We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 St. Paul's Bay hotels

San Pawl Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blacktail Street, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3010, Malta
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added San Pawl Hotel to your Saves list
San Pawl Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
47%
Ranked #7 of 16 hotels in St. Paul's Bay
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
William D Bangor, Co. Down
  • Reviews (634)
  • Photos (241)
  • Prices
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (188)
  • Back to top
Write a Review

634 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    191
    163
    98
    107
See reviews for
132
282
55
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Co. Down
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Moved to San Pawl from another nearby hotel. Definitely the right thing to do; even though this is a 3* hotel, felt like much higher. Room cleaned and towels changed every day, staff very pleasant and helpful. Food sufficient and freshly cooked. Can be a bit noisy on a Saturday night when the local families arrive. One negative point would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

i spent there last week with my sister. the place is fine compared to the price. the breakfast was fine could be better but there's the basic food. the room in the first floor had a pool view . it was cold to swim but the pool is a bit small. the furniture in the room is old , the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Island of Malta, Malta
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We are just back from our stay at this lovely 3* Maltese Hotel. We were made welcome on arrival, enjoyed good food, well-kept amenities, clean rooms and friendly staff. Considering its 3* ranking we loved every minute and do hope we will go again, soon. Most of the rooms on the first floor include a large terrace overlooking the pool.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
letterkenny,Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the San Pawl for one week half board last week 29/3/14 to 5/4/14. Our room was not great it has to be said, bedding etc was a bit ripped and furniture and fittings a bit tired and dated but having said that we did not pay alot to stay for the week and we could have payed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your review, its much appreciated , we look forward to seeing you again soon. More

Paola, Malta
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed 2 nights at this hotel from 29th till 31st march 2014 on half-board. The food was good and there was a verity of food. Our room was very clean and we had a very nice and a Huge balcony, our room was at the 1st floor and it has a pool view. The service was excellent. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your review I much appreciate it and look forward to having you back with us. More

Rybnik, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You were a few days at this hotel. Service very efficient, the rooms were very clean. The rooms were cleaned daily. There were also musical evenings. We enjoyed the breakfast, we particularly enjoyed the juices. We would go back in a holiday to this hotel. Why can not book rooms through booking.com? It shows the message "We're sorry, but it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and appreciate your comments. Yes the hotel is still operational and will check the issue with booking.com More

Ludlow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I personally cant see what all the bad reviews are about me my dad and my mum (died in 2011) have stayed here 4 times (2009, 2011, 2012 and 2013 all in august) in total and we are planning a 5th stay in October 2014 (after being 4 times for our main holiday were going back to France for our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I much appreciate it. Sometimes I wish we had a trip advisor page where we as hoteliers can complain about our guests too :) We get drunk people sometimes who abuse my staff , we get others who claim that they lost stuff to claim on insurance, we get others who want everything free and... More

North Devon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just spent a week at the St Pawl Hotel which was a mixed experience. On arrival the night receptionist ( a middle aged rather surly man ) had no record of my friends booking as their had been a name change so she had to pay for another two nights while they sorted it out, the attitude of the night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I apologize if the night receptionist seemed abrupt to you , however please do try and understand that although we work with various operators we sometimes do not get the bookings as these may come from third party companies with who we do not deal with. Your friend must have booked a single room and its not exactly... More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked three rooms for our kids and thier partners and me, hubbie and teenage daughter in a triple room-attending family wedding together. Newly refurbished communal areas, but rooms are dier/awful. They had no record of our booking, shoved us in three differant rooms on floor 2.and told to speak to reservation officer on monday-end of conversation!! On monday , reservation... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Thank you for your review and we appreciate your comments. We did not have your booking due to the actual fact that the booking was not received by the hotel on time, please understand that we depend on the tour operator to pass on the bookings on time, we did not shove you in rooms on the second... More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Can't understand why there are so many negative comments about this hotel. I found the staff to be friendly and most helpful when asked, room was clean and comfortable and there was a wide choice at meal times. Definitely will be back later in the year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brian , Thank you for your review. I do hope to see you again later. Yours sincerely Max Gatt More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage San Pawl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to San Pawl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pawl Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel San Pawl
San Pawl Hotel Malta
Hotel San Pawl Malta
San Pawl St Pauls Bay
Address: Blacktail Street, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3010, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Pawl Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Pawl Hotel situated to the north of the Island of Malta, located in the popular resort of St. Paul's Bay which is only a five minutes walk from many attractions offering a comfortable, friendly atmosphere catering for families, couples and single travellers Bugibba centre situated approximately 500 metres away offers shops, bars and restaurants. One can walk down from the hotel to the promenade which takes you along the coast of St. Paul's Bay, Bugibba and Qawra. Buses from just down the road will take you to any destination in Malta. Limestone rock beaches surround the coast of St. Paul's Bay where one can find water sports and many perfect spots for snorkeling or possibly take a diving or boat trips around the coast, or even charter a skippered yacht all for yourself. The Hotel is also situated only a stones throw from the characteristic fishing village of St. Paul's Bay, which still retains much of its character and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Budget Places, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your San Pawl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

241 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (227)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (58)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (32)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Best prices for your stay

Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com Travelocity
and 7 more sites!

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The San Pawl Hotel situated to the north of the Island of Malta, located in the popular resort of St. Paul's Bay which is only a five minutes walk from many attractions offering a comfortable, friendly atmosphere catering for families, couples and single travellers Bugibba centre situated approximately 500 metres away offers shops, bars and restaurants. One can walk down from the hotel to the promenade which takes you along the coast of St. Paul's Bay, Bugibba and Qawra. Buses from just down the road will take you to any destination in Malta. Limestone rock beaches surround the coast of St. Paul's Bay where one can find water sports and many perfect spots for snorkeling or possibly take a diving or boat trips around the coast, or even charter a skippered yacht all for yourself. The Hotel is also situated only a stones throw from the characteristic fishing village of St. Paul's Bay, which still retains much of its character and charm. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
184

See which rooms travelers prefer

Sorry, our search service is down. Displaying the most recent room tips below.