We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

America Best Value Inn - Barstow

2.0 of 5 1350 West Main Street, Barstow, CA 92311
Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
America Best Value Inn - Barstow
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
America Best Value Inn - Barstow
America Best Value Inn - Barstow
America Best Value Inn - Barstow
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    14
    7
    9
See reviews for
15
14
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (57)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars NEW

Have stayed here a few times in the last few years. Most recently on the 20th of February.The management has been improving the rooms,and I was very satisfied with the cleanliness and comfort of my room. Flat screen TV, M/W, refrigerator, comfortable bed. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the rooms are a great value. There is a pool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvibarstow, Front Office Manager at America Best Value Inn - Barstow, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We appreciate your positive feedback and taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We are delighted that your stay was enjoyable and that your were happy with the accommodations. We look forward to your return visit. Thank you. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I walked in and walked out within 10 mn!! Gross!!! Stayed in room 119. Walls filthy...lamp shade Pee yellow stains...bathroom disgusting...room smelled. Do not stay here. I left and went to route 66 motel on west main st.

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvibarstow, Front Office Manager at America Best Value Inn - Barstow, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your valuable feedback. I would like to apologize for the unpleasant experience and if it was brought to our attention we would of been more than happy to switch your room for you. Your issues have been brought to the attention of staff and it's your comments that keep us aware and strive to... More 

Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our room was clean and the bed comfortable. Our room opened to the pool area and a few chairs were provided so I could sit outside. The rooms simply open to the pool area. No fence around it. If I had young kids with me who could reach the lock on the sliding glass door I would have been concerned.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvibarstow, Front Office Manager at America Best Value Inn - Barstow, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback we are happy to here that you found bed and room was clean and comfortable. I apologize for the train noise unfortunately that is not under our control. A lot of customers say the tv and a/c tune out the noise. Thank you. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

I am not a very picky traveler but this room was old and showing its age. It was clean enough, and the beds were ok, which are the most important things to me, but from a visual perspective it is old and tired. If they simply removed the bedspread cover and changed the top covering to the modern style of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014 via mobile

Bed bugs, flies, and dust. That sums up my trip to this "exceptionally" rated hotel. I had to move rooms because of bed bugs. Flies were everywhere in the rooms. Dirty sheets and a management that wasnt doing anything to fix it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
abvibarstow, General Manager at America Best Value Inn - Barstow, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize for you trouble. As soon as you informed us regarding this matter we switched your room making sure you were comfortable and satisfied during your 5 day stay. Rest assured, we immediately contacted our licensed pest control company to inspect and treated the room. We also inspected the 5 rooms your company reserved that were surrounding your... More 

Sunnyvale, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Never got so much for my money! Really large room; table with two big comfy office-like chairs, microwave and refrigerator, flat-screen TV with good channel choices. From our room we could have taken six steps and been in the swimming pool; it was like having our own cabana. Pleasantly tiled shower. Microwave in room was a bit inconveniently placed over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvibarstow, General Manager at America Best Value Inn - Barstow, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We appreciate you positive feedback and taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. More 

Sedona, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This hotel does not impress you at first. There are signs in the parking lot warning you to lock your car and not to leave anything inside. There were two locks on the entry and exit doors to our room with warning signs about theft. It felt like being in a crime ridden area. Outside our room above the parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newstle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I had been driving for 12 hours and needed to stop. Went on-line to Hotels.com and America's Best Value Inn came up at a great price. I was thinking it would be like a Holiday Inn. At first I was disappointed because the area was run down, hotel old, but one should NEVER JUDGE A BOOK BY THE COVER! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
59 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I had stayed at a number of other America's Best Value Inns before but never at this one in Barstow, CA. I was hoping it would measure up to the others and I wasn't disappointed. The room was quite large and appeared to be recently painted. It had a flat-screen TV, mini-fridge, microwave, and a decently strong wi-fi signal. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvibarstow, General Manager at America Best Value Inn - Barstow, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we greatly appreciate it and hope to see you again. More 

Ridgehaven
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

First impression should have told me what was to come. Every motel in the strip was full of cars, this had 3 in the lot. The reception desk was behind a plexiglass screen. The female staff member was disinterested and rude. They offer a free continental breakfast, more later. There is a window at chest height in the bathroom and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abvibarstow, General Manager at America Best Value Inn - Barstow, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We apologize that you were not satisfied with the room. It seems since the minute you walk in you had a bad impression. The noise of the freight train is out of our control that is Santa Fe railroad. We would appreciate if you would have kindly came in the office to notify us, at... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to America Best Value Inn - Barstow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America Best Value Inn - Barstow

Address: 1350 West Main Street, Barstow, CA 92311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — America Best Value Inn - Barstow 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your America Best Value Inn - Barstow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay