We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Fox Glacier hotels

Lake Matheson Motel

4.0 of 5 Motel   |   Corner Cook Flat Road & Pekanga Drive | PO Box 23, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Lake Matheson Motel to your Saves list
Lake Matheson Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
85%
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
50K__S50 Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    89
    31
    6
    0
See reviews for
38
111
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights recently in our way to Queenstown. Very clean and nice room, warm and cosy. Owners extremely nice, when cleaning the room they did our washing for us while we were out. We returned from the glacier and there it was, washed and dried! My wife was flabbergasted! Very competitive rates too. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
39 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

fox glacier is a very very small place. Given that the location is really not relevant. It is on the road that leads to lake matheson and gillespies beach - hence the name. The rooms are very neat and clean. However they are quite small and a bit cramped. One toilet though. Otherwise they are very comfortable. We spent 2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely little motel just off the main road. The staff were very helpful with regard to helping us out in organising a heli hike on the glacier. The room was comfortable and warm, with plenty of cooking amenities. Would recommend this motel to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
15 hotel reviews
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I stayed for one night at Lake Matheson Motel and absolutely loved it! My room no 2 was immaculate, clean, bed was comfy and I slept really well. The bathroom was amazing with very good hot shower. It has small kitchen, a heater, a tv and location wise...it is just perfect. It's very close to the main street. The motel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in August. We would have stayed for a longer period had time allowed us to. Our room was cosy warm when we arrived, extremely clean and very comfortable. We dined out on our first night at a lovely local restaurant, and cooked a bar b que on the second night at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I stayed here in July with my family and couldn't have asked for better service! The heaters were on when we arrived so the room was nice & toasty. The managers, Heather & Mike were extremely helpful and suggested things we could do whilst we were there. It was nice, peaceful & quiet plus good value for money. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We arrived late in the evening and were greeted by a lovely couple, Heather and Mike, who showed us to our two bedroom apartment, where they had the lights and heating already on. I thought this was a really nice touch. The apartment was spacious, well decorated and impeccably clean. We all felt at home straight away. Heather reminded us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night with our 3 kids. One of the more spacious units we stayed at on our trip for a bigger family. Also one of the less expensive stays. Nice and toasty warm with all the heaters on after our chilly and wet west coast hike up to the fox glacier. Simple, clean, comfortable, and warm.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed at the Lake Matheson Motel in April this year for two nights and what a pleasant stay it turned out to be. Our one bedroom unit was lovely and warm when we arrived (thanks to Heather) and everything thing in our unit was perfect. On the first day when went for a walk to Lake Matheson which is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The room was freezing cold, the room was small with no privacy from the street unless the curtains were closed, the wifi didn't work and the reception staff were inattentive. Luckily I had got an online deal for a cheaper price or I would have been disappointed with what I had received for my money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RobHalsey, Owner at Lake Matheson Motel, responded to this review

WOW we are a bit shell shocked!! Yes we were having trouble with our WIFI after a prolonged period of bad weather and power cuts. This has now been resolved. However, all guests for this 4 day period (until the computer repairman arrived) were advised that there was no charge for WIFI as it was a bit hit and miss... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Lake Matheson Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Lake Matheson Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Matheson Motel

Address: Corner Cook Flat Road & Pekanga Drive | PO Box 23, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Matheson Motel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lake Matheson Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Matheson Hotel Fox Glacier
Lake Matheson Fox Glacier

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Fox Glacier with
any amenities