We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Fox Glacier hotels

Lake Matheson Motel

4.0 of 5 Motel   |   Corner Cook Flat Road & Pekanga Drive | PO Box 23, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Lake Matheson Motel to your Saves list
Lake Matheson Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
85%
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (200)
  • Photos (71)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (10)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    88
    31
    6
    0
See reviews for
37
110
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
15 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed for one night at Lake Matheson Motel and absolutely loved it! My room no 2 was immaculate, clean, bed was comfy and I slept really well. The bathroom was amazing with very good hot shower. It has small kitchen, a heater, a tv and location wise...it is just perfect. It's very close to the main street. The motel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in August. We would have stayed for a longer period had time allowed us to. Our room was cosy warm when we arrived, extremely clean and very comfortable. We dined out on our first night at a lovely local restaurant, and cooked a bar b que on the second night at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here in July with my family and couldn't have asked for better service! The heaters were on when we arrived so the room was nice & toasty. The managers, Heather & Mike were extremely helpful and suggested things we could do whilst we were there. It was nice, peaceful & quiet plus good value for money. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived late in the evening and were greeted by a lovely couple, Heather and Mike, who showed us to our two bedroom apartment, where they had the lights and heating already on. I thought this was a really nice touch. The apartment was spacious, well decorated and impeccably clean. We all felt at home straight away. Heather reminded us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for one night with our 3 kids. One of the more spacious units we stayed at on our trip for a bigger family. Also one of the less expensive stays. Nice and toasty warm with all the heaters on after our chilly and wet west coast hike up to the fox glacier. Simple, clean, comfortable, and warm.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Lake Matheson Motel in April this year for two nights and what a pleasant stay it turned out to be. Our one bedroom unit was lovely and warm when we arrived (thanks to Heather) and everything thing in our unit was perfect. On the first day when went for a walk to Lake Matheson which is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was freezing cold, the room was small with no privacy from the street unless the curtains were closed, the wifi didn't work and the reception staff were inattentive. Luckily I had got an online deal for a cheaper price or I would have been disappointed with what I had received for my money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RobHalsey, Owner at Lake Matheson Motel, responded to this review

WOW we are a bit shell shocked!! Yes we were having trouble with our WIFI after a prolonged period of bad weather and power cuts. This has now been resolved. However, all guests for this 4 day period (until the computer repairman arrived) were advised that there was no charge for WIFI as it was a bit hit and miss... More

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

I stayed one night in Two bedroom unit and requested for 2king beds. This motel has only one floor. All rooms are on the first floor, fully furnished and clean. My unti has 2bedrooms, 1lounge consist of living room with sofa, dining table and kitchen. Kitchen is very well equipped and has all you need, but no oven. The window... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed over for 1 night before heading to Queenstown. We wanted an accessible room for 4 but there wasn't any, so they gave us 2 units of 1 bedroom and charged us the price of a 2-bedroom, appreciate the flexibility and discount! Clean and comfortable rooms, with small kitchen that is well-equipped and we managed to fix ourselves a decent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Positive Points : Fox Glacier is a very small town, the location was ok. Room was clear and well decorated, as well as the bathroom. Parking spot in front of your room. Lady at the reception was nice and helpful. Negative Points : Breakfast (served the day before) was too expensive for what is was...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Lake Matheson Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Lake Matheson Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Matheson Motel

Address: Corner Cook Flat Road & Pekanga Drive | PO Box 23, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Matheson Motel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lake Matheson Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Matheson Hotel Fox Glacier
Lake Matheson Fox Glacier

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Fox Glacier with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fox Glacier #3 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier #5 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Lake Matheson Motel is ideally located 400 metres from the town centre of Fox Glacier. While we have been proudly named after beautiful Lake Matheson for our 22 years in business, we are definitely a town based motel; and are not on the edge of the Lake which, like the Glacier, is a ten minute drive away. Our aim is to be 'simply nice'. This means we provide simple, clean and comfortable accommodation and focus on giving you good quality basics such as quality Sleepyhead beds, cotton linen, good showers, televisions (flat screens currently being installed in all units) and utensils. After extensive renovations over the past two years (we still have four units to complete this winter), we have gained a 4 star status with Qualmark, but have kept our prices at our original 3 Star Plus level. So come and enjoy our 21 studio and 2 bedroom units, with mountain views, in a peaceful location. We have a newly installed Zenbu wireless system, undercover parking for all units, some spa units, King or Queen bed units, continental breakfasts, a portable BBQ and a Guest Laundry for your convenience. We hope to welcome you to Fox Glacier soon. Myra, John and our son Jamie, Motel Managers. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
21

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lake Matheson Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer