We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Omarama hotels

Ahuriri Motel Omarama

3.5 of 5 Motel   |   State Highway 83, Omarama, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Ahuriri Motel Omarama
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ahuriri Motel Omarama to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Omarama
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Katie-Lee D
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
19
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (41)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

we arrived without a booking for an overnight stay after a long first day in New Zealand traveling by car. The owner was very helpful in letting us view multiple room types to decide what best suited our needs. The rooms were very clean, comfortable beds and pillows. There was free wifi available and the owner kindly gave us two... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian H, Owner at Ahuriri Motel Omarama, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us, it is our pleasure to provide clean comfortable accommodation that best suits our guests requirements makes for a pleasant stay. More

oamaru
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Lovely motel very clean great shower warm lovely view of mountains very comfortable bed and a pillows , all in all well worth the $30 I paid to stay in the backpackers room thank you Pam and Brain you are both Great Host.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We were warmly greeted by Pam. She gave us all the info we needed for accessing meals for the time we were to be there, and led us to our Room (1). It was a very nice unit with queen bed, TV, fridge and tea making facilities It was a very warm unit, in great condition and a very comfortable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Hobart
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We arrived without a booking with two adults and three children, after driving way off the beaten track looking at the amazing countryside and history of the area. It must be frustrating for hotel manager's to meet unorganised people but the two people who looked after us were really friendly. Our unit was very clean, and no problem with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stayed here while visiting Hot Tubs.We were very disappointed after having had Ahuriri recommended to us. Don't think the expectation of a hot shower was to much but even though we followed the instructions no hot water.We would rate this as a very average stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brian H, Owner at Ahuriri Motel Omarama, responded to this review

You are absolutely right, it is not too much to expect a hot shower. Our showers do not have a cylinder but are heated by electricity, it is important to inform us if something has failed in a unit so it can be repaired or replaced as we do aim to provide good facilities. Thank you for your feedback. More

Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I stayed at Ahuriri for two nights in Nov 2013, using the motel as a base for a run up to Mt Cook on my hired motorcycle. I found the room clean and comfortable, with the staff friendly and helpful. It is located on the edge of the township, approx 5 mins walk from the centre. When not riding, I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Really great if you stay there as a backpacker! Awesome value for your money, friendly staff, very relaxed and if you catch a sunny day it feels like heaven with all those mountains around them and especially in autumn the colours are stunning. There'll recommend places to go for you. The toilets and shower are okay, there's a big washing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Our room was double booked which was very inconvenient when arriving 11.30 pm at night to be locked outside with a child. Found another room no real apology given noisy heater, broken heater in bathroom, no light in bedroom and no hot water for showers in the morning. All in all a really disappointing stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brian H, Owner at Ahuriri Motel Omarama, responded to this review

For the benefit of others we would like to make it clear that the guests unit was 'not double booked' we were accommodating two reservations that were arriving after normal business hours. Mistakenly the earlier people to arrive went to the wrong unit, a genuine mistake. We cannot explain why this guests stay was so unpleasant as guests who have... More

Seattle
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This place is both a motel and a backpacker/hostel accommodation (as well as a holiday park). Glancing at other reviews, I wonder if it would be helpful to have its reviews separated by function ... Anyway, we stayed at the backpacker / hostel portion (so the some of the below may not apply if you are using it as a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We heard a lot of meeeh, meehh, through the night (lot of sheep nearby in pens, waiting to be transported the next day to ... uh, you know), didn't bother me at all - never heard sheep meeh-ing like that before - me, being from a big city, Toronto.... (we were told it's only 1x year, just happened to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Ahuriri Motel Omarama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahuriri Motel Omarama

Address: State Highway 83, Omarama, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Omarama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ahuriri Motel Omarama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Ahuriri Motel Omarama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Near Ahuriri Motel Omarama

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby