We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Captain Haskell's Octagon House

347 Union Street, New Bedford, MA 02740
Captain Haskell's Octagon House
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
10
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (16)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Holyoke, Massachusetts
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed at Captain Haskell's Octagon House with our elderly poodle in May of last year, and couldn't have found a better accommodations for traveling with a pet. The house is gorgeous and the room was lovely. The proprietor is gracious and the breakfast was delicious. We were able to walk to the museum and restaurants and had a lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City, New York
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I came to New Bedford just to see the Whaling Museum and was surprised to find that my trip was greatly enriched by my decision to stay at the Octagon House. The house: An elegantly appointed time machine to a different world. The sunroom has an indoor cactus, succulent and palm garden and is very inviting. The dining room has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

When I signed up in December to run in the New Bedford half marathon, I had difficulty finding a place to stay in town that would take our beautiful, well behaved golden retriever, Bonnie. Captain Haskell's B&B was a lifesaver, welcoming us and our large dog. My husband and I and Bonnie were very comfortable there for race weekend March... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

It breaks my heart to read some of these negative reviews, because this house is nothing but treasure! The quaint home is filled with spirit and stories. I am so thankful that the owner shares his special house with others. In the morning, we were greeted to a new day with a lovely breakfast in the dining room. Had the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palmer, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I am unable to write a full review of this location because we refused to stay. The outside is so overgrown with weeds and bushes that we could not see the house. We left our car briefly in the neighbor's driveway while we went to check in. NO PARKING! Inside we were greeted by a very unkempt inn keeper who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Orangeburg, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We are veteran vacationers in B&B's and we were looking forward to our stay at Captain Haskell's Octagon House. My review of this Inn is written with torn emotion as the owner Chuck, is very nice, accommodating, and knowledgeable about the area, and the resident cats very affectionate. Each morning the table was set and ready for us with fruit,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Chuck goes well out of his way to accommodate random travelers with dogs: water bowls and dog resistant comforters appear magically in the room. As a wedding had taken up most of the house Chuck kindly gave me a berth in the servants quarters at the top of the house. Eight doors opening off a single octagonal landing like something... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Watertown, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The owner of the house was very kind and considerate considering the fact that it was 12 AM when I called looking for a room. He cleaned up the room at last minute which I appreciated. Overall I thought the price he quoted was a little expensive, $160.00 but then again it was last minute. The room was adorable, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phillipston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Ok....so that's a load of crap...but we did have a wonderful 2 night stay at Captain Haskell's Octagon House this past weekend during New Bedford's annual summer music festival. The six of us rented out the entire B&B. It was nice having it (and the host & resident kitty cats) all to ourselves. Chuck, our host, local expert, mapmaker, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
framingham, ma
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This inn, and its inkeeper, has seen better days. On a busy/noisy corner with inadequate parking; a backyard garden gone untended; filthy porch furniture (no matter - guests are verbotten there anyway); stuffy public rooms with blinds drawn; odd and uncomfortable guest rooms with poor ventilation; cats in the kitchen; and a sad "welcome" from an owner who appears demoralized... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NBOctagon, Owner at Captain Haskell's Octagon House, responded to this review

Parking: I have one off-street spot available to guests and ample on-street parking immediately adjacent to the house. Because this guest requested to leave her car during the day after checking out and because the on-street parking was unnavailable that morning due to a parade passing by, and because I needed the off-street space for guests arriving early for the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question