We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

K Bar S Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
434 Old Hill City Road, Keystone, SD 57751
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
2 people have started booking this hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
K Bar S Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
Add Photo Write a Review

499 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    322
    138
    29
    9
    1
See reviews for
176
195
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (499)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (262)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (155)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Suwanee, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We are staying at the KBarS Lodge in Keystone, SD. over the July 4 weekend. It is a beautiful, tranquil place tucked back in the hills, away from traffic and the hustle and bustle of tourism.One large group was having a family reunion and found space for a dinner buffet, a meeting room with theater seats, and plenty of room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed for 2 nights the end of June. Great room, clean and updated. Had balcony facing Mount Rushmore; we could see Washington's profile from our balcony. Heads up, some times it is foggy, that is NOT the hotel's issue. Great breakfast. They had like an egg omelet, make your own waffles, and fruit. Laundry facilities. Sometimes parking was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bedford, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The stay was so wonderful we stayed an extra night. The place was clean, breakfast delicious, and the marmots are adorable! The breakfast which is included had bacon, eggs, waffles and the next day pancakes. The bed were very comfortable. The one true highlight is the profile view of Mt. Rushmore.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ardmore, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Location, location, location. The pictures of this hotel on the Choice Hotel website & even on Trip Advisor, don't do it justice. This wonderfully-appointed hotel is located on a scenic winding road that offers twist and turns through an old highway connecting Keystone & Hill City. If coming from Hill City, be sure to keep your eyes alert, or you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oceanside, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It's just outside of Keystone which is good, because Keystone is busy and touristy. Our room was nice, and we even had a glimpse of Mt. Rushmore from the room. The staff was very helpful and friendly. A nice breakfast is served.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our room was clean, had two comfortable queen beds and had a western theme which was aprapoe for the area. Our deck overlooked the parking lot but in the distance we had a nice view of the green area and Mt Rushmore. The lodge is surrounded by nature, woods and wildlife. Its also a short drive to downtown Keystone. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The K Bar S Lodge was a perfect location for a visit to Mt. Rushmore. Good size, clean rooms & helpful staff. Set back a ways from the touristy main street in Keystone so very quiet in a forest setting. Breakfast is included and is well done every morning. Can be a bit crowded at times when tour bus groups... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Schaumburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Extremely nice facility-clean,cozy and a great location. The rooms were very nice and service was terrific. Includes breakfast. We only stayed 1 night. I wished a planned for an additional night or 2. Only warning- if you arrive late ( after sunset), the entrance is a bit hard to find. Lodge is tucked in woods a bit. Could use a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cody, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was May had snow so no TV and internet. Breakfast could of been a little better for the price we paid. If you want a room that face Mount Rushmore it is a added charge per night. You can sit out sir and see the view.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Naracoorte
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were so looking forward to this stay and booked 9 months prior. Unfortunately it let us down but we have had positive communications from the general manager since the event. All I would say that be very aware the queen rooms on the Ascend web site which this property is a part of will have attic style skylights and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kyle O, General Manager at K Bar S Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Roadmaster31, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post your review. I am very sorry to hear about the experience that you had while staying with us. As you can see from our other reviews, this is not the typical K Bar S experience. I am very sorry that you were not properly informed of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

210 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (172)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (56)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
View from room (24)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay