We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Super 8 Frederick

Hotel website
Hotel deals
20 Monocacy Blvd., Frederick, MD 21704 (Formerly Travelodge Frederick)
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights, Save 25%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Super 8 Frederick
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    3
    7
    4
    10
    15
See reviews for
16
8
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (39)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (0)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Odessa, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We checked in, went to our room. The room had a horrible smell, like cigarette smoke mixed with something else, it was strong. I am asthmatic and could not breathe. We had booked a non-smoking room, so I don't know why it smelled like that. Then as we are setting our stuff down we notice there is debri, dirt, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lfinfer, General Manager at Super 8 Frederick, responded to this review

Dear valued guest. I'm sorry to hear about your stay at this property. You mentioned you paid $125 "for these rooms". How many rooms did you have since we do not have a $125 rate except for one of our suites. Every room is checked by 3 people each day...myself, my assistant manager and our head maintenance manager. As to... More 

Lakewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked online at Travelodge in Fredricks, Maryland but the address took us to Super 8. We called and asked the hotel and they " well it's the same hotel." So we went there- walking in one could smell cigarette smoke, not a good sign, but after hours of driving you put on a smile and check in. The hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lfinfer, General Manager at Super 8 Frederick, responded to this review

Dear valued guest. I'm sorry to hear that your stay was not what you expected. I'm not quite sure why you would think my associates were talking about you. That's not something that is done. My associates are very professional and are sensitive to all guests needs. I hope we have another opportunity to serve you in the future. Yours... More 

Travelers are raving about these Frederick hotels

Suffolk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After reading the awful reviews of your motel, I almost cancelled. But there were some good ones, so we kept the reservation. Those folks that gave such bad reviews must have been thinking of somewhere else. The room was very nice and clean. The bathroom also was very clean, with a nice shower and curtain. The air conditioning was very... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
lfinfer, General Manager at Super 8 Frederick, responded to this review

Dear valued guest. Thank you for taking the time to give your honest appraisal of our hotel. I hope we have the opportunity again to serve your lodging needs. Yours in hospitality. Super 8 management. More 

Abingdon, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was by far the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. From the unfriendly lady at that front desk, to the terrible smoke smell everywhere you go. People here were very shady and ignorant. Our first room wasn't fit for an animal. We complained about the filthy room and the front desk person could care less and said nothing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lfinfer, General Manager at Super 8 Frederick, responded to this review

Dear valued guest. Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion. As to the rooms not being available, that was true at your priceline booking. There were more rooms at a higher price, but as for the front desk associate if you can let me know what time you checked in and the date of arrival I would... More 

Southern Pines, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Each employee we met was helpful and personable (young man working the evening of 7/23/2015 and the women working the desk/breakfast area the following morning). I wanted to use my military ID to check in and was told I could not as well as why not (government does not allow photocopies of them thus a driver's license is required). The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lfinfer, General Manager at Super 8 Frederick, responded to this review

Dear valued guest. Thank you for your review. There are many remodeling changes coming, so perhaps you will give us the opportunity again in the future to serve your lodging needs. Yours in hospitality. Super 8 management. More 

Raleigh
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place needs to seriously hire a new cleaning staff or possibly go under new management. Previous pictures shown by other contributors are accurate. This place is as disgusting as you would imagine. Filth everywhere, a lackluster staff, and a constant smell of mold mixed with cigarettes. I highly recommend you do not stay here. Also, previous comments from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lfinfer, General Manager at Super 8 Frederick, responded to this review

Dear valued guest. Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion. We take all reviews very seriously and do take corrective action when and where necessary. If your stay was less than expected, we do apologize for that. Yours in hospitality. Super 8 management More 

Apex, NC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

I don't expect anything spectacular from a Super 8, but I do expect a decently clean place to lay my head for the night after a long day of driving. I have nothing good to say about this horrific experience. The room had clearly not been cleaned in weeks, if not months. There were numerous items left over from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lfinfer, General Manager at Super 8 Frederick, responded to this review

Dear value guest. First let me apologize for your experience. As to the pictures, 2 of them are not my hotel. You must have confused my property with one of your other stays. The hotel is currently going through an upgrade and I hope we have the opportunity to serve your needs in the future. Yours in hospitality. Super 8... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frederick hotels
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Frederick
Days Inn Frederick
#10 of 22 in Frederick
3.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick
2.0 mi away
Motel 6 Frederick - Fort Detrick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Frederick
Hampton Inn Frederick
#4 of 22 in Frederick
4.0 of 5 stars 456 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
1.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#11 of 22 in Frederick
3.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay