We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn Richmond South

#24 of 83 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
4300 Commerce Road, Richmond, VA 23234
Offers & Announcements
Book now and save 15%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Richmond South
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hampton Inn Richmond South
Add Photo Write a Review

238 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    117
    65
    28
    17
    11
See reviews for
77
54
19
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (238)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (62)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very nice hotel. The room was clean and smelled great! No complaints on the room. Breakfast was good. They had a very good selection during our stay. If there was something that was not appetizing, there were plenty other options to choose from. I am very pleased with my stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richboro, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Payed for the hotel room in advance. They then proceeded to charge my credit card again. Have now paid for the room twice. Will not be staying at this hotel again. Guess I will be returning to Marriott.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Frank, Thank you for your feedback on trip advisor. We are extremely sorry that there was a duplicate charge on your account. As per our conversation earlier this afternoon I have refunded the amount back into your account. Once again please accept our apologies for any inconvenience as we try to resolve the issues. I know that you... More 

Roanoke, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room we stayed in was typical HI quality. However, the breakfast was WAY below their normal standard. I was actually afraid that the 'fresh cut' fruit would make me sick. I think it had too much preservative put on it. All I know is I through it away and everybody else I saw that got it through it away too.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review

Dear James D Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the quality of your breakfast you experienced during your stay. We have a full variety of breakfast offerings ranging from continental to hot entrees as this is Hampton's unique breakfast open daily for our guests. We are working to improve our... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was very comfortable. The food was excellent. Just make sure that you have your own shaving cream. Unlike my previous experiences with Hampton which give you a can of foamy shaving cream this Hampton gives you just a little packet of cheap cream which is hardly smooth enough for a good shave:( but the hotel in all is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor about your recent experience. I am so glad to know you have enjoyed your stay with us and yes we certainly can have a can of shaving cream available for your visit! We look forward to see you again in the future!! More 

Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My work brings me to Richmond almost every month, so I've stayed at this property almost every month for the past several years. I keep coming back only because it is the closest to my job site and it IS better than the Holiday Inn across the street, but not by much. I've had multiple problems, the latest being that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review

Dear stbass, Thank you for your review. I apologize that you were not happy with your room. We strive to make sure all guests receive the room they are expecting. As well, the problems you mentioned have been addressed. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and we hope you will give our property a second chance if you... More 

Frederick, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

stayed here on Memorial day week end 2015. It was lovely. Staff very professional;good breakfast and clean room. I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a clean place to stay. The area is very quiet and secured. I really enjoyed it.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor about your recent experience. I am so glad to know we have met your expectations and you have enjoyed our facility.We look forward to see you again in the future!! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Stayed here with friends, found the hotel to be border line dirty, in desperate need of updating. They did not have foam pillows for our friends that are allergic to feathers! We have stayed at a number of Hampton Inns and never have been disappointed as we were at this one. Clean it up and update the rooms!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your recent stay in the area and we apologize for the housekeeping problems you experienced. Unclean rooms are not typical at our hotel and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will make every effort to ensure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards and... More 

Atlanta, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Bad location for dining. You have to drive 5-10 miles for a decent selection of places to eat. It is right down from the Philip Morris plant in a rather industrial area. There is one restaurant in the hotel across the street and a Subway next door.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on trip advisor about your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that we could not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as we strive to perform better each time. Once again thank you for staying with us and we look forward to see you in the future!! More 

Orange County, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015 via mobile

Worst hotel I've ever stayed at. I usually like Hampton Inns. They tend to be steady. Usually a clean room not fancy but clean and comfortable. The room was filthy! Hair in the bathroom, stained floors (-not just in one spot) and the walls were dirty. Now let's talk about the fact this hotel is so loud. Not just bc... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on trip advisor. I would like to express my sincere apologies for falling short of our commitment to extend a rewarding experience during your stay. In an effort to make amends for your experience and Hampton's 100% guarantee I have not charged you for the stay. Please be aware that we take your feed back... More 

Kernersville, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Very friendly staff checking me in and finding a restaurant that delivered so I could work in my room that evening. Not a lot to choose from for dinner in the area but Hotel was great. I would stay here again if work takes me back to this area.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor about your recent experience. I am so glad to know the location was convenient for your travel needs and we were able to provide you with a certain level of service you expected in terms of dinner suggestions. Your kind comments will be shared with the staff and we look forward... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

159 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (153)
Viewed
Room/suite (39)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (10)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Other (40)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay