We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Roosevelt Inn

206 Cemetery Road, Keystone, SD 57751 (Formerly Guesthouse Mount Rushmore)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Roosevelt Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
West Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015

The room was nice but the channels on the TV were really limited and the microwave oven was down the hall. The breakfast was Ok but they could use waffles. The balconies are nice but the entrance to the rooms from the parking lot was kind of awkward.

Helpful?
Thank Sonia S
Newark, Ohio
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2015

Stayed one week. Beds made, towels changed. Floor not swept even with grass on it. Tray with coffee pot not cleaned. Parking up behind the hotel. Know the payment policy! Will charge your card before you check out...2 days before!!

Helpful?
Thank CHERYL W

Travelers are raving about these Keystone hotels

Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

Hotel is dated, but rooms were clean. Hotel is pet friendly, which is why we chose it. Parking lot is small and was hard to maneuver with a 30ft. RV, but since our visit was in the off season, there was plenty of room. Location is great for Keystone's many attractions.

Helpful?
Thank Jones-Denver
Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2015

The inn is dated but our view of Mount Rushmore park and neighboring businesses made up for its dated look. We enjoyed its convenience to Mount Rushmore, Crazy horse, and Devils tower, WY. The bathroom was very small the wifi was good and free. There is a restaurant at the hotel for a quick bite. The best thing about this... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank hiwayriders
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
199 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015 via mobile

The outside of this hotel is much better looking than the inside. Our room, which must have been the worse in the place, was on the 3rd floor with a view of propane tanks and parking lot. The carpet had a big visible seam and stain near the doorway. There was a truly ugly flowered maroon bedspread on the bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank wanderer31310
Dean B, Owner at Roosevelt Inn, responded to this review

Although it is unfortunate that this reviewer was not more pleased with the Roosevelt Inn, the review itself does provide some insight regarding our rooms. The room this guest occupied is, indeed, one of our smallest and least expensive. We provide this option because some guests do not need a room with a view or a larger bathroom, and they... More 

Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here 3 days. We had a suite. Clean, good beds, roomy, great soap, decent breakfast, terrible TV channels. Breakfast ends at 9:00 too early for vacationers. Location is close to Mt. Rushmore. Friendly managers. Pizza place below the hotel. Great. Restaurant opens in spring. Closes October .

Helpful?
Thank james R
cypress, ca
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2015 via mobile

We got to the hotel after a very long drive at 3am! I called the owner earlier in the day to advise of out late arrival and she put the keys where we were able to get them and go directly to our room. The room was clean. The shower had really good pressure, so with those with long thick... More 

Helpful?
Thank loristraveling
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015 via mobile

We had a great stay at the Roosevelt Inn! The owners/managers are very nice. Beds are comfortable. Pillows were just fine. Shower was one of the best this whole trip :) (force of the water that comes from the shower head). The indoor pool was closed for season which was a bummer, but breakfast was filling every morning. Never had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jacquelyn H
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2015

Close to all the local attractions. Our rooms were clean and had balconies with a nice view. There's a pizza place on the first floor that also sells subs but if you prefer something else then there are lots of restaurants just around the corner (5-10min walk). The parking area in front of the hotel is divided by a small... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sara C
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2015 via mobile

Hotel was easy to find, close to the local attractions, however our room was very dirty bedding and towels were stained and the railing on the balcony was completely rotted through. Hair on floor and tub in bathroom. Our pillows were very flat, take your own. Parking very tight, so park in the back. back door was unlocked the whole... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gaylene S
Dean B, Owner at Roosevelt Inn, responded to this review

We regret that the housekeeping was not up to your expectations ... or ours. Housekeepers being human do occasionally miss the mark and this apparently happened during your stay. However, we encourage guests to notify us of any shortcomings while they are staying with us so that we may correct them on the spot. Also we offer other pillow options... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

213 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (64)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (33)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (140)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Loft Suite (18)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (12)
Viewed
Standard King Room with Private Balcony (20)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (Two Queen Beds) (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
2.1 mi away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
0.1 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort
0.3 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Keystone
Travelodge Keystone
#11 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay