We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lane's Privateer Inn

27 Bristol Avenue, Liverpool, Nova Scotia B0T 1K0, Canada
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lane's Privateer Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Lane's Privateer Inn
Lane's Privateer Inn
Lane's Privateer Inn
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    21
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
9
26
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (58)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent Saturday night at Lanes and have to say we truly enjoyed our stay & hope to return. What stood out the most was the staff. The two gentlemen that worked the the fast paced dining room on Saturday evening were excellent. The pride of independent ownership shines through at this establishment. Loved the entertainment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barga, Italy
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
45 hotel reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Traditional Inn with pub and restaurant. They made a wonderful job renovating the place. Large rooms, with all the faclities, view on the river, niewspaper in the morning, great farmers breakfast, good draught beers, wooden floors, and their sense of humour.... On the door, it says: come in, baby it's cold out there!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

Located on the water. Some locals fish off the pier at the end of the park, beside the property. There are a couple of smaller rooms that are a bit cheaper int he back, by the water, but the others are more comfortable. Nice restaurant and bar. Short walk to town center or the supermarket up the road.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kansas city
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014 via mobile

Nice spot to stop for a night. The rooms are not going to win any awards-- however, they are clean and the staff is accommodating. The pub and restaurant are very good! Fresh food and quality service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ballina, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night in mid September, on our way south. The room was large and comfortable with nice views of the river. We ate at the restaurant.... Yummy. The haddock was so fresh! Breakfast was really good and substantial.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Amherstburg
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

What a great Inn...awesome...loved everything about it...not only was room very clean and comfy their was a place where you could sit outside and look at the water...not a lot of noise...their was a bottle of wine in the room you could purchase... You can also eat at the Inn...food was great...drink too...host suggested a drink for me it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Soddy Daisy, Tennessee
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Unfortunately, there are no rooms on the ground floor and our party consisted of 4 senior citizens, two of whom are handicapped. The only way to the rooms was up narrow, steep stairs or two-tiered stairs on the outside. No elevator. Room was adequate but no mini fridge or microwave. One of our party had insulin to keep cool and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LiverpoolNS, Owner at Lane's Privateer Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I feel compelled to correct the information regarding the first floor. We were sold out of first floor rooms when you were staying with us. We offer two rooms with Queen beds and a room with a King bed on the first floor. These rooms are accessible by a ramp although they would not qualify... More 

MORENO VALLEY
Top Contributor
379 reviews 379 reviews
189 hotel reviews
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I understand this hotel is going to undergo a rehab, so hopefully things will be better then. The restaurant by the way just went through a rehab and is very good. I ate several breakfasts and dinners there and enjoyed them. My room was a small "Suite". It had a sofa and coffee table, But there was literally nowhere to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LiverpoolNS, Owner at Lane's Privateer Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your room was a third floor room in the original 1798 section and yes, it it on the list for renovation this year. These rooms are much smaller than the rooms on the first and second floor so there isn't much room for extra amenities such as a fridge and microwave. They were provided upon... More 

Mooresville, NC
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Can't say enough good stuff about Lane's. I had booked several rooms for our group travel. Six of us. They had a private party going on and I had, had some concern our group would be somewhat ostracized since we were traveling my motorcycle. Just the opposite. They actually switched the birthday party group to the dining room area and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Abu Dhabi
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I chose Liverpool as a staging post to visit the SW of Nova Scotia and happened across Lanes. The Inn is a gluing together of the old front half of a property and a 'motel' style add-on at the rear. The restaurant has been recently renovated and done well to match the style of the old part. The food was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question