We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 81 Richmond hotels

Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6531 W Broad St, Richmond, VA 23230 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Richmond West)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
32%
Ranked #72 of 81 hotels in Richmond
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    34
    34
    51
    51
See reviews for
47
26
17
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I've seen some of the reviews for this hotel on TripAdvisor and was a little leery in the days leading up to check in, but was completely surprised for it to have succeeded my expectations! The room was completely clean and comfortable for my boyfriend and I. The staff was kind, friendly and attentive to our needs. We were able... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was excited for the online price i booked the room for but i was over charged for a dog i didnt have and the staff only apologized and said they could not refund the money. Watch out for hidden charges and the hot tub was not hot it was room temperature and smelled to strongly of chlorine. The hall... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It took 4 room before we found an acceptable room. The hotel is dingy and not well maintained. There was a straight razor lying on the table outside the elevator. When we complained to the woman at the front desk as we were leaving her answer was "well you got if for a cheap rate." We had booked through hotwire.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Timberville, Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is poorly ran and not taken care of. The pictures on the website must have been takin at a nice hotel up the street or something because they damn sure werent taken at this one. Let me first say i came here with my husband on his business trip and it was paid for by his boss or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goodview VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I do not normally take time to do reviews but this was an awful experience! Check in was a night mare guy didn't even know where the room keys were took a half hour to check in, gave us the wrong room, rooms smelled our friends had to leave she got so choked up, would not refund our money told... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Did NOT enjoy my stay at this hotel AT ALL. Firstly, the parking lot that backs a neighborhood is PITCH black- NONE of the lights are on so my husband and i did not feel comfortable even leaving our car there. Secondly, the hotel was FREEZING!...in winter!! We arrived with a large group that had booked the hotel weeks in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rpeters69, General Manager at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Sherise A. Thank you for staying with us at the Magnuson Hotel. I apologize for the conditions you had during your stay and was unaware of any bug issue. We do have a pest control company and we will do our best to research the area you were in and take care of the issue , as well as... More

Lakewood, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

The Richmond Magnuson was one of the WORST hotel experiences I have ever had! Photos on website misrepresent hotel, bedbugs in rooms, brown water coming out of all faucets, expired beer in the bar, air-conditioning NOT turned on before guests check into rooms, dirty, dirty dirty, cockroaches in lobby, fruit flies all over the place in dining room. I seriously... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rpeters69, General Manager at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Kim R. Thank you for staying with us at the RIchmond Magnuson Hotel. I apologize for the conditions you endured during your stay. We are taking the necessary steps to improve the quality of stay and the customer service of our hotel. We hope you give us a second chance in the future. More

Onancock, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

There were only 3 cars in the parking lot of this large hotel and I never heard or bumped into any other guests which would have made me uneasy if I had been traveling alone. If you want a cheap place to sleep then go to a super 8. This is a run down place with carpet stains & chipped... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rpeters69, General Manager at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Baysideswitzer. Thank you for staying with us. I apologize for the conditions during your stay. We are making improvements on the property both in conditions and customer service. We hope you give us a second chance in the future. More

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

About 1-1/2 weeks prior to our visit, we booked our reservation with the Crowne Plaza, but when we arrived at that address, it was called the Magnuson Grand Hotel. There had been no mention at the time of our reservation that the hotel had changed hands. When we arrived, the person behind the desk continued to talk about a large... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
rpeters69, General Manager at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marmoore. Thank you for staying at the Magnuson Hotel. I apologize for the conditions you had to endure during your stay. I am currently working with ownership to make the necessary changes to see that this does not happen again in the future. I strive for excellent customer service and I assure you we will get there. We hope... More

Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

In the past, enjoyed staying at this hotel when it was a Crown Plaza. Now, this place is a total joke and should not even be allowed to be operating at this point. The heat did not work in either room we were given to try for the night, the Ice makers and vending did not work, the hallways were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rpeters69, General Manager at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ZosoA. Thank you for staying with us. I apologize for the issues you had and the condition of the property. We are currently working to change the "hotel culture" to ensure customer service is the utmost importance. We hope you give us a second chance in the future. More

Been to Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel

Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Richmond
Richmond Crowne Plaza
Address: 6531 W Broad St, Richmond, VA 23230 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Richmond West)
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 81 hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 100 percent smoke free Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel is 8 miles northwest of downtown Richmond, and less than 4 miles from the University of Richmond, Henrico Doctors' Hospital, Phillip Morris- Altria, INC, Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens, and the Belmont Golf Course. Guests of the Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel can enjoy an indoor pool, jacuzzi, on-site fitness room, and a complimentary continental breakfast. All guest rooms include free wireless internet, coffeemaker, hair dryer, free local calls, alarm clock/radio, iron and board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.