We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Playacalida Spa Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Urb. Torregalera, S/N, 18690 Almunecar, Spain (Formerly lti Playacalida Spa)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Playacalida Spa Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Playacalida Spa Hotel
Playacalida Spa Hotel
Playacalida Spa Hotel
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    422
    125
    38
    24
See reviews for
786
121
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1014)
  • Mar-May only
    (132)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (513)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (324)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
Pacific Grove, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

DO NOT STAY HERE! I booked through a spanish agency. I was promised a room with an ocean view…I was partially below ground level with a view of bushes. It was dirty and moldy. The lobby had the feel of Tijuana, Mexico. It was not on the beaches advertised. They charged $6 Euros a day per device for internet. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
P-Stor, Gerente at Playacalida Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We regret not covering your expectations, but we can not agree with your point of view of this situation. We just offer the type of room reserved in accordance with the conditions of booking. We are very sorry you habe been affected by this situation because our intention is to make all our guests enjoy their stay at... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

It was lovely holidays but few thinks about hotel we don't like : People are smoking beside swimming pool , sometimes we was between two couples smoking with our Daughter . People are smoking cigarettes during meals when having meal on terrace. We can't enjoy meal on terrace if people are smoking . All animations in theathre are in Spanish... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
P-Stor, Gerente at Playacalida Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to thank you all your points of view of the Hotel during your holidays at Playacalida, this is the best way for us to improve those things which you think we can change in order to make nicer your holidays. Hope you reconsider to come back to Almuñecar it will be a pleasure for us... More 

poznan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The hotel is at the end of Almunecar, the town which is difficult to say as interesting or beautiful (with its hotels built in seventies). Playa Calida is the modern hotel with an interesting construction. The hall is very big with interesting construction of lifts. There are two swimming pools: for kids a river inside the hotel and the other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
P-Stor, Gerente at Playacalida Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day. We will have very much in mind your impressions and we will work to improve these... More 

Warszawa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I could recommend this hotel with a clear conscience, if only the food had been better. I’m not choosy about cooking, but for the first time for several years now I had to eat so bad-tasting meals (it refers to lunches and dinners). Although we came immediately after opening the restaurant, some meals were almost cold and on the top... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kristiansand, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

great for families, but the food was boring. Good service, though. Especially from the manager whom speaks English very well. We had a cornersuite on the fifth floor because the room we had booked wasn´t available. It was great, with a big terrace and our own pool...

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
P-Stor, Gerente at Playacalida Spa Hotel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimado Huésped, Permítame agradecerle sus comentarios, nos agrada saber que han disfrutado de su estancia y que hemos podido satisfacerle... More 

Erskine, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Ok where to start? This was a family holiday so we could visit my wifes family and my daughter could see her Abuela and Abeulo The hotel is situated on a remote rocky outcropping in Almunecar. Which is a quiet town about 80 km away from anywhere. On approach the hotel looks impressive, a large Moorish style edifice overlooking a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
P-Stor, Gerente at Playacalida Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all what it could have been. We will have very much in mind your impressions and we will work to improve these points marked so that in the next visit your perception of the product received... More 

Gosselies
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

It is a fabulous place to stay, dine and relax. Great location, excellent treatment of employees, amazing activities and lovely food all were enough to impress me. Entire property is very clean, beautiful and very well kept. Buffet breakfast which included a number of hot and cold items was fabulous and proved to be a good start for the day.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
P-Stor, Gerente at Playacalida Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day. We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other... More 

Gort, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Stayed in the Playacalida and it was wonderful. Staff friendly, great buffet breakfast, and the most wonderful infinity pool! Highly recommended and have booked to go back next week.... I hate the English reviews where they expect the staff to speak English! It's the Costa Tropical, it's Spain, it's not the Costa del Sol which is taken over by the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Came here to rest after a round trip in Andalusia last september. Unfortunately the Spanish people were still celebrating their holidays. And they wanted everybody to notice... It was still THEIR hotel. They behaved very loud, rude and greedy. Raiding the buffet, demanding every waiter's attention, yelling to each other from one side of the hotel to the other and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Budapest
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
67 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

We went for a one week holiday. The hotel is at a really nice location but the city next to it (Almunecar) is totally dead. So if you just want to lay by the pool and do nothing and you speak spanish, than it is the place for you. Otherwise... stay away! The beach is in walking distance (10 minutes).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

488 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (461)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (82)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (183)
Viewed
Family/play areas (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
View from room (50)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question