We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Nipton

107335 Nipton Road, HC1 Box 357, Nipton, CA 92364
Hotel Nipton
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
7
21
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (47)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

I stayed in both the hotel and the cabin during my visit. While I think both were a little pricey for what you get, it's the closet place I could find to Mojave preserve. The hotel rooms are just that, rooms with a bed. The bathrooms are shared but they are very clean. This is an old historic hotel in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

I realise that some people can only stand to stay in a a Best Western/Holiday Inn etc and feel cheated if they don't get the use of a TV that is less than 6 months old. (The latter is not a problem here, because thyere are no TVs). But if you want interesting and historical this is the place. For... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

The only hotel in the 30 people town in the middle of Mojave. There is nothing around it for about 30 miles. Place is quiet and stars are close. Hotel lobby will make you feel like you are at your best friend's home. NOTE: Bathroom is shared, but that's hardly a problem considering there are two of them and only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

My family stopped over in Nipton, California last week and stayed the night in one of the tent cabins. We loved everything about it, from the friendly staff at the Trading Post to the great cooking and unique Mexican dishes at the El Oasis Café next door to the spacious and well-kept tent cabins and shower/restroom facility sprinkled behind the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Forster
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Stayed the night here. Excellent facilities for those who like solitude, serenity and peace and quiet. Don't expect nightlife, there isn't even a TV and the cafe next door, the only place to buy dinner closes at 6pm. But the lovely old buildings and the solitude are wonderful, especially after Las Vegas. Service was excellent, anything we asked for was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Roxanne L, Owner at Hotel Nipton, responded to this review

Rob, Thank you for your positive review regarding Nipton. It is just what you said - quiet and peaceful! We are the antidote to Las Vegas. We hope you will come back soon. Nipton is located on the northern edge of the Mojave National Preserve - a million acre park. More 

Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Had lunch here - isolated outpost on train tracks facing the Mohave desert - worth the drive then take road to Searchlight and back to Hoover dam to really experience the desert. Very quirky place but if you want to get away from the beaten track this i the road less travelled!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Moreno Valley, California
Top Contributor
398 reviews 398 reviews
41 hotel reviews
659 helpful votes 659 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This remote, quirky old-time hotel in the middle of the Mojave Desert is not for everyone. In the 1920s when the place opened, it was practically the Waldorf-Astoria of lodgings in this part of The West. By the 1980s it was an established B & B with a small but enthusiastic following for those wanting to recapture the romance of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I parked and stayed in my RV for a couple of days and it was expensive there was no power I had to run my generator the water pressure was terrible it was there was no pressure at all.!! I would not recomend nipton RV spots they are terrible they really need to work on the power issue and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Roxanne L, Owner at Hotel Nipton, responded to this review

We do not have a record of anyone staying in our travel trailer park for a couple of nights in October 2012. At that time we were full and had only monthly guests. We did not have any just 'over-nighters." This bogus review has nothing to do with Hotel Nipton. More 

Travelers are raving about these Nipton hotels

Winters, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed at the Nipton hotel over the weekend. It is very simple but does have wifi if you want it. I enjoyed it but only gave it four stars because the room smelled like grandma's closet....lots of moth balls. It did air out but was a bit of a surprise. Yes, there was train noise at night, they do give... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
New Haven, CT
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I'm posting here because Trip Advisor doesn't have a separate listing for the Eco-Cabins, though as the owner recently noted, they should. No one was staying at the hotel when we were there. We stayed in one of the ecocabins/tents in midsummer (106 degrees in late afternoon), so the air conditioning was appealing. This is a tough location to rate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question