We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 82 Richmond hotels

Red Roof Inn - Richmond South

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4350 Commerce Road, Richmond, VA 23234
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn - Richmond South to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
72%
Ranked #30 of 82 hotels in Richmond
A recent review
  • Reviews (185)
  • Photos (24)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (46)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    60
    29
    13
    12
See reviews for
57
46
27
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bayside, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

and I couldn't wait to get out of there. Okay fist thing first. We wanted a 'cheap" hotel but didn't want a cheap motel. We needed a hassel free deal. Read reviews and thought it would suffice. Booked a deluxe room. Its right off 95.At first we pulled in I thought,, Holy motel 6. It was late and I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have a lot of good things to say about this property. I've stayed at quite a few Red Roof Inns, and this was definitely the nicest. The outside areas are clean and well-tended. But more importantly, the room was spacious and immaculately clean, and every piece of furniture and equipment was in great condition. Many Red Roof Inns are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. We very much appreciate all of your positive comments about my staff and property. We take a lot of pride in taking care of our property and providing the best stay we can in cost effective lodging. Our new rooms continue to get great... More

Tucker, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We needed a place to stay that was affordable, close to our relatives, and we lucked up on securing a GREAT room at the Red Roof Inn Richmond South! We had to have a late check in, so we called ahead and the customer service rep was very helpful and pleasant! When we arrived, we were greeted with great service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. We very much appreciate that you gave Red Roof Inn an opportunity and that you had a “GREAT STAY!!”. I always enjoy reading positive comments on my customer service reps and property. One thing I like about this brand is our prices offer very... More

Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

In an industrial/manufacturing area south ( just down the street from Phillip Morris ) of the city of Richmond, the location is a poor one for food. There is a very small McDonald's across the street attached to a gas station. I got a quarter pounder ( it was squashed very badly ). There is a Subway. And a Hardees,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. I sincerely apologize for your experience not being above satisfactory here at our inn. We have been unexpectedly busy over the past several weeks and I am to blame for not adding another employee to my staff. This has resulted in some of my rooms not... More

Shoreham, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed there last night, August 19, and we were very pleased with our accommodations. Our room was ready prior to check-in time, it was immaculate, plenty of hot water and great water pressure, comfortable bed, cold refrigerator and a microwave which we did not use and a large flat screen. It is seconds off of I 95 south with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate you choosing Red Roof Inns for the night and are very elated that your enjoyed your stay. I always enjoy hearing positive comments about my staff & property. It was a pleasure discussing the many dinner options in the Richmond area. I... More

Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at RRI - Richmond South in late July 2014. Overall, I had a very experience. I reserved a superior king room on the first floor. The room was very clean, though the sheets could have been crisper. The staff was very helpful and courteous. One drawback - there was a slight odor of stale cigarette smoke in this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your comments on our property and renovated rooms as they continue to get very good reviews & I am glad you share that feeling. The Superior King rooms with the fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and now with an iron, ironing board, and... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We got a refund. Dried soap suds in bathtub, crumbs on table, hair in towels, musty odor. Neighborhood and passersby were scary. Hotelsdotcom gave a refund when I called. Entrances were from outside. We stayed next door instead.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I sincerely apologize for your experience not being above satisfactory here at our inn. With the recent update of our rooms our goal is to not only meet the guest’s expectations but exceed them and in this case we did not. I have spoken to my team & shared this... More

Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked a room here because I was just passing through quickly and needed a cheap place to crash. Frankly, I had pretty low expectations but I was blown away. I don't believe all Red Roofs look like this (I understand this one has been updated recently), but I would certainly recommend this hotel and stay here again in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share your experience. It was a pleasure this morning coming back from vacation to read a review “Exceeded Expectations”. We very much appreciate your comments on our rooms, cleanliness, and for your recommendation. We make a great stop over for those that need a good... More

Greenville, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel was exactly what we needed when we just needed a place to shower and sleep while making the move from Massachusetts to North Carolina with four family members, three cats, and two birds. The staff was very friendly and the place was clean, with very comfortable beds and hot showers. I can't describe how much we appreciated the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay with us. I very much appreciate you and your family choosing to stay with us and for the “just Perfect” posting. Your comments on quality, service, & our new rooms are what we strive for in a customer experience. We are grateful for your recommendation. Our new... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Would highly recommend this property!!!!! upon traveling to Myrtle Beach w my 2 teenage daughters, my sister and girlfriend from work for a girls getaway. We left NY later then expected and arrived in Richmond around 1:00 am,,,,upon stopping at numerous places for a place to spend the night, we were highly disappointed in the selection. Then came across Red... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

It makes my day to read comments and experiences like this. I am so glad Khan was able to make your stay so special. Thank you very much for sharing this. We are very happy that you came across Red Roof Inns and that your stay was clean and very accommodating. Your comments on Khan are right on as he... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Red Roof Inn - Richmond South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn - Richmond South

Address: 4350 Commerce Road, Richmond, VA 23234
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn - Richmond South 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Red Roof Inn - Richmond South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South Hotel Richmond
Richmond Red Roof Inn

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Richmond with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#2 Best Value Hotel in Richmond #24 Family Hotel in Richmond #30 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
108

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn - Richmond South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer