We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Shaven Crown Hotel

High Street, Shipton under Wychwood OX7 6BA, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Shaven Crown Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Shaven Crown Hotel
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (37)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (0)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Gosport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The good points: Very friendly owners and staff. Breakfast was very good and plentiful - coffee was great. Building was lovely especially the hallway with open fire. Very nice restaurant, small menu but very well presented and cooked. Room was comfortable and well decorated. Not so good points: On arrival we were not told that there was no heating working.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I am a frequent visitor to the Cotswolds. There are some wonderful country hotels there and terrific village restaurants. The Shaven Crown is both! It is a brilliant example of how to convert a 700 year old, truly historic building into the most marvellous place to stay, eat, drink and be merry. An outstanding achievement....in a region renowned for that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your fantastic review!! I do hope you will visit us again very soon. Kind regards Evelyn More 

Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just returned from a one night stay at this beautiful hotel before going to Cheltenham for the racing. We had booked another hotel for the second night that looked similar in character and charm, also with excellent reviews. I would like to say there was no comparison ! The Shaven Crown was a really wonderful place with very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review! I am so pleased that thou enjoyed your stay and the food! Hope you had some good wins at Cheltenham See you soon and kind regards Evelyn More 

Canterbury
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We wanted a short break in Oxfordshire that was close to many interesting places but situated in a small village away from the main stream of traffic. We were not disappointed with this hotel and could not recommend it highly enough for all the above reasons. The owners Phil & Evelyn could not have been more welcoming as if we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown Hotel, responded to this review

It means a lot to us that you had a lovely time. Thank you for your kind words. Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future Kind regards Evelyn More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I booked this hotel for my boyfriend's Christmas/Birthday present and was not too sure on what to expect when we turned up. I had chosen the hotel as it was close to some of the activities we had planned. We walked into to hotel and were astounded by the beautiful entrance hall! Then it only got better! We stayed in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown Hotel, responded to this review

What a brilliant review Thank you!! So pleased that you had a lovely stay. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Evelyn More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned from a weekend break with the family. We were made to feel very welcome, rooms were very comfortable and clean. The food was delicious, great menu with great choice. The staff very accommodating and friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your brilliant review. It means a lots that you and your family had a lovely time with us and we hope to welcome you again very soon Kind regards Evelyn More 

Uppingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I love the Cotswolds. Full stop. When Lucy brought me here for my birthday via an afternoon browsing in Burford, to say I was very pleased is a big understatement. The building, nestled in the heart of Shipton Under Wychwood ,is magnificent : 700 years of history oozing from every exposed beam and worn-round cobble. If driving, note that the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Wow thank you for your amazing review! So pleased that the electricity faults did not spoil your stay. Will pass your comments about the food onto the chefs who will be delighted. Hope to see you very soon Kind regards Evelyn More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On arrival we had a friendly greeting the building is amazing and you have done an amazing job.You are an amazing family and your food is amazing to there wasnt any problems catering for my food allergy we wish you all the luck for the future and we will be back xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. I have passed your comments onto the kitchen and they are chuffed to bits. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon Kind regards Evelyn More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We chose the Shaven Crown for a special occasion and it did not disappoint. The hotel have been restored to a very high standard . We stayed in the pump room , which had beautiful beams , fireplace and example of stained glass windows. We decided to have dinner on Saturday evening and lunch on Sunday at the restaurant .... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Garyf485. My day started brilliantly reading your review! So pleased you had a lovely stay. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Maybe during the World Cup? Kind regards Evelyn More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although it was a miserable cold day we had a lovely warm welcome. The breakfast was delicious and locally sourced, the beef dinner was perfect and quite honestly the best rice pudding ever tasted! A very lovely family and staff running the place and a lovely historic building. Very happy and would consider a stay again, many thanks 😊

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Helen P Thank you so much!! Chef's pleased you liked the food and the rice pud!!! Hope to see you again soon Kind regards Evelyn More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question