room which was spacious, clean and well equipped. We took the advice of the staff and took a walk (in the dark) up a nearby track to see the Glow worms.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I am glad you got to see the free glow worms, I never get bored by them. I hope you can stay with us again, with the fresh snow in the mountains the views are really wonderful at present. Book direct on our website for the best rates, if you are passing this way again. More

Singapore, Singapore
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My family of 7 stayed at Terrace Motel’s cottage for 1 night on 4 March 2014. The cottage was very spacious, clean and well-equipped. The motel was located approx. 100m off the main road, but was within walking distance to town, where the restaurants/offices for various attractions etc were located. The lady at the reception was very friendly and her... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review, I hope you were able to rest after your long drive and hopefully next time you can see the free glow worms. If you come back to Franz Josef, remember to book direct on our website for the best rates. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Terrace Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Terrace Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Terrace Motel

Address: 15 Cowan Street, Box 44, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Terrace Motel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Terrace Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (7)
Hotel & grounds (3)
Room/suite (1)
View from room (1)
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All management photos (32)
Hotel & grounds (5)
Room/suite (12)
View from room (1)
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
hotels in Franz Josef with
any amenities


Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the Centre of the Franz Josef Village, yet on a quiet street. The 4 star Terrace Motel offers views of snow capped mountains and the Croz Glacier from its grounds. Free Wi-Fi and free on-site parking are included.

 Next to reception is a quiet restaurant, it is also the closest Motel to Franz Josef's free Glow Worm Caves and Franz Josef Kiwi Bird Centre where guests can experience New Zealand's national bird up close. The motel boasts spacious ground floor accommodation with electric blankets and electric heating, 32-Inch flat-screen Televisions, tea/coffee making facilities and all en suite bathrooms, some feature a Spa Bath. Guests have a choice of studio's or spacious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments. Most rooms features stove tops and microwaves along with a dining area. All rooms are serviced daily. Guests have access to shared laundry and barbecue facilities with outside tables and chairs. The tour desk can organise a range of activities including discounted helicopter flights, hikes, kayaking, horse treks and glacier walks. ... more   less 
Number of rooms

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Terrace Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer