We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast

20 Grierson Close, Hahei 3591, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
52
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (65)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Peter and Kay were lovely hosts and their breakfast on the balcony overlooking the gorgeous scenery was memorable. They gave lots of useful advise and were happy to book restaurants etc. We really enjoyed our meal at The Church and lunch at the Pour House Brewery. The Hot Water Beach was an experience sitting in the hot pools. Peter and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KaysieHahei, Owner at Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hey there, thanks for the great words, we are very glad you enjoyed your experience with us. It is very pleasing. Cheers, Kay More 

North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms upstairs were already booked when we made our reservations so we had the self contained room downstairs with 3 beds. There is a small fridge but no stove, you can cook on an electric fryer. There was a mini bar with drinks and snacks for purchase. We had the option to purchase breakfast at an additional cost but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KaysieHahei, Owner at Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Many guests just love this unit as it is cosy and quiet. It is a problem about the switch for the hairdryer and we acknowledge this but we have talked to the electrician and it is not an easy fix - apparently? Glad you enjoy everything else Cheers, Kay More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We received a warm welcome from Kay & Peter. Our room was spacious with its own balcony area. The bed was extremely comfortable. The house is in a superb position with gorgeous views. Kay & Peter offered lots of useful information. We were offered a lift to the start of the Cathedral Cove walk, spades for Hot Water Beach, &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KaysieHahei, Owner at Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for that, it is certainly a lovely spot to start your NZ tour. Hopefully all our fellow B&B hosts looked after you and made your trip memorable Cheers and happy holidaying Kay & Peter More 

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everything is in walking distance from this fabulous bed and breakfast - the beach, good restaurants and cafés and Cathedral Cove. Easy driving brings you to the famous Hot Beach, wineries and other restaurants. Very light room with beautiful views of the ocean from the bedroom and the balcony. Every need catered for including restaurant bookings and a lift to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KaysieHahei, Owner at Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Wow thanks. We do enjoy what we are doing and hopefully that gives you, the traveller, a great experience. Ha cost price drinks in the fridge - no one else has mentioned these little extras!! Cheers, Kay More 

Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Excellent accommodation Pete and Kay are great hosts. Lovely breakfast, nice hot tub, great views. Most comfortable bed on the trip so far. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. Take a trip to the Purangi Winery and hear the whole history of New Zealand whilst sampling an amazing array of wines etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KaysieHahei, Owner at Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks guys glad you had a great time. Yes many guests have commented on that bed in particular. We recommend Purangi Winery to others, if only for the History lesson - a quaint little place. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in NZ Cheers, Kay More 

Esslingen am Neckar, Germany
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Best B&B we stay during our New Zealand adventure. Kay and Peter are the best hosts you will find. Great homemade breakfast served outdoor on the terrace, helpful when you plan some outdoor activities, .... Enjoyed our 4 days stay in stunning sourroundings. Had a breathtaking view on Hahei beach. We are planning another stay there!

Was this review helpful? Yes
KaysieHahei, Owner at Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks, we are grateful for your review. We also love what we do and love having amazing people stay with us, Cheers More 

Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

The Hahei Horizon B&B has a good location with a beautiful view and a nice big room. For the price we paied, we were disappointed (255 NZD). In this price was no breakfast included.. a bit strange for a B&B!! In the shower there were 3 spiders and there was no soap. The hosts (who were looking after the house)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KaysieHahei, Owner at Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We regret that you were not 100% happy, as we like to see that our guests have a wonderful experience both at our place and in Hahei. To answer your concerns, you booked this room via Booking.com and on that site it clearly states that the self contained unit does not include breakfast. Also my confirmation-of-booking email also reminds guests... More 

Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

We had the good fortune of spending one night at this fantastic bed and breakfast earlier in January. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful in recommending things to do and places to eat. The facilities were very well-kept, the town was charming, and the beaches were amazing. Our hosts also made a fantastic breakfast, which I would recommend to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KaysieHahei, Owner at Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed !! We are very luck to live in such a great place. Cheers, More 

Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

We started our trip in NZ by 2 nights at Hahei Horizon B&B. They showed us right away the new zeland hospitality. It s a great house with an amazing deck to admire the village and the bay. The breakfast is tasty but the best thing in this B&B is their host, Kay and Peter who were so kind, they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

We had a great stay here with good breakfasts and Peter and Kay were helpful with advice of where to go and what to see. The room was great and the bed very comfortable so we had a good night's sleep. The B & B is a short walk away from theChurch restaurant that we ate at both nights.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KaysieHahei, Owner at Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks Ann W. We do try to please our guests in every way. It is nice to see that we often succeed. Cheers, More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question