We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 28 Cromer B&Bs / inns

The Grove

4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   95 Overstand Road, Cromer NR27 0DJ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Grove to your Saves list
The Grove
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
91%
Ranked #7 of 28 Cromer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
chr w chandlers ford
  • Overview
  • Reviews (168)
  • Photos (27)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (50)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    27
    5
    9
    0
See reviews for
56
61
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Firstly I have stayed at lots of hotels in this area and they all suffer from the same problem - high prices for really average rooms. The room that I had was £125 per night and was very small and tired. The TV didn't work, but was tiny - I asked at reception for someone to attend the TV, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thegrovecromer, Owner at The Grove, responded to this review

Hello Richard Thank you for your review. We always take on board criticism where we can and of course we will reflect on your comments and see if there are any areas for improvement. To briefly answer a couple of points: when you stayed with us we had indeed been experiencing problems with television reception but despite several visits from... More

chandlers ford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had never been to Norfolk before so we thought we would give it a try. Luckily we chose The Grove. It is set in it's own beautiful grounds and woods which lead directly out to the coastal path. The service was excellent and the room was a reasonable size with an en-suite. The restaurant and food were good value... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thegrovecromer, Owner at The Grove, responded to this review

Hello from the Grove What a kind review and many thanks for taking the time to write. Our bed and breakfast rate starts again in September and I am delighted you found it good value. Yes it can be a little quiet in Cromer sometimes (but Carnival Week in the summer certainly makes up for it!) If you are in... More

bury st edmunds
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great supper at The Grove on Friday 18th July to celebrate a birthday and met family staying at the Hotel. Relaxing setting, lovely gardens, fresh sea air and friendly staff. Pork tenderloins were succulent with a mustard sauce and the steak was exceptional. Its not cheap but its very good and the portions were a good size. I'd... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thegrovecromer, Owner at The Grove, responded to this review

Hello Adrian Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review; all the staff are absolutely delighted to read them and it really is a reward for all their hard work and dedication. Our meat is all from our local butcher, Icarus Hines. Because we don't use a commercial wholesaler we do have to reflect that in our prices but,... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On arrival we were greeted and taken to our room, what a lovely touch. A brilliant stay, would definitely recommend to friends and family. Room, Victoria, clean, bright and modern, Lovely quite place to stay but near enough to the Town Centre and beach for pubs, shops etc. We went to the show on the pier, I haven't laughed so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thegrovecromer, Owner at The Grove, responded to this review

Hello Wendy Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, and I am delighted you enjoyed the pier show. We do have plenty of guests that visit the Pavilion Theatre while they are with us and this year, by all accounts, the show is exceptional. Best wishes and many thanks again. Richard More

Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A great hotel Me and Carol stayed here for two nights in June,the receptionist was really nice,and even carried one of our bags to the room.she also took us around the hotel showing us where everything was. We were then shown the gardens including the kitchen garden,she also showed us the path through the wood to the beach. This hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thegrovecromer, Owner at The Grove, responded to this review

Good morning Stephen Sorry it's taken me a little while to respond and thank you for your review. I remember my grandmother showing guests in (when I was probably five years old and a real nuisance!) and we have tried to keep the tradition going since then. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we would... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Me and my partner booked the short break to the grove last min, but we are very happy we did. The grove is local, in the heart of cromer it is only a 3min walk from the beach front. It is family run business. They are happy to help and assist you on the area. but also happy to give... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thegrovecromer, Owner at The Grove, responded to this review

Hello Nathan and Kirsty Many thanks for finding the time to leave us a lovely review; it really does mean a great to the staff here to read such kind words. The walks through the woods to the beach and the cliffs are extremely popular so I'm pleased you enjoyed them. We do look forward to seeing you again. Best... More

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This Hotel is wonderful, it is very clean, the food is first class (I am surprised the restaurant is not fully booked constantly),the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly without overstepping the mark, the grounds well kept, the hotel is extremely comfortable and relaxing, one soon feels very much at home, I wish I had discovered it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thegrovecromer, Owner at The Grove, responded to this review

Hello Colin Many thanks for such a nice review; I was prticularly pleased to read your comments about feeling at home here. Of course this has been our family home for nearly eighty years and we hope that the informal feel is still present from when my grandparents got hold of the house in 1936. If change anything it will... More

Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

It was a friend's birthday whilst we were staying in East Anglia and, by accident, we found mention of The Grove and booked. Happy accident is an apt description. The restaurant is set back from the road and the main building sets the scene for a memorable evening. No sitting in the bar here : the waiting area is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thegrovecromer, Owner at The Grove, responded to this review

Hello from the Grove It is very kind of you to take the time to leave us such a lovely review. The staff here always keep up to date with TripAdvisor and were absolutely delighted to read your kind words, especially our front of house team who work extremely hard every day. Reviews always mean that little bit more from... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Outstanding service, awesome food and amazing surroundings. If you haven't visited the restaurant, why not.? We eat here monthly and never tire of the menu, as it regularly changes and the food is just five star.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thegrovecromer, Owner at The Grove, responded to this review

Hello Debz Well of course it is always fantastic to see you with us and many thanks for such a wonderful review. Hopefully the reputation of the food and service is spreading, but of course we will always keep a table for you every month! Very best wishes and thank you for your tremendous support. Richard More

Cromer, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Why are the people of Cromer not queuing down the street for the truly excellent food served in this restaurant ? 3 of us went for Sunday lunch, slow roasted belly of pork and roast beef, plus the BEST bread and butter pudding ever . So impressed Hubby and I went back for dinner last night ! The perfect steak... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thegrovecromer, Owner at The Grove, responded to this review

Hello Rachel Why indeed...?!!!? To be honest we do have a two-week waiting list for the restaurant for most Saturday nights, but we are more than happy to be able to fit people in for dinner if we can ! All of our meat is from our local butcher Icarus Hines; he does a fabulous job and we are always... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove

Address: 95 Overstand Road, Cromer NR27 0DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grove 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grove Hotel Cromer

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Grove is a Georgian family-run guest house, self-catering cottages and restaurant situated in four acres of gardens on the Norfolk coast. Set back from the road and with plenty of parking as well as a heated indoor swimming pool, we are ten minutes' walk from Cromer town centre and just a few minutes through woodland from the cliffs and beach. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
15

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer