We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Keystone accommodations

Holy Smoke Resort

Highway 16A, Keystone, SD 57751
Hotel amenities
Holy Smoke Resort
Certificate of Excellence 2013
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keystone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    25
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
36
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed at HSR last summer during trip a trip to the Mt. Rushmore area and were disappointed. The cabins themselves are squeezed closely together along a narrow road carved into the hillside. See pictures below for the view we had. The cabins we stayed in were not charming in the least. Picture a 70s-era TV bolted to the ceiling... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
murphy0046, Owner at Holy Smoke Resort, responded to this review

Really sorry you did not like the rustic cabin. Why did you wait so long to write a review? Our front desk is manned from noon till nine daily. We have never advertised a swimming pool, so you knew that there wasn't one when you booked the cabin. Some folks are much happier in a motel with a pool. Perhaps... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed early September 2013. This is not 5* but you are not paying 5* price, but it is good value 2*. The cabin was clean, the facilities worked and the site was clean and quite. If you want somewhere to use as a base while touring the area, and all you are going to do is use it to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lafayette, Indiana, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

we stayed there early sept. we enjoyed the place, very clean and idea place for home base. we wished we could stay longer. we was traveling to Yellowstone from Indiana. staff very helpful. we meet some very nice people staying in the next cabin who stays there often.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hillsboro, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We chose this resort as a home base for touring all of the Black Hills for over a week and that was a good choice. You can't beat the discount of $55 a night for a bed and shower, so that was the second plus. (Although you realize you usually get what you pay for.) Housekeeping was not included; they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Really cute cabin with two separate rooms and adjoining bath, and mini kitchen. Large front deck with plenty of room for foldout chairs and room to grill. The staff are super! The location just north of Keystone was perfect for visiting all that the area has to offer. The owner says they will be adding a few more cabins next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed here on recent road trip with my daughter on our way to take her to her new job in Denver. I had never visited the Black Hills and was a little concerned with the description of Keystone as being very touristy. We only had a couple of days on our detour through the Black Hills from Chicago and after... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Urbandale, Iowa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Ended up here at last minute because our hotel messed up our reservation. The cabin had more amenities that we expected: 2 toilets and sinks, tv in one room, writing table in the other. Nice setting in the pines, but fairly close to the main highway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grover Beach, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We just needed a simple clean roof over our heads. That is what we got. Ask for ice at the restaurant. Being so close to Sturgis there are reminders not to use the towels to clean your motorcycle. Actually this is more of a "3.5."

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buffalo, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Found this place via the internet with just a week or so to go before our SD trip in August. Hard to find a hotel that will suit a family of 6 but this worked well. Quiet, rustic cabins worked well for a family who doesn't camp but wanted something more like camping. We stayed in a duplex cabin and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Clean, quiet. Friendly when checking in. Housekeeping was wonderful. We stayed in a duplex cabin. I was worried as I had read reviews about the walls being paper thin, but if that is the case, we had really quiet neighbors. Sitting outside one morning with a cup of coffee, I very much enjoyed a turkey admiring himself in a chrome... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Holy Smoke Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holy Smoke Resort

Also Known As:
Holy Smoke Hotel Keystone
Holy Smoke Hotel
Address: Highway 16A, Keystone, SD 57751
Location: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty lodging in Keystone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holy Smoke Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Holy Smoke Resort to your Saves list