We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ahuriri Motel Omarama

Certificate of Excellence
State Highway 83 | State Highway 83, Omarama 9448, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ahuriri Motel Omarama
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ahuriri Motel Omarama
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    23
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
25
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (52)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Omarama is well worth the stay. The Ahuriri offers basic clean and comfortable accommodation which is dog friendly. We enjoyed this lovely town and the convenience of this pleasant accomodation. Conveniently situated on the A2O bike trail. We managed a short 8km bike ride 'around the block' in the morning. Walking distance to shops, hot tubs and airfield. If your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean two-room studio, conveniently located on the way to Twizel and Mt Cook. The unit had everything we needed, and the friendly owners provided us with useful information about activities/eating possibilities and places to see around Omarama.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Family of five stayed here in a two bedroom unit when travelling from Timaru via Lake Tekapo. The unit was very clean, comfortable and extremely quiet. Very friendly owners and helpful service. Would definitely recommend to other families travelling through the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed one night here after visiting Christchurch. Our apartment faced onto the road which was fairly quiet but more importantly the views were fantastic. The apartment was so well equipped and very clean. When we arrived we were given useful information about the area and a welcome bottle of milk which meant that we could make a cup of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had two nights in a one bedroom apartment and found it clean, comfortable and well equipped. We were welcomed and given information about where to eat and milk for our tea and coffee. There was a comfortable sofa and cooking facilities. They had a DVD player loan facility but unfortunately the player had sound interference and that problem could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian H, Owner at Ahuriri Motel Omarama, responded to this review

We are pleased that your stay at Ahuriri Motels was a pleasant one, sorry for the DVD issue it is good to be informed of these problem so they can be fixed for future guests. Thank you for your positive comments. Pam More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

We stopped here for a night on the way from Christchurch to Milford Sound. Pam at the front desk was very helpful in suggesting places to eat, and showing us to our 2 bedroom unit. The beds were comfortable and we would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian H, Owner at Ahuriri Motel Omarama, responded to this review

We like hearing reviews from people who might revisit sometime, it's a good indication that our facility and service was up to your standards and that's what hospitality is about, I would stay here too! More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment for the night. The kitchenette came fully stocked with pots, pans, crockery, glasses etc. Also supplied was a fridge, kettle, microwave and a set of hot plates for cooking. The hosts were friendly and helpful and we had a very comfortable night at Ahuriri Motel. We would be happy to stay again when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian H, Owner at Ahuriri Motel Omarama, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear that you were happy with your accommodation and it's contents, always good to get positive feed back. Hope to see you again. More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

On the way back to Christchurch we stayed one night here. We had a 1-Bedroom unit. The kitchenette had a microwave and a hot water kettle. We would choose Ahuriri Motels again as it has comfortable rooms and is owned by a helpful and friendly couple.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian H, Owner at Ahuriri Motel Omarama, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive comments and we look forward to seeing again on your next New Zealand visit. More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

The rooms are average, nothing spectacular and not very modern. When my room-mate pulled back the covers to her bed a spider ran out and when I moved the covers further in search of the spider, no jokes, a moth flew out from under the sheets. Other than that, the front office lady was friendly and helpful and the rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian H, Owner at Ahuriri Motel Omarama, responded to this review

Wow, we are quite shocked to read your review about spiders and moths! If only you had told us of your discoveries at the time then we could have re-located you to another unit. As thoroughly as we may clean our units without using nasty chemicals and pesticides we can not totally guarantee a bug free unit, it's an open... More 

Dannevirke, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

A lovely place to stay, lovely views, not far from the pub and petrol station, reasonable price, friendly staff, would stay again. Everything you need in the room, sofa, tv, spare single bed in lounge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian H, Owner at Ahuriri Motel Omarama, responded to this review

Thanks Elaine for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us, of course we agree with all your comments the wide open spaces and surrounding mountain views from Omarama is quite stunning. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question