We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 St. Paul's Bay hotels

Porto Azzurro

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ridott Street, Xemxija Bay, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 15, Malta
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Porto Azzurro to your Saves list
Porto Azzurro
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
54%
Ranked #5 of 17 hotels in St. Paul's Bay
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
TMCscotland Glasgow
  • Overview
  • Reviews (656)
  • Photos (324)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (203)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

656 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    249
    163
    77
    77
See reviews for
122
337
50
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for 2 weeks in July on a B&B basis, staying in a 1 bed apartment. Apartment was fine, spacious and clean. Breakfast was extremely poor and would have to be the worst breakfast ever ! Staff were lovely and helpful especially Joanna and Anna on reception. The pool area was nice however please be aware there seems to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had 7 nights in an apartment overlooking the pool. Apartment very clean and towels changed every day. Used it as a base and occasionally sat around the pool . A bar food was good for lunch. Guest Relations ManagerAlexiswas a gem and gave very useful information - down at reception every morning. Would highly recommend it and would stay again.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just a few words to say that I enjoyed some very valuable 'down time' at Porto Azzurro back in February (2014). I have stayed at the resort on previous occassions and return each time. The staff are always friendly and helpful and I feel that I am not just among friends, but with 'family' as well. I had a very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Porto Azzuro in Xemxija Bay (NOT St. Paul's Bay!). Accommodation was adequate as a base, nothing to do in the area, we found only 3 restaurants with outside seating within walking distance, Beachhaven - pretty good unless they're having a function in which case too busy, this happened 3... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have just come back from 10 nights stay at the Porto azzuro - Malta is lovely but would not stay at this 'hotel' again. If you just want to use the accommodation as a base to visit Malta it is fine but if you are looking for more than a place to lay your head it is not for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for finding the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Porto Azzurro. I do apologise if we did not meet your expectations. Your comments have been all listed and I will assure you that all comments will be taken into account. Please note that the apartments are prepared and... More

Oksbol, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have travelled in many parts of the World. We have stayed in all kind of hotels from 6 stars to 2 stars. We booked a 1 week extra Holiday to Malta, not expensive but to a reasonable Price. We had been to Malta 25 years ago, and we wanted to see the Island Again. Arrived to the hotel and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for finding the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Porto Azzurro. I do apologise if we did not meet your expectations. Your comments have been all listed and I will assure you that all comments will be taken into account. Please note that 217 is not the best... More

Abergele
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was our first visit to Malta and the island is wonderful, but the hotel was poor, the towels were only changed once every 4 days - sorry when you shower twice a day u need clean towels daily also you are expected to put toilet tissue in a bin which again was not emptied daily (disgusting) nor was the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for finding the time to write a review regarding you r stay at Porto Azzurro. I do apologise that we did not meet your expectations. In relation to the apartments, we always inform all our operators as we advise them regarding the cleaning schedule. We always provide the service for what the... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at The Porto Azzurro Hotel for one week in July. Our room was 317 and it does not have a balcony. We had to have the lights on all day. The cleaners only came into our room once over the week and we did not have any clean towels or bedding. Did not even see them on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PortoAzzurro, Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for finding the time to write a review on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at Porto Azzurro. I do apologies if we did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately you did not have one of the best views. The Apartment was recently refurbished. The bus schedule has been updated very recently. We are... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A friend and I traveled to Malta with a plan to rest, enjoy the beach and experience some of the culture. We stayed in Porto Azzurro and the hospitality was wonderful - the staff are very friendly and give great advise. Can travel around Malta using bus system quite easily. Self-catering accommodation was just what we needed. Good clean apartment... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
essex
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Porto Azzuro for 5 days in July 2014. The hotel is clean and comfortable, we had an apartment ( room 505) which was on the end, window overlooked pool but balacony was to side. The reception staff were very helpful unfortuatey the restaurant is a let down, we booked half board but I would suggest b&B... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Porto Azzurro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Porto Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Azzurro

Address: Ridott Street, Xemxija Bay, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 15, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Azzurro 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Porto Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Azzurro Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Porto Azzurro St Pauls Bay
Porto Azzurro Malta

324 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (314)
Viewed
Room/suite (78)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
View from room (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (41)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (53)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
110

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Porto Azzurro and other travelers.
1 question

See all questions (1)

See which rooms travelers prefer