We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lodge at Mount Rushmore

2.5 of 5
24075 Highway 16A, Keystone, SD 57751 (Formerly Best Western Plus Four Presidents Lodge)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    155
    55
    32
    18
See reviews for
186
133
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (434)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (258)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (108)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The pool has yellow sides and bottom from rust stains (easy fix) and the pool was cold - we went to warm up in the hot tub but the water was even colder because the heater in the hot tub was broken (desk could have put up a sign or warned us). Staff was friendly, Rooms were clean and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarkMGT, Owner at The Lodge at Mount Rushmore, responded to this review

Michael - Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologize for not meeting your expectations. Your stay was right as we opened and there were some staff issues. All of these items have been resolved. Please try us again next time you are in the area. We are having gorgeous weather...beautiful Spring days! Happy Travels More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Big room. Lots of space. Great BIG rustic looking lobby area. Friendly staff. Breakfast was good but quantities ran low. Good variety of carb loading material, however. Everything looks clean and fresh. Good water pressure in shower. Comfortable bed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We used Hotels.com to make this reservation, because the hotel wasn't open yet (seasonal closures). I read all the reviews on TripAdvisor about the hotel, and liked what I saw. Unfortunately, this hotel has just left the Best Western chain, and the apparent cost cutting measures very negatively impacted the stay. 1. We tried to contact the hotel directly to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MarkMGT, Owner at The Lodge at Mount Rushmore, responded to this review

Greetings...Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We always love to hear from our guests! Yes, we did have a wind storm that knocked out power for 3 hours in the early AM. Kudos to the line workers! Glad you enjoyed the breakfast, and yes Ryan is a great staff member. All the other items have been... More 

Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

The The Lodge at Mount Rushmore has a great view of the black hills.It has wifi connections,great services and spacious rooms.The breakfast is superb and I highly recommend staying at The Lodge at Mount Rushmore.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Rochester Hills, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in June 2014 while it was still a Best Western. It was a great location for the Black Hills area. Minutes from Mt. Rushmore, Hill City and highway access to the rest of the Black Hills. The night desk manager was incredibly helpful and had many great recommendations (including the wonderful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Santa Monica, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

We really liked where this hotel is located at.....its in the old rustic town of Keystone. It feels like the old western town in the middle of nowhere. It was a bit pricey than some of the other hotels in the area but service and front desk staffs were helpful and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

I love the location of this hotel. It is just outside the of the town of Keystone so, you avoid the crowds and noise during the busy tourist season. Yet, there is a GREAT restaurant nearby...the Powder House. The 2nd and 3rd floor views of the hills are great. I found the room to be clean and got a great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Palmdale, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014 via mobile

The room was clean and the staff was friendly,good breakfast, close to mt. Rushmore. I would stay here again. No smoking rooms, but there is a area where you can lite up. Nice indoor pool. Thet just changed from a Best Western. It can be a little hard to find, GPS send us right past the place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MarkMGT, Owner at The Lodge at Mount Rushmore, responded to this review

Greetings, thank you for the nice comments. Yes, we have a great breakfast! We offer a deluxe hot breakfast featuring Dunn Brothers coffee, Tropicana juice, sausage/bacon, eggs, pastries, yojurt, fresh fruit, etc... Happy travels... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

This property is now called the "Lodge at Mount Rushmore". It was shown on the Best Western website when I made my reservation but it is no longer a Best Western. The property is run down and in need of renovation. I wasn't satisfied with the cleanliness of my room and certain fixtures/amenities were missing or broken (smoke detector, hair... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MarkMGT, Owner at The Lodge at Mount Rushmore, responded to this review

Greetings, thank you for taking time to submit a review. I am sorry that our hotel did not meat your expectations. I can attest, though, that all room are inspected daily and that we keep the property to a higher standard than Best Western. Switching from Best Western allows us substantially more flexibility in our marketing efforts. Tip: If you... More 

Brenham, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

We booked one night at the BW last summer for an October stay. Best Western - safe recognizable good franchise. We luckily went during daylight to drop off our bags on the way to Mount Rushmore. YES we drove past the motel at least 4 times looking for the BEST WESTERN LOGO. We called 2x- the front desk lad DID... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarkMGT, Owner at The Lodge at Mount Rushmore, responded to this review

Greetings, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Sorry you had such difficulty finding us! Yes, we have been notifying each guest. You should have been called with a heads-up. The new signage is being made... We are so glad you stayed with us. We are the same great hotel, located in the heart of the Black... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question