We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn Richmond South

#24 of 84 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
4300 Commerce Road, Richmond, VA 23234
Offers & Announcements
Book now and save 15%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hampton Inn Richmond South
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

249 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    123
    67
    30
    17
    12
See reviews for
85
56
19
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (249)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were relatively unimpressed with this hotel. The rooms were fairly clean but dated. We requested a small container of milk for our son's bottle after being on the road for hours and getting in late. Other hotels have always accommodated this request, but the staff on duty refused, offering the gas station down the road as an option. No... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor about your recent experience. I sincerely apologize that we could not meet your expectations during your stay. We strive to provide certain level of comfort to our guests. Your review will assist in correcting issues in the future. I do hope that the next time you are in the area you will consider... More 

Windsor, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Housekeeping was terrible we tried over for times during our busy schedule in and our the hotel to ask the front desk to have housekeeping clean our room and give us clean towels needless to say they did not clean our room during our two night stay

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review

Dear Marion B, Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. I understand you were unhappy with the cleanliness of your room and I am very sorry for this experience. We take a lot of pride in our guests being satisfied and apologize that we were unable to meet that expectation. I am working with our housekeeping... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed one night at the Hampton Inn Richmond South, after traveling from the Eastern Shore of VA. Our flight out of Richmond was early in the morning so we wanted to get as close to the airport as possible. I was mislead somewhere in the booking process, and thought that the hotel was just 4 minutes to the airport.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Candace could not have been more helpful, warm and welcoming. Our room was great, the breakfast was terrific, and our stay most enjoyable. Our experience at the Richmond Hampton Inn was the reason I stayed at others on my trip.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very Clean, new hotel, friendly staff, complimentary breakfast has a lot of items to offer (make your own waffles, fresh fruit, cereal, coffee, juices, milk, yogurt, etc) nice location, well worth the 20,000 HHonors points

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waldorf, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Never look futher then the Hampton for your next weekend get away! They not only will make your stay exciting, but they will go the extra mile to make your enjoyment worth the stay. Thank you to all the staff with the 5-Star accomodation at an affordable price!

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sunset Beach, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

This is a wonderful place to stay. The staff is friendly and very helpful. We had no problems. The free breakfast is very good. We were in and out of the dining room very quickly. Our check-out was fast. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

Service was so-so. Staff were pleasant but absent for long periods. Breakfast was tasty but no hot water for tea and no regular coffee and no one checking often enough for refills. In fact no refills for water or coffee at 9:15 with 45 minutes remaining. It simply missed the boat in terms of excellence I'm used to from Hampton.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lexington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

Nice rooms and good breakfast and a clean facility, parking isnt very good if your not there by 7pm you have to park in the extended parking lot. Business center is pretty good compared to most hotels.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

Hampton Inn is clean and staff is friendly year after year. We stay at this hotel each year for a night. It is conveniently located right off of 95. The room was clean and well kept as usual. The breakfast is always good. I highly recommend the hotel as an overnight during your trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

159 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (153)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (39)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (10)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Other (40)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
11.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Midlothian Turnpike
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Richmond
Candlewood Suites - Richmond
#59 of 84 in Richmond
3.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South
14.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Richmond Northwest I-64
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay