We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Il Gabbiano

Via Liberta, 221, 90018 Termini Imerese, Sicily, Italy
Hotel amenities
Hotel Il Gabbiano
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Termini Imerese
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014
JoAnne W Moriches, New York
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    27
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
9
21
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (59)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Moriches, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

We stayed here for the first two nights of our 12 days in Sicily. Drove from the airport in Palermo. Thanks to gps, we found it, as it can be difficult to drive and find hotels/restaurants in Sicily. The room was clean and very basic...the breakfast was typical but did have some fresh fruit which was good. Dinner in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We booked this hotel which was located at least 1 km from the city center. No bus service and a narrow road to walk to town, which we had to walk daily to and from. Customer Service was terrible, wi-fi did not work and hotel rooms were basic, nothing nice at all. The hotel computer for public use did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Francesco D, Direttore at Hotel Il Gabbiano, responded to this review

Dear Customer, we regret having to contradict his serious allegations: 1) Our Hotel is located 1 km from the center since 1989 2) The public bus stop is 250 meters from the Hotel 3) There are taxis, which she never wanted to call 4) The free Wi Fi works in the entire hotel and the PC of 'Hotel is every... More 

Juan Les Pins
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

My partner and I are frequent world travelers, by plane, car, trains, sailing yachts and other ships. She always reminds me, that more important than a nice view from the window or access to cultural places is the quality of service, cleanliness and hospitality. The Gabbiano gets 9.5 out of 10 points from us. We arrived late in the evening... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Oxford, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We did not have any reservations in Termini Imerese. A local photographer suggested a fairly priced clean hotel called II Gabbiano. Happily we took his suggestion. It is about 3/4 mile walk to the treno and the neighborhood is nothing to brag about but this hotel has wonderfully spacious rooms, superb restaurant and wonderful management. The owner was extremely helpful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. Paul-de-Vence
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
74 hotel reviews
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Coming off the ferry in Palermo at 7.30pm, we needed one night's basic accomodation en route to Catania, then Malta. We chose this hotel because 1) It was outside Palermo on the way to Catania 2) It had locked parking (our car was full of stuff) and 3) It offered dinner. We prepaid €65 for a double room. Everything functioned.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This hotel is extremely overpriced. Furniture in the rooms could not be more basic or simple. All TV channels are in Italian. Breakfast room is very noisy. Lobby is tiny. Staff is unhelpful and can only speak Italian. It is impossible to walk to the hotel from Termini or the train station due to the lack of sidewalks in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fradis, Responsabile reception at Hotel Il Gabbiano, responded to this review

We are always sorry when a customer is not happy with the stay, but we feel it is incorrect to alter the reality: TV: Channel 12 is in French, the channel 13 is BBC English. The lobby area is 130 square meters, 24 rooms, totally proportionate Personal "unhelpful": 3 fluent in English 2 English and French .... The Hotel is... More 

Paciano, Italy
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

This hotel is extremely overpriced. It's located far from anything worthwhile. Otherwise it's adequate but it's location and Motel 6 atmosphere make it a no go.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

We were traveling with 3 children, and the hotel offerered us an apartment, which was very spacious (2 very large rooms, with 2 single beds in each, and a large bathroom). Each room had powerful air conditioning and televisions. We were staying in Termini Imerese to be near the airport for our very early departure. At 5 am, it took... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

Very disappointing indeed. The only fact I agree with in other reviews is the cleanliness which was good. Location is very poor - to call itself in Termini Imerese was stretching it somewhat. It was in a very poor suburb beside a main railway line with frequent noisy trains, a very busy major road with beautiful views of the oil... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fradis, Responsabile reception at Hotel Il Gabbiano, responded to this review

Dear Customer, we regret that everything you have described is not true (just read the other reviews) but we understand that not having granted an extra discount of 10 €, which claimed at all costs, even beating his fists on the reception desk, This has resulted in his review that there had already been announced. Cordially greet More 

California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2008

We stayed at this place for one night. It was very quiet. The breakfast options were just right. Our local host wanted to help us carry our luggage to our rooms but hotel staff was uptight about this and did not allow her to come with us unless she stayed briefly.... just to help carry the luggage upstairs ( no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay