We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 Qawra hotels

Sunflower Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Garcia de Toledo St., Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 06, Malta
Hotel amenities
Sunflower Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sunflower Hotel to your Saves list
63%
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
David M Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    133
    97
    38
    14
See reviews for
43
175
25
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (342)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (132)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (116)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
15 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first trip to Malta so we didn't know where to stay. We chose this because of the roof pool, which sounded and looked nice. Also at 3* it would have enough basics for us and the price was excellent. At first impression looks out of the way and surrounded by residential houses (which it is), but get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
El Quseir
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I now have a very low opinion of Sunroute Hotels to whom I would be hard pressed to give a rating of 1. I give the Sunflower hotel a rating of 4 because, for what it is, it's good. It's a relatively small and very friendly hotel. Being 3-star it's obviously quite basic. The staff just can't do enough for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SunrouteSantana, Sales and Marketing Executive at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Client, Thank you for reviewing Hotel Sunflower on TripAdvisor and for your comments. I am pleased to note that you found the hotel to be good and the staff pleasant but regret to note that you were disappointed about certain aspects of your stay in Malta. If you would kindly e-mail me on carmen.zammit@sunroutehotels.com with details of your stay... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having stayed at their sister hotel i was pleasently surprised. Keith manager and the lovely receptionist dan the barman were so friendly and helpful especially when i slipped in the bath and cracked my nose keith was so helpfull. Hotel a bit tired need new sumloungers with cushions. First time doing half board and was disappointed. Lovely stay and a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SunrouteSantana, Sales and Marketing Executive at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Client, Many thanks for reviewing Hotel Sunflower on TripAdvisor and for your most favourable comments about our management and staff. I will also share your comments about the hotel with our management team in view of continuing to improve our product and services. I hope that you will soon have the opportunity of returning to Malta and to our... More

Livingston, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Clean, and basic, try and get a front room, slightly better view and less noisy, staff are great and very helpfull, 24 hour bar servis, only had breakfast couple of times a bit of variety now and again would have been nice. Not to far from bars etc looks a bit remote on first impressions, but once you get your... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SunrouteSantana, Sales and Marketing Executive at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Client, Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. I will share your most favourable comments about our staff with the management team as our staff are always encouraged to hear that our clients do appreciate their good works. I will also share your review with the management team in view of improving our product and services. In the... More

Bordeaux, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

i would like to warn any visitor about this hotel because lots of things went wrong : - the pool is very dirty with lots of leaves and insects. - the rooms are full of ants or flying bug. - the security of the hotel is at the lowest possible rate. everyone need to know that in each room, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Client, Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. I am surprised by the points you raise in your review as we have no record of similar remarks/ complaints about our hotel. I would kindly ask you to write to me on carmen.zammit@sunroutehotels.com and give me your dates of travel and room number so that I would be able... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We stayed at the Sunflower Hotel for one week, self catering. The location was fine, a short walk from all amenities. A few minutes from the bus terminal, beach, main square, supermarket and lots of restaurants and bars. Quick tip as we noticed some people saying it was a bit of a walk to find things, when leaving the hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ash 250183, Thank you for reviewing the Sunflower Hotel on TripAdvisor and for your most favourable comments about the location of the hotel, the staff, the pool and the cleaning. I am very happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will soon be able to return in the near future. Do let... More

Birmingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We can't complain about our stay at the sunflower . Rooms we're extremely clean , the staff very friendly . Great management and the bartender Edina is extremely lovely and helpful . Breakfast was what we expected for what we paid . The pool and bar area was great and the food was very good quality . We would visit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Borgy B, Many thanks for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your most favourable comments concerning the cleanliness, the staff and management, the pool and the food. I am pleased to note that you will return to the hotel and hope that you will soon have the opportunity to do so. Rest assured that we are always available... More

Wolverhampton
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
54 hotel reviews
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Stayed here a couple of years ago. Found the hotel to be clean tidy and well looked after. the rooms were of an average size. Ours had a balcony with a view inland. We sat sometimes and watched some fireworks in the distance whilst drinking some wine. The staff were friendly, the food was of a decent quality and we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Client, Thank you for reviewing our hotel and for your comments. I note that it has been almost a year since you have been to Malta and to our hotel and hope that you will soon find the time to return. Best regards Carmen Carmen Zammit Sales and Marketing Manager Hotel Sunflower More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Arriving with my partner and i f at the sunflower mid afternoon to be greeted by a receptionist who did'nt have a clue about anything in the hotel, when asking a collegue we were given a short and rude reply 'with a NO to all our questions' no tea/coffee in room no wifi 'had to pay' no fridge to store... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Client, Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your comments. I regret to note that you were disappointed with your stay with us and hereby take this opportunity to apologize for any shortcomings on our part. However, for the benefit of those reading this review, may I point out that the it is the normal practice... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Very clean. Fab room! The breakfast was continental and was very nice For what we paid it was well worth it!!! If definitely stay there again! Possibly September! Great staff. Very helpful. Love the pool on the terrace!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter M., Thank you for your most favourable comments about our hotel. We hope that you will soon have the opportunity to return to Malta and to our hotel and promise you our availability to assist you with any future booking. Best regards Carmen Carmen Zammit Sales and Marketing Manager Hotel Sunflower More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sunflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Hotel

Address: Garcia de Toledo St., Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 06, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunflower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Sunflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunflower Hotel Qawra
Sunflower Hotel Malta/Qawra
Sunflower Malta

121 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (117)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay