We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Water Motel

3.0 of 5 213 Main Rd.,, Tairua 3508, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Blue Water Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Blue Water Motel
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    18
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
57
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (112)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
There are newer reviews for Blue Water Motel
See the most recent reviews
melbourne, australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Every review that you read is very good for this place. the room was very clean and spacious and had everything you could want. I know everybody has different expectations on the money they spend. I paid the same price per night for this motel with no breakfast as i did for a hotel in the heart of Auckland with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review

Hi Diana, Many thanks for your review and really pleased that you liked the motel and our location. I certainly wouldn't say that we were expensive though ! We constantly check the prices available around The Coromandel and we think we offer great value for money. Awesome that you got free breakfasts in Auckland. We also run regular specials during... More

Waitakere City, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed two nights in a chalet. It was fully self contained and super clean and comfortable. The owner is very friendly and helpful. The motel is in a great location to the towns shops and restaurants and a short drive to major attractions! Unfortunately, the weather was pretty bad while we were there but the owner told us about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review

Hi Gin, Really pleased that you and Sean enjoyed Tairua even though you were so unlucky with the weather :( ! Yep, the Lost Spring is a great place especially when it's a bit too chilly for the beach. We would love to have you come back soon so that you can see Hot Beach and Cathedral Cove in all... More

Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My sister and I stayed here over the weekend with a grabone voucher and we had a terrific time. Never had we received such friendly service until we met Paul the owner, who was always ready to give a hand, answer questions, advise us on what to see and do or just give a friendly hello. In addition to this,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review

Hi Sarah, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your review. Really pleased you both had a great time with us. Super photos !!! cheers, Paul & Natasha More

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Whilst I realise that the title of this review is a little cliched it was totally true. My wife and I stayed here for four nights and pretty much everything about the place was fantastic. The room was a great size for a couple, it was spotlessly clean, we had a small kitchenette so we didn't have to eat out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review

Hi Shaun, Wow, thank you for your great review ! Really pleased that you both enjoyed NZ especially your time in Tairua. Hope that Aussie is just as good ! cheers, Paul & Natasha More

Napier, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We had a Grab One deal for 4 nights and enjoyed every minute. The rooms were very clean and tidy with everything that you would need for cooking. Although we found Tairua to be a little further south then we anticipated it was the ideal location for our day trips. Paul was a very friendly and helpful host while also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review

Hi Ken & Jo, Thank you so much for your kind comments and we're really pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to come and stay with you guys one day. cheers, Paul & Natasha More

Houston, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The Blue Water Motel is in a great location in Tairua close to Hot Water Beach and other attractions. Paul, the owner, is friendly, outgoing,helpful, and knowledgeable about the area. He has shovels for guests to use at Hot Water Beach and offers suggestions about what to see and do. Our room was upstairs over the reception area and had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review

Hi Max, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your review. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our little motel in paradise ! The studio that you stayed in is one of our smaller units and our chalets provide twice as much space. Sorry the bed was too soft for you.... More

rajamundry, Andhra Pradesh, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

I booked this motel online as it seem near to the hot water beach.. The hosts are very kind and offered a spade to use it at the beach.. The room is very comfortable and very clean. I think we cant find a better place than this near to hot water beach.. Thanks for the hosts

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review

Hi Sathi, Thank you very much for staying with us and for leaving us a review. Really pleased that you enjoyed Hot Water Beach and Cathedral Cove and we hope that the rest of your holiday was also great. cheers, Paul & Natasha More

Cleveland, OH
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
34 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We picked this motel because of it's closeness to Hot Water Beach. The owner, Paul, checked us in and showed us to our room and where to park. He told us of the local attractions which included Cathedral Cove, Hot Water Beach and Mt. Paku. He told us when low tide would be at Hot Water Beach, gave us a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review

Hi Robert, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and also taking the time to leave us a review. Really glad that you enjoyed your time in Tairua and the Coromandel. The studio units that you stayed in are our smallest units and offer great value for money. Our chalets are twice as big with offer full... More

Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
2 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at the Blue Mountain Motel last week and had a wonderful time. Initially we booked for 1 night but we loved the room, the facilities and location so much that we decided to extend for another night. The lodge owner Paul was very friendly and helpful. We loved the value added services such as wifi in the room,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review

Hi Cheryl, So pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay on the Coromandel with us. Thanks a lot for you review ! cheers, Paul & Natasha More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have stayed twice over Christmas at The Blue Water Motel, I have really enjoyed the Studio Appartment, which was spotless. Being walking distance from the Tairua Village was great. Paul was very helpful and always pleasant to deal with. I have booked again this year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review

Hi Mary, Thank you leaving us a lovely review - what a nice surprise ! Looking forward to seeing you again this summer. cheers, Paul & Natasha More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Blue Water Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water Motel

Address: 213 Main Rd.,, Tairua 3508, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Water Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Blue Water Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Water Motel Tairua, South Pacific - New Zealand

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay