We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gran Hotel Peniscola

GreenLeadersGold level
Papa Luna 132-136, 12598 Peniscola, Spain
Hotel amenities
Gran Hotel Peniscola
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Peniscola
GreenLeadersGold level
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014
Marilyn T Lliber, Spain
Add Photo Write a Review

454 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    93
    141
    116
    61
    43
See reviews for
236
132
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (454)
  • Mar-May only
    (97)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (237)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (112)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

the room itself is okay. bed is standard for this class, everything else is outdated or seems to have been renewed with minimal effort. age old mini-tv, rattling air-con, empty mini-bar, bath tub chipped and takes ages to fill up with halfway warm (never hot) water. crowning this is the worst breakfast i ever had in any hotel (except a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lliber, Spain
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel was great, spacious bedroom with two double beds, and great balcony overlooking the front of the hotel and the sea. The food was not good, all very luke warm, and you had to clear away your dirty plates yourself, not good for 4 Star! I used the spa for a massage which was good. It was a long... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DAC-GHP, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Peniscola, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments. However, we want to clarify that the exposed meal in our Buffet arrives until recommended sanitary temperature, but could not be heated more without incurring resection of food. We understand that sometimes some of our guests prefere more heated dishes, and thats why we always offer an additional possibility to warm up extra their plates... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
49 hotel reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Hopeless access, check in took 40mins as like everything at the hotel the IT probably dates from 1980. Room furnishings non-existant apart from a delightful retro TV. Everything is depressing, lowest quality and high price - the welcome drink for example turns out to be a 4Euro Mojito reduced from 6Euro - so no thanks. Theres a not bad restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
DAC-GHP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hotel Peniscola, responded to this review

Thanks for your opinion however we are sorry for your bad opinion and we apologise for it. Please note that we are a vacational family hotel, builded in 2001, so our services are focused to holidays characteristics instead of urban ones. Our rates and prices are in line with market. More 

Travelers are raving about these Peniscola hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Varna, Bulgaria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Grand Hotel Peniscola**** for 8 days. It was a great vacation for us The room - spacious, clean, big beds (two queen beds), big bathroom with a hot tub, great balcony (also big). Every day (around 10 am) the housekeepers tidied the room, cleaned it up and changed the towels clean ones. But in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
DAC-GHP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hotel Peniscola, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your opinion. Since 2014 free wifi is available in the whole hotel. More 

Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Chaos on lifts and breakfast and the pool simply cannot accomodate all hosts. Rooms are clean, AC worked, personnel is polite, but breakfast have no choice, the 5 lifts simply cannot handle the number of people per floor. Although it is far from the city center (4 kms), you have to park in the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Javea, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

The rooms were adequate and clean buts thats the only real compliment I can give. Breakfast was terrible. The hot food was cold and the cold food was stale. The swimming pool area is inadequate for a hotel of this size. With 400+ rooms and therefore a potential of over 800 guests, 135 sun beds are just never going to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Estepona
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

Got to admit we got in late. Only dinner available was a buffet. Food must have been there for about 4 hours!!!!! already. Meat and fish was curly and black on the edges. French Fries, fried 4 hours ago!!!!! Breakfast slightly better. Spain is know for its availability of fresh bread all day. Not so in this hotel!!!! Coffee was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Taunton, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

At last an English review! Firstly I take issue with the previous review and glad I didn't read it before going. The reason the pool is small compared to the number of rooms is because there is 3 miles of glorious beach 10 yards from the entrance of the hotel! The furniture in our room was not old and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

I booked in rush my short holiday in Peniscola at this hotel without checking any reviews... big mistake. If you dont really care about details it is an OK hotel. If you are common with 4 stars hotels, you wont like it. Hotel's pool is way too small for its capacity, furniture in rooms old, not very clean, restaurant is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

915 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (155)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (47)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
Other (36)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (710)
Viewed
Amenities (222)
Viewed
Junior Suite (65)
Viewed
Pool (25)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (144)
Viewed
Standard Room (47)
Viewed
Standard Seafront Room (50)
Viewed
Suite (115)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Family/play areas (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay