We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Goderich B&Bs / inns

Port Albert Inn and Cottages

RR #3, Goderich, Ontario, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Port Albert Inn and Cottages to your Saves list
Port Albert Inn and Cottages
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
72%
Ranked #4 of 8 Goderich B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Garpaccordingly Cambridge, Canada
  • Overview
  • Reviews (22)
  • Photos (39)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (5)
  • More
true
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    3
    0
    5
    1
See reviews for
5
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we stayed in "Mary's cottage" at 49 melbourne st. it was a great cottage 8 of us slept comfortably and it provided us with everything and anything. Well turned out kitchen and BBQ on the deck took care of our culinary needs.Just a few minute walk from a gorgeous beach and mesmerizing sunsets.This cottage was decorated in Fabulous! Great library,satellite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My girlfriend and I travelled to Port Albert on a whim to visit the surrounding area and the West Coast of Ontario. After reading the older reviews on here, I was wary when she booked us in - but boy am I glad she did. What a hidden gem, quaint rooms and beautiful space just a few minutes from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just back from a wonderful trip to Ontario, Canada which included a two night stay at the Port Albert Inn. We really enjoyed ourselves. The owner, Mark and his son, Angus were very friendly and helpful. Our rooms were spotless and cozy and the breakfasts were delicious. I would have liked to have stayed longer. Very relaxing and interesting. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Angus M, Owner at Port Albert Inn and Cottages, responded to this review

We really enjoyed chatting with you. We always like a good conversation here at the Port Albert Inn. We hope to see you again soon. Cheers, Angus More

Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I had a great experience there. It is very close to Point Farm Provincial Park. The house seems in the park which is at beautiful and only a few minutes walk to lake Huron. The Owner is a such great and friendly guy. The Inn has a lot of history. The room was very clean and fresh.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angus M, Owner at Port Albert Inn and Cottages, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed our park-like setting. You look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks for your kind review. Best regards, Angus More

Owen Sound, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed at Port Albert Inn one night. Truly interesting experience. Some of the previous reviews hit the nail on the head. We arrived after nightfall. The lighting in the pub created a quaint atmosphere. Tea lights on the stairway, bathrobes hanging in the hallway by our door. The building is old, the furniture reflects that too. Our room was clean,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Angus M, Owner at Port Albert Inn and Cottages, responded to this review

We do our best to be sure that the pictures we provide of our facility are accurate and we encourage all guest to call us before booking in order for us to give a complete description of our facilities and what to expect when they arrive. Guest satisfaction is our top priority. Our small Inn was built in 1842 and... More

Sioux City, Iowa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The people running the Inn are nice but that's about the only positive I can come up with. The place looks nothing like the photos. The house is run down and the general area is unkempt. We didn't stick around for breakfast which was supposed to start at 8, although we were there a little before then and didn't see... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Angus M, Owner at Port Albert Inn and Cottages, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We do your best to ensure that all pictures taken and descriptions given best represents the facilities at the Inn. We also take pride in maintaining a clean and quiet, stay for all guests. Occasionally summer vacationers in the valley will light fireworks in celebration of the holiday's and when this... More

Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Four rooms at Port Albert Inn were booked long in advance for family members and friends attending a Wedding close by. Chosen because of it's close proximity to the wedding venue. Having seen the photographs provided by the owners of the Inn and their profile on Trip Advisor. Rated 8.3 overall by previous visitors, my husband and I booked to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Angus M, Owner at Port Albert Inn and Cottages, responded to this review

Hello there. We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with the facilities at the Port Albert Inn and Cottages. We are a small country Inn and always do your best to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible. We encourage all guest to call us before booking so that we can provide a complete description of our... More

Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

My family and I were meant to be staying for 4 nights at the Inn but unfortunately my pet developed serious health problems a couple of days before departure which delayed our arrival. Mark was extremely helpful and tried his best to mitigate any costs associated with our missing a night of booked accomodation and made special arrangements to help... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Owner at Port Albert Inn and Cottages, responded to this review

Thanks. We really enjoyed having you. Hope to see you again soon! Angus More

Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I agree with 'iamtullahlula' June 2013 review with the exception that I do not believe this place could be "spruced up". It is simply to old and uncared for with a lot of the building's wood rotting and falling apart. Angus and Mark, the Inn's proprietors, are 'friendly' people but they offer nothing in service other than breakfast, and breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Angus M, Owner at Port Albert Inn and Cottages, responded to this review

We are so sorry you did not appriciate your stay at our quaint, little Inn . We do your best to meet the needs of all our guests however we cannot be everything to everybody. We do advertise a quiet, stay and for this reason can not allow any guest to make loud noises at night which bother other guests... More

Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My friends and I had a blast over the weekend. We're a group of 20 and we stayed at the Millhouse Cottage. Angus and his team were very accommodating, friendly and the place was perfect for our cottage getaway! Lots of backyard space for the kids to run around and it was 5 min walk to the beach, 15 min... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Angus M, Owner at Port Albert Inn and Cottages, responded to this review

We are so glad that your group enjoyed the Mill House Cottage. That couple days was a heat wave the like we have not experienced here in recent memory. We have since purchased additional fans for our cottages. Thanks for the suggestion and we hope to see you again soon. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Port Albert Inn and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Port Albert Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Albert Inn and Cottages

Address: RR #3, Goderich, Ontario, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Huron County > Goderich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Port Albert Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Albert Inn And Cottages Goderich, Ontario

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Goderich with
any amenities

Amenities

Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Open year-round and just 9 miles north of Goderich, Ontario the Port Albert Inn and Cottages provides accommodations for visitors seeking an authentic experience in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Nightly cottage rentals. Breakfasts are prepared at the Inn. Midday and evening dining is provide by the Port Albert General Store which is onsite. The menu consists of pizza, sub sandwiches, burger, French fries,ice cream. The store also sells produce, gas, fishing bait, as well as other items. Beside the waterfalls, and only a 6-8 minute walk to the beach, this historic Inn was built in 1842 in the quiet, natural, setting of the Nine Mile River Valley in the lake-side hamlet of Port Albert. Whether staying for business or for pleasure you are sure to enjoy our friendly staff, our tasty food and, our comfortable lodgings. The Port Albert Inn's winterized cottages rent on a weekly or nightly basis. We have fully serviced 2, 3, 4, 6, 8 bedroom cottages. The bedding, linens, towels, soaps, and camp-fire wood is always provided. For your convenience the Port Albert General Store operates all year to provide all your necessities during your stay in Port Albert. At the Port Albert Inn your morning meal is included with the room. Each morning Inn guests are treated to a hearty breakfast made from local farm produce. Our breakfast consists of pancakes and maple syrup, eggs, french toast, bacon, sausage, yogurt, fruit, toast and more. All meals are made from fresh, local produce. Cottage and room guests are invited to lounge by the fire or soak in the hot tub at the Inn. Staying at one of our cottages and don't feel like making breakfast. Let us know and we will do our best to provide your breakfast at the Inn. We look forward to having you as our guest in our quiet, little, river valley. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
6

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Port Albert Inn and Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer