We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Suburban Extended Stay Hotel - Richmond

Hotel website
Hotel deals
7831 Shrader Rd, Richmond, VA 23294
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel - Richmond
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel - Richmond
Review This Hotel

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    14
    9
    6
    12
See reviews for
10
8
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (67)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Secaucus, New Jersey
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Do not expect 4 star lodging for a 2 star price. That said, if you are looking for practical long term lodging at an affordable price then this is a good property. Close proximity to I-64, with retail & discount shopping, restaurants all within walking distance. For the service business traveler it is very reasonable. You get what you pay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sesrichmond, Assistant General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel - Richmond, responded to this review

Thank you so much for coming to trip advisor and rating our hotel. We have made a lot of changes and improvements at our hotel so the guests will feel home away from home experience . I hope when you are in the area again you choose to stay with us . We appreciate your business and thank you for... More 

Oneonta, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Honestly I will never stay there again. You would think that they would treat you better after you have stayed there for 5 months every day. But it had come down to not having hot water and when they started messing with my money that was the kicker. We started out putting me in a dirty room. Got that straightened... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015 via mobile

Great hotel and staff. Everyone is very friendly. They have remodeled and did a excellent job. I will continue to stay at this hotel when ever I need a place when I am in Richmond. I feel completely safe when I am there. Excellent job everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sesrichmond, Assistant General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel - Richmond, responded to this review

Phyllis, Thank you so much for taking the time to come to trip advisor and rating our hotel. I would like to personally say thank you for coming back and staying with us. It says a lot when we have our returning guests come back and notice our changes we have made . I look forward to seeing you again... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

This place is disgusting. Stinks the moment you walk in. I think truck stops have better hygienic practices. Long black hairs in our bed and bathtub. Cough drops and tooth picks laying around the bed. I think it needs to be on Hotel Rescue. Seriously.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
sesrichmond, Assistant General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel - Richmond, responded to this review

Ms. Beansbea, I am sorry that you had a bad experience . I would like to personally speak to you about this matter and make sure this was at our location. I can be reached at 804-273-6100 . Thank you for your time and have a wonderful day ! Assistant General Manager Sarah Brumfield More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Double and triple charged us, when brought to management attention they acted like it was our fault. Refused service and threatened the cops on us the minute we called choice hotels and filed credit fraud from our banks. Management treated us like criminals when we complained about the charges. Felt like we were just being scammed. Manager needs a course... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
sesrichmond, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel - Richmond, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you feel this way, but you know the reason you had to check out was that you and your boyfriend were disrupting the hotel and we have other guests to consider. We do not tolerate such actions. Good luck to you and hope you found somewhere more suitable for your family. Sincerely, Cheryl Mahanes General... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

I am thankful to the ladies at the front desk. They were very helpful. Cheryl, Jessica, Sara, and Michelle were constantly providing quality service. The rooms are clean, neat, and well-kept! I was surprised at the level of hospitality all around. The hotel staff clean the rooms once a week during your stay and the laundry facility is very beneficial.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sesrichmond, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel - Richmond, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. I hope you noticed our new furniture and newly painted accent wall, along with our flat screen TV. We expect to see you again when you are in the area. Cheryl Mahanes General Manager More 

West Long Branch, NJ
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

We previously stay at the Richmond Suburban Extended Stay Hotel in 2012 when we came down for the September NASCAR race. We weren't satisfied with the hotel we stayed in last year (I believe it was a Days Inn), so I told my friends I would take care of the reservation and automatically went right to this hotel. The rates... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sesrichmond, Assistant General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel - Richmond, responded to this review

I would like to thank you so much for the kind words . I am glad you enjoyed your stay & we look forward seeing you again for the race next year . I hope you enjoyed our new flat screen TV's that we recently had put in all the rooms. We strive to give wonderful customer service to all... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for five days originally scheduled for six but left early. The kitchen sink only had cold water the hot water knob was stuck. The refrigerator needed had hair in it and the ac was either none or freezing. The 2nd day we asked if we could get a change of bed linens because they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
sesrichmond, Assistant General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel - Richmond, responded to this review

I am sorry that you had a bad experience at our hotel .Because we are a extended stay we only do housekeeping once a week . I am sorry you weren't told at check in but you were more then welcome to come do towel exchange as often as you like. As for the pet we do charge a pet... More 

Saint Cloud, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

not the ritz but a great place to stay while working on the road, great rates friendly courteous staff the manager Cheryl was helpful, close to lots of good places to eat, well lit parking great as we had tools in truck will stay again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
sesrichmond, Assistant General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel - Richmond, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to come to trip advisor . We appreciate your kind words & look forward to seeing you again. More 

Rowlett, Texas
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
163 hotel reviews
297 helpful votes 297 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

While the location is good for those wishing to be near Richmond's West End, and with convenient access to major highways and restaurants, the hotel, itself, is about as basic as they come. Our room, with 2 double beds, was very small and spartanly furnished. There was a small kitchenette setup, which we didn't use. The room did show quite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sesrichmond, Assistant General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel - Richmond, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to come to trip advisor and rating our hotel. I just would like to let you know your feedback is very important to us . I will be taking what you said and looking into it ! I hope that you will come back and see us when you are in the area! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question