We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Water Motel

Certificate of Excellence
213 Main Rd.,, Tairua 3508, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Water Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Blue Water Motel
Add Photo

136 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    102
    25
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
74
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (136)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (55)
All months
Manukau, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were with them for 4 nights great place to stay. Went fishing with jason-strikezone fishing charters,a full day trip king-fishing fully recommend it.Weather was against us but using the motel as central base day trips around Coromandel area was possible.Many thanks to Paul. We will back some day Peter and Jane

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

Got a two night deal on Grab One for this motel. The chalets are by no means new but are well furnished, nicely decorated and have adequate heating/cooling systems. The bathroom areas are dated but spotlessly clean and there was plentiful hot water. The bed and seating were very comfortable. The managers ( owners?) were polite, friendly and helpful. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
709913
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

Having read some other reviews, I feel people are being very unfair of their criticism of Blue Water Motel. I stayed here in February and must say that I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The room was immaculate and fir for purpose. The shower room was also immaculately clean and I loved all the little extras. I was on the first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review

Wow ! Thanks heaps for your review - you just made my day :) So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us on The Coromandel. When we can help guests make some cool holiday memories it makes it all worthwhile for us. Nice photo of studio #4 as well ! cheers, Paul & Natasha More 

Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

A wonderful place to stay, very welcoming and comforting. Its very close to the town and other attractions which is handy. Thanks Paul for the information on the attractions and activities to do in Tairua and nearby places. Me and Mrs really enjoyed the stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review

Hi Nirmal & Amrutha, It was a pleasure to meet you both and we're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Many thanks for your review and we hope to see you again soon. cheers, Paul & Natasha More 

Waikato Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Thank you Paul we really did enjoy our stay. The unit was spotless and cleaned everyday with fresh towels etc. The bed was very comfortable.Poppie our dog enjoyed his stay also. Great to find a motel that will allow your dog to stay :-) Within 2 minutes walk to the main shops, restaurants and beach. Paul is a friendly motel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review

Hi Rob & Jeanette (and Poppie !), So pleased that your enjoyed your 3 day break in Tairua. Many thanks for your review and we hope to see you again soon. cheers, Paul & Natasha More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Amazing place to stay, spotless, comfortable with a great view and so convenient to all that Tairua and its surrounds have to offer! Spa pool was lovely and Paul was so welcoming, advising us on the best spots to visit! We loved it so much that we've already booked our next stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review

Hi Michelle & Anil, Lovely meeting you both and we'll see you again this weekend ! Thank you for your kind comments. cheers, Paul & Natasha More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Spick and span....looks like owner refurbishes every six mthly. Not a place where paint has chipped! Everything in room is in perfectly working condition. Decor tasteful and simple but neat. Smallest requirement taken care of. Even a make-up-remover kit provided! Steel basin & shower area are beamingly BRIGHT.....Hope the owners don't sell the motel & move on!!!.......Dr.Pradeep Mehta (India) Blue... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review

Hi Pradeep, It was a pleasure meeting you and your friends and we hope that you enjoyed your holiday in New Zealand. Thank you for staying with us and for your review. cheers, Paul & Natasha More 

Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

We found this place to be a tiny bedroom/sitting room/kitchen combo with a tiny bathroom and a shower smaller than the ones on a cruise ship. The place was clean but the beds were too short, past their useful life and had a musty mildew smell. It is located very close to the main north south highway. We couldn't wait... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review

Gosh, we're not having a very good week for reviews !!!! So sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Very pleased that you found your room was clean and that you gave us 5 stars for service. Once again, as per our website description, our studio units are our cheapest rooms. They are small but have a lovely... More 

Mandurah, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the water hot. it is close to the beach and the restaurants in town. Our only complaint is the size of the place we stayed in - it was tiny like a rabbit hutch and while everything was there it was all to a small scale. It was costly for what it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review

Hi Lesley, Thank you for stay with us last year and for taking the time to leave your review. I'm guessing that you stayed in one of our studio units which I agree are quite small. In fact, when making a reservation, our website describes them as "our smallest self contained units". They are also our cheapest units and I'm... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

Spent 3 nights here in 2 bedroom chalet. Friendly and relaxed motel close to the sea. Decor a little dated but suited the place and suited me. Free shovels for hot water beach and beach towels. Our accommodation was next to the road but but was not noisy and the deck gave a view over the road to the trees... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind review and really pleased that you enjoyed your stay on The Coromandel with us. Hope that you had a great time for the rest of your holiday in NZ. ps. I only decorated the apartment you were in last year but I guess eveyone's taste differs LOL !!! cheers, Paul & Natasha More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay