We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 St. Paul's Bay hotels

San Pawl Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blacktail Street, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3010, Malta
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added San Pawl Hotel to your Saves list
San Pawl Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
47%
Ranked #8 of 17 hotels in St. Paul's Bay
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
455lauras Chorley, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (740)
  • Photos (297)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (4)
  • Room tips (220)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

740 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    219
    191
    110
    126
See reviews for
163
327
62
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

as many other reviews about this hotel , a very basic hotel , we had paid for a superior hotel room and it wasn't , our view wasn't great and the beds were very un comfy (we slept more on the loungers) generally a clean ,friendly hotel let down by the rooms , food was ok , and atmosphere nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woburn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked the San Pawl (me and my two young sons) and generally enjoyed the hotel, the reception area is lovely and modern, and if they update the rooms to a similar standard, it would be a fantastic hotel!! The staff were friendly enough, but we did have some money go missing from our room, not a huge amount (40... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We arrived and thought lovely hotel, until we got to our room, there were so many issues too many to list here, we were offered an upgrade, but I had already been given an upgrade when I booked the holiday, so refused to pay for one, the hotel staff were helpful and polite, but having one of them shout out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel was good value and is as you'd expect of a 3 star hotel. The pool is good, clean and plenty of space to sit in sun or shade. The superior room was fine and clean (get a road view as opposed to pool view if you want peace and quiet, we did). Breakfast is buffet and plenty of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, we much appreciate your comments, On a good note we have revamped our evening meal menus as well. More

salisbury
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Thankyou to everyone at the san pawl for a great stay .Max the manager realy helpfull and friendly , restaurant staff very friendly .room was ok could be cleaned a bit better overall we had a great holiday .every one had something to say about the lady on the reception desk .all though she comes a cross as a bull... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review , I much appreciate it :) please send my regards to Max......from Max :) hoping to being able to host you again in the future More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived at hotel at 1am to be told that they were fully booked and we would not be staying there! We were then told that we were being transferred to another hotel, however would have to get there ourselves. Receptionist did not even know where the alternative hotel was! This was very concerning as we were two women who had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam, I admit that we were overbooked I remember talking to you at reception and I do not think that I could not care less actually and I did my best to accommodate you the soonest possible. To be honest I did not like the Maltese woman that was with you that kept on grabbing at my arm which... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here half board for a week. Hotel from the outside and pool is beautiful. Reception fully air-con. We stayed in a family room with large balcony. Room 108 was reasonable clean but there was an awful smell coming from the bathroom which others say was coming from the sewage pipes. To use wifi u had to pay €9... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, sorry to hear about your impression and that as you say we are not so friendly. To be honest with you this is the first time I heard this as usually we are deemed to be very friendly and outgoing with a few exceptions that are found in any country, I hope you get to visit Malta again... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have just returned from San pawl hotel. We had to get our room changed as it was small and not very clean second room was more spacious but not a lot of wardrobe to hang clothes up in. air conditioning did not work. The fan on roof was very noisy. t.v had only one station that was in English... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joan, Thank you for your review and I appreciate your comments. I am sorry about the restaurant and its probably due to eagerness from the staff to have tables available. We encourage guests to leave their room key on the table as we would not know if they are returning or not. As you stated we replaced the bottle... More

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Upon arrival the reception area looked lovely as did the pool, it was when we entered our room that things went downhill, very small and quite grubby, the curtains and bedspreads were filthy and the pillows were like bags of sprouts. The balcony was tiny and the view, well actually we did not have a view. However the main complaint... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and I am sorry that you were disappointed with your room , I wish I had changed it for you especially if you do not appreciate the entertainment which will also soon be moved to an inside location. Regards Max More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Well i just come back from a fantstic stay at the san pawl hotel...i cant believe all the bad rieviews i been reading! I can not fault it one bit lovely food, nice room and pool staff are fab very nice people. The hotel is very clean and tidy and caters for everyone families/couples! I cant wait to book to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Cannot wait to have you back for another holiday. Thank you again. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage San Pawl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to San Pawl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pawl Hotel

Address: Blacktail Street, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3010, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Pawl Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Budget Places, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your San Pawl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pawl Hotel Malta
Hotel San Pawl Malta
San Pawl St Pauls Bay

297 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (271)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (35)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (59)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (34)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (88)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in St. Paul's Bay with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The San Pawl Hotel situated to the north of the Island of Malta, located in the popular resort of St. Paul's Bay which is only a five minutes walk from many attractions offering a comfortable, friendly atmosphere catering for families, couples and single travellers Bugibba centre situated approximately 500 metres away offers shops, bars and restaurants. One can walk down from the hotel to the promenade which takes you along the coast of St. Paul's Bay, Bugibba and Qawra. Buses from just down the road will take you to any destination in Malta. Limestone rock beaches surround the coast of St. Paul's Bay where one can find water sports and many perfect spots for snorkeling or possibly take a diving or boat trips around the coast, or even charter a skippered yacht all for yourself. The Hotel is also situated only a stones throw from the characteristic fishing village of St. Paul's Bay, which still retains much of its character and charm. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
184

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of San Pawl Hotel and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from San Pawl Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer