We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Red Lion

Certificate of Excellence
Brook Street | The Seafront, Cromer NR27 9HD, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Red Lion
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Red Lion
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    129
    27
    18
    15
See reviews for
40
268
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (409)
  • Mar-May only
    (113)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (98)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (100)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (98)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Perfect place for couples with there dogs very friendly, beautiful beaches near. Rooms lovely generally a great place! Lots to do in the area all very close to hotel and lots in walking distance. Food very nice and nice size portions. Lovely view of the sea from the bar area. Definitely recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed around the corner in a fab B&B the Wellington House and was recommended the Red Lion for food and good ale> Neither disappointed........I will be back ! The other local pubs sadly were not of the same standard.

Was this review helpful? Yes
doncaster
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Have just returned from a very enjoyable 3 nite stay at the Red Lion in Cromer. We booked a room with a sea view - the view was very scenic and it was nice to listen to the sea every nite and morning - the room itself was immaculate and had some3 lovely little touches - real tea and coffee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel exceeded expectations on every level. I was lucky enough to be put in a room with a sea view which was amazing. The room was clean, beautifully decorated, had a great selection of tea & coffee (no instant in sight) and the staff were fantastic. We had our evening meal at the Red Lion also and the food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saffron Walden, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were a party of 8 senior by age, younger at heart, male golfers looking for suitable and convenient accommodation for 2 nights near to Cromer & Sheringham golf courses. We booked 3 twin rooms and 2 singles B&B and were certainly not disappointed. All were generous in size, well appointed, clean and some with sea views. The sea being... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JasonStimpson, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review! I'm glad you were pleased with all we had to offer, and hope you all choose to return soon. More 

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Popped in whilst staying nearby last Friday with friends. Very friendly staff and a loverly range of ales, we could have happily stayed put for the whole evening on the warm friendly setting!!! We didn't eat but the menu and food did look loverly !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
JasonStimpson, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm extremely glad you enjoyed our local ales. We're always changing them, so please pop back to sample some more! We hope to see you again soon. More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for 4 nights to celebrate my birthday - our sea-view rooms were beautifully clean and comfortable. We ate in the bar every night and had an exceptional meal every time - can highly recommend the seafood platter! What really made our stay were the staff who were so friendly and helpful - customer service at it's best -... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
JasonStimpson, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. The seafood Platter is a great selection of local produce - a real test of the seaside. I look forward to meeting you on your return visit More 

Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at this charming and friendly hotel for two nights. Great position in the town with sea views. Very comfortable spacious rooms some with sea views (the old billiard room is simply huge but without a sea view). For what made it a special stay was that the young staff were tremendous, courteous, friendly , professional and all we met... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JasonStimpson, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm extremely glad you enjoyed your stay and intend to return to us in the future. More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have just come back from a 2 night stay and have to say the hotel was excellent. Staff were friendly, helpful and everyone went out of their way to accommodate every request. Breakfast was first class, the room (which we were upgraded to superior room with sea view by the duty manager just because she could!) was spotless, comfortable and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JasonStimpson, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I'm glad that your were pleased with the free upgrade you were given. We always try to give a little extra when we can. We hope to see you again soon More 

Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I took my wife for a surprise few days away. The Staff were so friendly and helpful, the food was great and there is a good choice of real ale. It is a very old hotel, it is almost on the sea front. Parking in their free car park was not a problem. Being on the North Norfolk Coast it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JasonStimpson, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review of your visit. I'm glad you enjoyed the old charm of the hotel and the local area. We hope to welcome you back again soon More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (73)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay