We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 St. Paul's Bay hotels

Porto Azzurro

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ridott Street, Xemxija Bay, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 15, Malta
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Porto Azzurro to your Saves list
Porto Azzurro
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
54%
Ranked #5 of 17 hotels in St. Paul's Bay
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
David H St. Albans, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (676)
  • Photos (325)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (2)
  • Room tips (211)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

676 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    254
    166
    83
    80
See reviews for
129
344
50
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copthorne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Let me start by saying that as far as food/beverage & accommodation is concerned, we've stayed in far better 2* hotels in France, they have standards to maintain which this hotel is lacking in. The room we we're in really needed a serious refurb, as did other rooms that we heard other guests complaining about. The bar downstairs was closed,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PortoAzzurro, General Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for finding the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Porto Azzurro Aparthotel. First of all, I would like to apologise if we did not meet your expectations, however I have to clarify that the rooms which are not refurbished yet are very basic, superior rooms are of much... More

St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Another great trip to Malta and to Porto Azzurro. Reception,cleaning ladies and off course Alexis give a great friendly efficient service as always. Think some of the mourners on here are too clinical or are staying at a different hotel to me. Any problems I had in the last 6years, and there have only been a couple have been sorted... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just returned from a week at the Porto Azzurro where we stayed in the Panoramic Penthouse. Having read the reviews on here we were not expecting very much at all, but were pleasantly surprised by the Penthouse. I emailed in advance with a couple of questions and got a quick response. The reception is open 24 hours so our check... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just finishing our second holiday at this hotel, we came the same time last year. The location is absolutely perfect for exploring Malta. We were advised by the staff to get the weekly bus tickets (£6.50 each), we have crammed so much into a week it's been amazing. We live this hotel. We have a lovely studio apartment, with amazing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived on a Saturday in August 2014 at 11 pm. The hotelrooom was a nightmare. The toilet was broken the room and the beds dirty and fare away from clean. It is worth to mention, that the bedroom was without any window......Althouhg we had booked for one week we alreday left the on the next morning. Ask yourself if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PortoAzzurro, General Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for finding the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Porto Azzurro. I do apologise if we did not meet your expectations, however I have to clarify that even though your bedroom did not have a window, it had a French Balcony, which some people consider even better than... More

Travelers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I always check tripadvisor to see what the hotels we stay in will be like. Usually if it's just ok or good I'm happy. So if your thinking of staying here don't! The customer service was awful. We've been asking for some clean towels for 4 days over and over. After 5 days there has been no cleaner and trust... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PortoAzzurro, General Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for finding the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Porto Azzurro. I do apologise if we did not meet your expectations, however I have to clarify that the room you had was not one of our best rooms, that is why it was very basic. It really depends... More

Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We wanted something cheap and cheerful this year. My lasting impression is that this was a lovely hotel once but it's just a bit run down and lacking in staff to do all the essentials. Xemxija is not a tourist mecca you'd have to go into bugibba or St. Paul's for that. The hotel has good facilities; a gym, indoor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For its price a good solid hotel with helpful staff and good amenities. Got an oubliette for a room to start off with but we were moved after two days to a more roomier room with a view over the pool. Diving centre - great as well as the hotel car hire and special mention to Raquel the beauty lady... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jupiter, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Porto Azzurro for a week in June 2014 and enjoyed our stay but the rooms were dated and kind of cramped. Depending on who you deal with at the front desk you will either walk away thinking "great" or "what did I do wrong" as the staff "customer engagement" varied considerably from very warm and engaging to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just got back from Xemxija, and Porto Azzurro we had a very pleasant 2 week holiday. Porto Azzurro is run very professionally from the guys and girls on reception with the guidance of Alexis who is always on hand to help & advice, she makes you feel very welcome.This was our first stay in this area, previously stayed in Ouwra.Xemxija... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Porto Azzurro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Porto Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Azzurro

Address: Ridott Street, Xemxija Bay, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 15, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Azzurro 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Porto Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Azzurro Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Porto Azzurro St Pauls Bay
Porto Azzurro Malta

325 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (315)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (78)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
View from room (29)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (53)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in St. Paul's Bay with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
110

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Porto Azzurro and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Porto Azzurro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

;