We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Red Lion

Certificate of Excellence
Brook Street | The Seafront, Cromer NR27 9HD, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Red Lion
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Red Lion
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    128
    27
    18
    15
See reviews for
39
264
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (399)
  • Mar-May only
    (103)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (98)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (100)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (98)
All months
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Just stopped off for lunch with family, food was very nice indeed and the service from staff was extremely good, very friendly and professional really can't speak highly enough ! Prices were right in my opinion for the quality of food very happy worth a visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
JasonStimpson, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit. Thank you for all the wonderful praise you have given us. We hope you choose to return again soon. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We ate here twice during our 4 day visit to Cromer as we enjoyed it so much the first time! Had crab salad, which was huge and delicious, the first time and the fish and chips the second time. It is deceptively large inside and the atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. We noticed it is dog friendly, but dogs aren't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JasonStimpson, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm extremely glad you enjoyed your stay, As mentioned, we are not the cheapest. However, we do provide superb quality meals at a reasonable price. We hope to welcome you again. More 

Kent
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I have just returned from a great Easter weekend in Norfolk using the Red Lion at Cromer as our base. This hotel is clean, unpretentious, with polite staff, a great selection of ales and good food. Accompanied by our 'well behaved' Yorkie, we were given the 'Billiard Room' which was huge with a comfortable bed, seating area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheRedLionHotel, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We're extremely glad that you enjoyed your stay, and everything that Norfolk has to offer. I too enjoy Holkham a lot myself! We hope to see you again soon. More 

Halesowen, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent four nights in room 5. Initially thought I had entered Dudley Town Hall, it is by far the largest hotel room I have ever stayed in. The room does not have a sea view but boasts a free standing bath on a raised platform in a corner. Not my cup of tea personally but my wife enjoyed watching 'Homes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheRedLionHotel, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review of your stay. I'm glad to see you enjoyed the grandeur of The Billiard Room (Room 5), and the hotel's bar & restaurant. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for three nights for a short break in Cromer and was very impressed by the hotel. Paid extra for a sea view and glad we did. Cosy bedroom with clean modern bathroom, robes and bottled water provided. Very comfortable bed and surprisingly quiet loation because the road at the front was access only. Food was great - delicious breakfasts... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheRedLionHotel, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I'm glad you enjoyed everything including a 'delicious' breakfast of Eggs Benedict. Sometimes, like all Wi-Fi, all it needs is turning on and off. The staff on this day may not have realised this needed to be done. Please feel free to inform us on your next... More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopped at this hotel for several years really nice hotel great staff lovely food lovely rooms but whats gone wrong with the management! stopped several weeks ago and my wife dared to complain about her food and the eastern european waitress was so rude we were quite shocked at the reaction we got, we did mention to the guy we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheRedLionHotel, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review of your experience. This matter is being addressed by the owners, who have sent you a personal letter. We have already been in talks with booking.com to ensure this doesn't happen again. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We only stayed for one night but found everything, from the room, food and drink selection to be exactly what we could have wanted. The welcome was friendly, the room we stayed in was huge and it was right on the sea front, perfect for a brisk walk! We would definitely recommend it and will hopefully be able to stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheRedLionHotel, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I'm glad you enjoyed everything, including the 'brisk' walk. Hopefully when you return it will be much warmer. We look forward to you staying with us again. More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Although food was ok, service was poor. The bottle of wine we ordered had been opened and a quarter was missing. I ordered a drink during the meal but when it had not arrived after 20 mins I cancelled it, but it was not removed from the bill. Staff seemed less than apologetic. One to avoid

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheRedLionHotel, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your visit. I'm very sorry that you were faced with the disappointments that you listed. All the problems you mentioned I have passed on to my team at my latest team meeting. Reminding them of the importance of double checking and finishing one task fully. I hope you choose to... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great to be offered a family room (6) at a good rate. Had a lovely view of the pier from the sitting room. Bedroom was at the back of the hotel so no view. Room etc was very clean and well equipped. Didn't stay for dinner because the menu was uninspiring but breakfast was lovely. The big downside was the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheRedLionHotel, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your stay. I'm glad you enjoyed your room, but surprised you were disturbed as we are very strict about about our closing times and Room 6 isn't anywhere near the bar. Unfortunately beds are all individual taste, but they are all new high quality beds with toppers on them. Extra... More 

Widdington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I just spent two nights at the Red Lion. I feel like I could sum the place up in two words..'just go'! Expanding a little more. From the moment we rolled into the car park and had a reserved space waiting for us to slip in to it became apparent the management have thought about hospitality for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheRedLionHotel, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for such a wonderful review of your stay! Seems like all my staff looked after you very well, I'm just sorry that I didn't get that chance to meet you. If (when) you return, please let yourself been known to me. It's always nice putting a face to a review. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (73)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question