We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Omarama hotels

Ahuriri Motel Omarama

3.5 of 5 Motel   |   State Highway 83, Omarama, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Ahuriri Motel Omarama to your Saves list
Ahuriri Motel Omarama
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
84%
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Omarama
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014
catwatching Dunedin, New Zealand
  • Overview
  • Reviews (39)
  • Photos (4)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (2)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    17
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We were warmly greeted by Pam. She gave us all the info we needed for accessing meals for the time we were to be there, and led us to our Room (1). It was a very nice unit with queen bed, TV, fridge and tea making facilities It was a very warm unit, in great condition and a very comfortable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Hobart
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We arrived without a booking with two adults and three children, after driving way off the beaten track looking at the amazing countryside and history of the area. It must be frustrating for hotel manager's to meet unorganised people but the two people who looked after us were really friendly. Our unit was very clean, and no problem with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stayed here while visiting Hot Tubs.We were very disappointed after having had Ahuriri recommended to us. Don't think the expectation of a hot shower was to much but even though we followed the instructions no hot water.We would rate this as a very average stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian H, Owner at Ahuriri Motel Omarama, responded to this review

You are absolutely right, it is not too much to expect a hot shower. Our showers do not have a cylinder but are heated by electricity, it is important to inform us if something has failed in a unit so it can be repaired or replaced as we do aim to provide good facilities. Thank you for your feedback. More

Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I stayed at Ahuriri for two nights in Nov 2013, using the motel as a base for a run up to Mt Cook on my hired motorcycle. I found the room clean and comfortable, with the staff friendly and helpful. It is located on the edge of the township, approx 5 mins walk from the centre. When not riding, I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Really great if you stay there as a backpacker! Awesome value for your money, friendly staff, very relaxed and if you catch a sunny day it feels like heaven with all those mountains around them and especially in autumn the colours are stunning. There'll recommend places to go for you. The toilets and shower are okay, there's a big washing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Our room was double booked which was very inconvenient when arriving 11.30 pm at night to be locked outside with a child. Found another room no real apology given noisy heater, broken heater in bathroom, no light in bedroom and no hot water for showers in the morning. All in all a really disappointing stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brian H, Owner at Ahuriri Motel Omarama, responded to this review

For the benefit of others we would like to make it clear that the guests unit was 'not double booked' we were accommodating two reservations that were arriving after normal business hours. Mistakenly the earlier people to arrive went to the wrong unit, a genuine mistake. We cannot explain why this guests stay was so unpleasant as guests who have... More

Seattle
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This place is both a motel and a backpacker/hostel accommodation (as well as a holiday park). Glancing at other reviews, I wonder if it would be helpful to have its reviews separated by function ... Anyway, we stayed at the backpacker / hostel portion (so the some of the below may not apply if you are using it as a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We heard a lot of meeeh, meehh, through the night (lot of sheep nearby in pens, waiting to be transported the next day to ... uh, you know), didn't bother me at all - never heard sheep meeh-ing like that before - me, being from a big city, Toronto.... (we were told it's only 1x year, just happened to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We arrived early and wanted to drive on to Mount Cook, They kindly kept our luggage and took it to our motel room when it was ready. Helpful with everything during our stay and great value for money. The room was well equipped and we stayed for two nights.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winwick, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed here for two nights on our recent tour of New Zealand. This motel is part of the Golden Chain group of motels. We stayed in 7 of these during our tour and although the room was clean, tidy and comfortable, it was by far the smallest room that we stayed in. Although we had a full compliment of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian H, Owner at Ahuriri Motel Omarama, responded to this review

We have taken on board your comments and now provide a microwave in Studio units also after some negotiating with our internet supplier as of 1st June can offer guests FREE Wifi. Your comments have been most valuable to us in providing an improved service to others. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ahuriri Motel Omarama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Ahuriri Motel Omarama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahuriri Motel Omarama

Address: State Highway 83, Omarama, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Omarama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ahuriri Motel Omarama 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Ahuriri Motel Omarama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Omarama with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
14

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ahuriri Motel Omarama staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer