We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Te Waonui Forest Retreat

5.0 of 5 3 Wallace Street, off State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    60
    30
    6
    1
See reviews for
46
191
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (312)
  • Mar-May only
    (79)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (57)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (164)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars NEW

After been greeted by a charming Maori Chief, the manager showed us to our rooms. The rooms we nice and quite well appointed but I'm hoping (and suspect) that they will do the rooms up soon as they are fairly nondescript. One big problem is the bathroom fan... it's like a 747 taking off... it really need to be sorted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cornelius, North Carolina
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
23 hotel reviews
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Forest Retreat is a well designed and located hotel, that does a whole lot very good. I loved looking into the forest and balcony view. Free wifi, that worked during my three days effectively. And a truly friendly staff are some of the positive things. Some things that irked me and keep me from thinking of the Forest Retreat as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Dear George6098 I am sure you will also appreciate this personal feedback below received from Te Waonui's, Chef Andrew Hayward-Swain regarding your under-cooked lobster concern: Hi Richard, Just to help clarify your response on trip advisor, The Rock lobster is cooked sous vide style meaning -Cooked at a low temperature under vacuum pack for a 20minutes at 52.2 degrees which... More 

Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We received a wonderful Maori welcome as well as a freshen up towel & drink before getting our room allocations. The rooms are very comfortable & spotlessly clean with wonderful 'forest' garden views. A problem I had in the restaurant at dinner was rectified adequately and the breakfast selection was very good. It was a pity that we were only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Supergranbee Thank you for sharing your experience at TW with us and I am glad that your overall impression of your time here was a positive one. Yours sincerely Richard More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My wife and I were upgraded to this hotel from the nearby Scenic hotel. First impressions were excellent and we received the best welcome of any of the excellent hotels that we have used on our New Zealand holiday - kiwi juice and hot towels on arrival and a Maori in traditional dress showed us to our room. The rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Robert27 Things have settled down after what was an extremely busy few weeks for us during February 2015 at Te Waonui Forest Retreat. We tried as far as possible to avoid reservation disappointment by keeping availability despite the enormous demand pressures for our Hotel when compared to previous years. Whilst generally satisfying this demand, certain calendar dates will always... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the 5*Te Waonuii part of the Hotel. It was beautiful, clean and luxurious. Bed amazingly comfortable, staff charming and very helpful. Highly recommend! We had a taster menu for our evening meal and it was delicious. Free bicycles and helmets for a cycle round.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Jack Thank you for your comprehensive overview and I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Yours sincerely Richard More 

Essex
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed overnight in this big-bucks hotel. Pleasant enough room, with a large bathroom - but the dining room was chaotic. Insufficient space between tables meant that the out-of-control Chinese kids were hitting the backs of diners' chairs as they ran through the room like dervishes. Why? They had been waiting for up to three HOURS for their food, and were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Killemall Despite ultimate amicable resolution (above and beyond) for the poor restaurant service encountered on your first night, it's hard to believe that you have dedicated your entire TA response above to re-hashing this disappointing experience. I have also had complaints from staff/guests taking exception to your analogy of our valued guest's children being referred to as "out of... More 

Sale
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an exceptional Hotel. Location, rooms, meals, bar, staff, hospitality service ... absolutely fantastic. Décor is beautiful and suits the location. You would not know that there were other accommodation facilities around you and that the main street was just a block away... so quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Archer Thank you for this valued feedback and for sharing your great photo's of TW rooms. Yours sincerely Richard More 

Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
85 hotel reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our bus tour was upgraded from the hotel originally booked to this retreat. It was wonderful. We were greeted with kiwi juice drinks and warm towels. Then a Maori individual greeted us in full dress. Next we were given our room keys. The rooms were entered from the outside and when you enter you see your room and the forest... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Holly5_12 Your feedback confirms what will always be remembered by us as a team as a date when we were punching above our weight in accommodating guest volumes. Apologies for this as we should have done better with breakfast service on this morning! Yours sincerely Richard More 

Stratham, NH
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
59 hotel reviews
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed here 2 nights. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was well appointed. The dinners we had were good and the chef took my food allergies into account. The hotel was one of the more expensive hotels in which we stayed on our trip but well worth the expense.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Tahes Thank you for this feedback and I am glad that you enjoyed our quality, service and ambience at TW. Yours sincerely Richard More 

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Initially disappointed as I had anticipated a "forest retreat" being tucked away in seclusion but in reality the buildings are only 1 row of trees away from the busy highway. Nevertheless our room overlooked the forest so we had the feeling of isolation. The room is well appointed but could have been roomier if it hadn't had 2 queen size... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Janelle and Graham Great to read that all was not lost after your initial expectations were not met at Te Waonui. Thank you for so kindly recognising Michelle's efforts to ensure your stay with us was a good one. Yours sincerely Richard More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Te Waonui Forest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Waonui Forest Retreat

Address: 3 Wallace Street, off State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Te Waonui Forest Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Te Waonui Forest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Waonui Forest Retreat Hotel Franz Josef
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#2 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (72)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay