We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

10 Cottages

3.0 of 5 Graham Place, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Offers & Announcements
BEST PRICE - BOOK DIRECT
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
10 Cottages
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
10 Cottages
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    36
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
57
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (84)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were pleasantly surprised with these little cottages in the mountains. They're spacious, clean and they had full-kitchen amenities. The town centre and all restaurants are all within walking distance. The cottages were a different lodging experience than your normal hotel so it was a good place to stay while visiting the glaciers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I really glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope the rest of your holiday went well. We put a lot of time into the design of the Cottages to try and make them affordable but also different from normal hotels so I am really happy you liked this and... More

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I arrived after a long but wonderful drive from Christchurch and was made warmly welcomed by the receptionist, who gave me vouchers for a free drink at the at one of the local restaurants as well as god local information.The room / cottage was a good size and the selection of amenities adequate. The weather was cool but once I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and in particular that you took the time to see the glow worms, while they are only 3-5 minutes walk from the Cottages most people don’t take the time to go and see them. As they are free and very close personally I... More

Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Clean and warm - heater in lounge and bathroom. Microwave and sink etc. Comfortable beds. Wonderful mountain view. Very central for doing walks etc and then retreating from the rain and thunder for another cup of coffee!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Christine Thanks for taking the time to write a review, I am glad you appreciated the heater etc and got to see the Mountains. I hope you are able to make it back down here some point soon. Just for clarity most Cottages have a Mountain View but a couple don’t, when you book online etc you have the... More

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Stayed for two nights in this cozy cottage. Walking distance to everything, and well equipped with kitchenette, heater, electric blankets and tea/coffee facilities. Very clean and comfortable. When it's freezing outside, 10 cottages was a lovely place to come back to and relax at the end of the day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I hope the rest of your holiday went well. Regards Logan More

Chile
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

My husband and I arrived by bus from Wanaka, and were dropped off right in front of the hotel (Driver was George, very knowledgeable man regarding Franz Josef and Fox Glacier). We were immediately welcomed by the staff, who helped us with our luggage. They offered us some more spacious rooms, but in the end we went with the cottage... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tom S, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope the rest of your holiday went well. Unfortunately George left town 2 days ago and now drives a different bus route (out of Queenstown), as you say he provided a great service and is a a real loss, luckily he... More

Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Spacious room, but not enough heater. Luckily they have electric heat blanket. Cleanliness was slightly below average. Location is perfect. Within walking distance to the town center and glacier hot pools.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Lim Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The 10 Studio Cottages we offer are the second newest motel in Franz Josef but you stayed in our 2 bedroom house which we also offer to larger groups and families. I am very disappointed in ourselves that you did not find the house as clean as you... More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed for two nights. Asked if we wanted to pay $10 more a night for a bigger room but saw no reason to and glad we sticked with ours. Windows were open when we arrived so place was very very cold. We turned heater on immediately but after waiting for 2 hours it was still cold so asked for another... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your comments. I am sorry you were cold, the heaters in the rooms are larger than recommended for the room size and being relatively modern each cottage is well insulated and double glazed but as you say we do have spare heaters for anyone that feels the cold and all the beds have electric blankets on them.... More

Manila
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

The cottages is stand-alone part of a cluster of, you guessed it, 10 cottages. It's a short walk to the center (although Franz Josef is really small). It's near the glow worm attraction and almost beside Alice May restaurant. Internet is fast and free. Room has towels, toiletries, kitchen utensils, ref, and coffee/tea making facilities. Beds have electric heater as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Thank you very much for your nice comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope your bus journey from Franz Josef went well, along with the rest of your holiday. As you say while Franz Josef is isolated and so an expensive place to operate a business I believe we offer very good value modern accommodation. I... More

Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Great location with beautiful views. Quiet and relaxed area. Very spacious units which were comfortable and clean. Plenty of free parking right outside the unit. Very fast, reliable wifi (free too). Helpful and polite staff. Very good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Ailsa Thank you for your very nice comments. I am glad you enjoyed the wifi, we have recently upgraded the system as we realise how important wifi is to people away from home. I will make sure the team see your postive comments about the rooms and staff. I hope you are able to stay with us again in... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Perfect location and great view. Friendly welcome from helpful staff. All activities and restaurants are located just around the corner. Compared to the options in Franz Josef it was great value for money. Unlimited free wifi was also a nice bonus. Will stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Robert Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed our location and unlimited free wifi. Regards Logan More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to 10 Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 10 Cottages

Address: Graham Place, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 10 Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 10 Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay