We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
321 Swanzey St, P.O. Box 430, Keystone, SD 57751
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    127
    67
    17
    9
See reviews for
160
117
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (344)
  • Mar-May only
    (67)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (125)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (123)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Minot, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on Sunday night. It was really easy to find due to proper signage and quite possibly because the town is so small. Our check-in was easy and quick and we got the street-view room we requested. Our party consisted out of 3 adults, so we got the double queen room. The room was slightly dated,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CZeimet, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that you got the room you requested and your check- in went smoothly. That is always our goal since we know that most of our guests have traveled quite a way to get here and would like to get in their room and relax after traveling all... More 

Layton, Utah, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It could be that it was the only thing open in Keystone, but it was very crowded in the hotel. The pool was always packed. The location is great and the rooms are nice but the food ran out at breakfast and there was no where for my family to sit so we had to take our food back to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CZeimet, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. You are right about us being very busy lately. With all of the different state's Spring Breaks we have been full for the past month. We have enjoyed all of the families that have visited us, and with all of the children in the hotel our indoor pool... More 

Dryden, Canada
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose this hotel because it was close to Mt. Rushmore and it was a good choice. Check in and out was a breeze. The room was large very clean and well appointed. The bathroom was spotless. The Wifi was very good for a hotel. Would stay here again if we were in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CZeimet, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We always enjoy getting feedback from our guests. We are pleased that we met your expectations during your stay. We look forward to your next visit with us. More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We called the front desk twice to rest the WiFi and the whole time we were there the service kept breaking, and disconnecting. The front desk person wasn't helpful when we asked what was available since we went during off season. His reply was "basically everything is closed". Wow, thanis I had to look into it myself and founD many... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CZeimet, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. The WiFi in the area was very spotty during the time of your stay due to increment weather conditions and we were having to reset it quite a bit during that time. There is one general store in the... More 

Inkom Idaho
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is close to Mount Rushmore. The rooms were clean - but the beds were very soft. The breakfast was good, but unfortunately, there were only 6 tables in the breakfast room. We visited in the off season - on weekdays - and had to sit in the lobby to eat. I can't imagine what they do in the full... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone, responded to this review

Dear Christa M, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to note that you liked the hotel location, clean rooms and good breakfast. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. It is regrettable... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I came to Keystone for a wedding. Because we were traveling we naturally needed to freshen up and change before going to the wedding so I called ahead to see when check in time was. The lady that answered the phone told me check in was at 4. I explained to her that I was attending a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CZeimet, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our policy is to always accommodate our guests if there is any way possible. We apologize if you feel that there was no effort made to accommodate you. We have spoken to our front desk staff to be sure that this doesn't happen again in the future. We hope that... More 

Windermere, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

My wife an I were very pleased with this hotel. We spent one night there this month before our next day's visit to Mount Rushmore and the surrounding area. The hotel's accommodations and services are a decent value for the money spent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
CZeimet, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased that we met your expectations and look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Madison, South Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Nice theme upon entering building. Staff was friendly. Room was clean. Cable TV was what you would expect. Bathrooms were clean. Shower was HOT and tons of pressure. We would go back again. Only complaint would be that our suite was on the main floor, really close to the lobby/pool area, and for some reason children and or adults were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone, responded to this review

Dear roadglider82, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff, cleanliness and your shower experience. However, we’re sorry about the noise during your staff and for the kids running through the halls. We will look into this concern. I... More 

Harrison, Nebraska
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

Walking into the lobby, I appreciated the rustic and outdoor design that went into it. Has the feel of an upscale lodge. Checking in was a breeze. Desk clerk was friendly, helpful, and filled us in on everything. My room was spotless. I stayed for four nights, and each night returned to a clean comfy room. Very pleased. My only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CZeimet, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are happy to hear that the desk clerk was helpful and the accommodations met your expectations. We also wish that our satellite company offered more of a channel selection in our area. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to visiting with you on... More 

breckenridge,co
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Very close to Mt. Rushmore, we visited in January and this hotel is one of the few open in the winter. Helpful front desk ladies, good beds, good tv selections, but room could have been cleaned better. Dirty socks left under bed, and two dirty washcloths left on shower curtain bar. Frig and microwave in room, nice for travelers. 24... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CZeimet, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We sincerely apologize that the condition of your room did not meet our brand standard. We have spoken to our housekeeping staff to ensure that this never happens again. We hope that this incident does not change your opinion of IHG properties and that you will continue to use Holiday... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question