We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Bugibba B&Bs / inns

Buccaneers Guest House

Gulju street, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB 04, Malta
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Buccaneers Guest House to your Saves list
Buccaneers Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
70%
Ranked #4 of 7 Bugibba B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
FlavioF63 Milan, Italy
  • Overview
  • Reviews (25)
  • Photos (13)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (2)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Spent 1 week there with my partner. Facility: The guesthouse is centrally located in the middle of Buggiba! The corridor was smelly by the cigarettes (it's a smoking facility). Our room's window was above the kitchen and if I opened the window food smell came in. Under the bed was some garbage (lid of a PET bottle, ball of paper,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In july my wife an I spent about 10 days in the Buccaneer guesthouse, and we found it very pleasant. Clean rooms with aircon and private bath, good food, very friendly and helpful staff. The position is also perfect, close to Bugibba square and bus terminus. If we return to Malta, we'll stay in The Buccaneer once again. Good for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Been to several places around Europe and stayed in several budget guest houses but staying at the Buccaneers was a very different experience. The room was good, with air conditioning and bathroom and toilet facilities. However, despite the variety of dishes they offer for dinner, the food was tasteless (pasta is good). The breakfast is next to nothing. Just toasts,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Newport
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Love this place so much. The family that run the hotel are like family to myself and my family. We used to go every year as kids and even growing up into adults. Fab service lovely surrounding and right in the centre of bugubba near all the shops. If your looking for a relaxing time and a fab holiday I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I spent 3 weeks at the Buccaneers Guest House in August 2013. It is a good accomodation quite close to the sea in Bugibba, offering a basic room sufficiently furnitured (washbowl, toilet, shower) with excellent air conditioning (that cannot be renounced in August). I choose the half board formula with breakfast (basic but enjoyable) and dinner (very good and plentiful).... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
darlington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful two week stay at the Buccaneer. We had a spacious family room with balcony for us and 13 yr old. Father stayed in a single room. We were more than happy with the accomodation. The rooms were spotless with towels changed daily and the aircon made it very comfortable. Contrary to other reviews we found... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Fabulous place to visit if you want to lose weight. I lost 7lbs in 6 days! Food terrible, breakfast disgusting. Croissants were stale, bread frozen and water came out of the small cheap margerine tubs when you opened it!The lasagne was inedible as were most of the evening meals. Charlie the owner wanted everything to be paid in cash upfront,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

the place is central, very close to the beach. The rooms are big and all with air condition. The food is good and there is alot of choice. The staff is very helpful and always ready to help. If travelling alone or with friends or family it is ideal. Best in town..Would go there even tomorrow

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Bugibba, Malta
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

OK, I know that it's a cheap place to stay and now I can't complain, but I'm fed up!! I'm staying here for 1 month and I am very unhappy... Cleaning leaves a lot to be desired, breakfast is poor and staff is unpleasant. If you let me give an advice, guys, and you can afford a better place, don't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Sergio G, Manager at Buccaneers Guest House, responded to this review

I'm really sorry you feel this way. Its a shame you didn't come and speak to us during your stay, we are always more than happy to listen to any complaints and make changes to ensure you have as pleasant a stay as possible. I understand you were staying with us as part of the school program. I am surprised... More

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

stayed for the first time at Buccaneers and had a wonderfull time! Friendly people, central in Bugibba and clean, simple rooms (with ac). You are really a guest here, not a room number. making small talk with the owner and personell, they know you by name in no time. Had arranged transfer from/to the airport with the accommodation, cheaper than... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Buccaneers Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Buccaneers Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccaneers Guest House

Address: Gulju street, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB 04, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Buccaneers Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buccaneers Guest House Hotel Bugibba
Buccaneers Guest House Malta/Bugibba

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Bugibba with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in Bugibba, one of the most popular holiday locations in Malta, The Buccaneers Guesthouse is the ideal tourist accommodation, just a two-minute walk to the beach. The guesthouse is family-run and the highest care is taken to ensure a pleasant stay for all our guests. The Gove family are always ready to welcome their guests in person, assuring a warm reception every time.The Guesthouse has 30 en-suite bedrooms ranging from single to family size to cater for all requirements. All rooms are air-conditioned, have a private telephone and a safe deposit box. All floors are accessible via a lift. There is a sun terrace with a splash pool on the roof.Hundreds of people have visited over the years and keep coming back. The Buccaneers Guesthouse is the ideal spot for a good Maltese holiday, with all the sun and sea you can imagine … guaranteed! Airport pickup can be arranged. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
30

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Buccaneers Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer