We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

San Pawl Hotel

Blacktail Street, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3010, Malta
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
San Pawl Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

973 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    120
    265
    248
    152
    188
See reviews for
235
407
86
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (973)
  • Mar-May only
    (166)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (460)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (273)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (74)
All months
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It seems, sadly that the majority of the money the hotel has was spent on the lobby, which dont get me wrong was very nice but it would have been nice if there some attention paid to other areas of the hotel, we arrived and checked as normal, went to go to our room (on the 3rd floor) and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed 7 days here and was so disappointed. Rooms are very small, cramped and far too warm to sleep comfortably at night. Asked if we could up grade to bigger room with air con but was told the hotel was full. Main problem with our room was it was on the 3rd floor and having a 20 month old son... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Graeme M, Thank you for taking the time to post a review about you recent stay at the San Pawl Hotel. All standard rooms will be equipped with air conditioning during the winter months, ready for the summer of 2016. We are pleased that you found most of our staff to be pleasant. We do hope you will visit... More 

Travelers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just back from Malta, planned was 7 days at SAN PAWL Hotel, but we, family of 3, changed the Hotel after one night as it was impossible to sleep comfortably in the hotel. To give just a few telling points to illustrate this place: the beds were so old and noisy (that´s right: noisy beds, didn´t know this existed either)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review

Dear axel g, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Both luggage rooms are covered by CCTV cameras so your claim that they are unsafe are not correct. I cannot understand your claim about 'shady characters moving around the hotel' as this is once again not correct. Internet is provided by a reputable company which also provides... More 

New Malden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

3 families 9people was staying at this hotel ,on arrival stuff was friendly, we went up the room and it was not clean ! We found long hair on the bed sheets ! Probably from the previous visitors ! Under the bed lots of dirt !! The bathroom was stinking from drainig smell !! Not all rooms have air conditioning.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Boni Z, I am sorry that the hotel did not live up to your expectations. You did book standard rooms which are not air-conditioned. All rooms will be air-conditioned by summer 2016. Kind regards Carol Burgess More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We went for a four day holiday to Malta and this hotel came out the cheapest. When we checked in the reception area was nice and cool. We were given our room key on the third floor. The lift worked once during the holiday - it smelt like hot oil so I guess it had burnt out! The room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review

Dear helenlouise1970, Thank you for choosing to stay at the San Pawl Hotel during your recent short stay in Malta. We are glad that the hotel proved to be value for money and that you would stay again at the hotel should you re-visit our lovely Island. Kind regards Carol Burgess More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just back from 10 nights with my partner and 2 boys 8/11 and would have stayed longer, the pool was nice, most of the staff were friendly cleaners came in almost every day the reception staff were very helpful. After reading bad reviews I was pleasantly surprised when the coach pulled up it is a basic hotel and the entertainment... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tanyavvvv, I am pleased that the hotel exceeded your expectations. We do look forward to hosting you again should you re-visit Malta. Kind regards Carol Burgess More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just come back from this hotel (14-21st Aug). We were so nervous about what we would find after all the terrible reviews as we were staying in a standard room but we were somewhat relieved to find it wasn't as bad as all that. No it wasn't amazing, but certainly not horrific. So good points: When we arived... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nicola B, We are pleased to note that generally speaking, the hotel lived up to your expectations and was value for money. We do have a choice of 4 cereals for breakfast but we will definitely look into putting a certain type of cereal during periods where we have a large number of families staying at the hotel. Kind... More 

Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we returned home on friday night (21st) after 2 weeks stay. on arrival to the hotel around midnight we were greeted by a man who gave the impression we were disturbing him. Hotel reception was lovely,cool and modern. on arrival to our room i could have cried, room was roasting, bed sheets were stained/dirty, 4 beds in a tiny little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AllisonFoy, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the San Pawl Hotel. I am glad that you found the food, the restaurant staff and Sean at the Pool Bar nice but I am sorry the room you were allocated as well as the entertainment did not live up to your expectations. Kind regards Carol... More 

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from San Pawl Hotel from 13th - 20th August. We were a family of 3, our daughter is 8 years old. We stayed in a standard room, bed and breakfast and I paid £220 for this hotel through on the beach and our flights separate. In total, this holiday cost us around £600, so our review... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katie L, Thank you for having chosen to stay at the San Pawl Hotel. I am pleased to note that on the whole you found the hotel to be good value of money. One point about clients claiming to have paid Euro 2000 for their stay here is that it is important to keep in mind that this amount... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Reception very nice. Manager is rude and not willing to accommodate any complaints you have. The staff miserable.half board food boring and poor quality, no in room facilities to make a cuppa. We had superior room with air con very dated we had to live out of suitcases. Bed frames worn. Hairdryer taped together. Balcony small for 4 people. Lift... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah f, Thank you for your review. It is a pity that you felt the hotel did not live up to your expectations I must point out that any complaints made by clients are always noted but unfortunately, some cannot be accommodated. There is no mention of tea/coffee making facilities in rooms in any websites/brochures and we certainly had... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Pool area(10)
  • Air Con(10)
  • Good value(5)
  • Half board(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

392 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (353)
Viewed
Room/suite (84)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (43)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (45)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (52)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.1 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#2 of 17 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 825 reviews
1.5 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 17 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 914 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#1 of 17 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#3 of 14 in Bugibba
3.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
0.6 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.8 mi away
Il Palazzin Hotel
Il Palazzin Hotel
#3 of 17 in Qawra
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay